Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peking Duck Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peking Duck

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2003

      This duck was unbelievable. I was a little leary about hanging a duck out for so long, but wow, this was truly fantastic. I prepared it exactly as the recipe is written, hung it for 6 hours in front of a fan and it was the juiciest duck ever. The skin was a beautiful color and very crispy. We had these with Bergy's "Mandarine Pancakes" and ate like kings. Top notch recipe with perfect results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      Right ingredients, wrong process. After the wings are trimmed one should use a sharp small paring knife and carefully peel off the skin in one piece (like a glove); at the breast the skin is attached to cartilage, so use the nice to shave off a small bit so as to continue the process. Remove any very large fat accumulations and brush the exposed meat with a bit of honey thinned with lemon juice. Pull the skin "glove" back over the carcass - if you've made any large tears, take thread and stitch them up, you don't need to worry about really tiny ones. This process allows the remaining fat to freely circulate and thereby baste the meat and make the skin really crisp. For serving, cut scallions into 1" lengths, split the ends 1/3 towards the middle, place the prepared scallions in ice water - they will curl up and form a "flower". Take pancake, brush with hoi sin, then alternate 1 1/2 squares of meat and skin with scallions, roll up lightly.

      Oh, and save the rendered duck fat - phenomenal on noodles, etc.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      This recipe was very good. Full of flavor, my only downfall was I would have liked for the skin to be a little more crispy, other than that it was a very easy recipe, although my son and I had a fun time with the chopstick, I should say my son and I had a very good fun time making this recipe. Maybe I'll dry it a little more next time. Oh yeah, my oven was perfectly fine, no splatter at all, guess that's what happens if you do it right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Delicious. I didn't use the cornstarch and it turned out fine. I hung the duck from my pot rack and put a fan on the counter to dry it. It only took 2 hours for the skin to dry. I suppose I could have left it out longer but it was completely dry. I used a V-rack in a heavy Calphalon roasting pan with an inch of water. It contained the dripping fat and I didn't experience any splattering. My oven walls are still pristine so I can't imagine what happened to the reviewer. Perhaps the water evaporated enough so there was more fat than water?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      actually a very good recipe. i tried it tonight after spending much time looking for an authentic chinese duck recipe and was more than pleasantly surprised. i made a few adjustments and it made it over the top. i will write my recipe for anyone interested including homemade simple mandarin pancakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      My fiance and I made this together. It was our first time making duck, and we wanted to go all the way and try an authentic Peking recipe. It was definitely worth the effort! We hung the duck indoors with a fan on low in front of it, and it took about 6 1/2 hours for the skin to dry (next time we will turn up the fan). It cooked very nicely and I didn't notice any excessive splashing while in the oven. In fact, the roasting pan underneath did a wonderful job of keeping everything clean. The skin came out perfectly! I used Bergy Dim Sum #7, Mandarin Pancakes for the Chinese pancakes and served with the scallion brushes and hoisin, cucumber slices, and shredded carrots. The meal was fantastic, and we can't wait to make it again for guests! My fiance said "You can't buy duck this good!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      Great duck! I found the directions excellent and easy to follow. I also dried indoors in front of a small fan. There was a small amount of splatter but probably no more than normal roasting, I think what helped here was using a nice deep pan at the bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Don't do it! Don't make this recipe! It makes a good Peking Duck but your oven will be ruined and you'll be cleaning it for hours. Seriously, I made this and when the duck is in the oven, the fat drips off and drops in the pan of water below which then causes the water/grease mixture from the pan to splash up on all the inside walls of your oven. It was a terrible mess to clean. Go out for Peking Duck and save yourself loads of work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      Exquisite duck. I love this very much. We bought some of the pancakes at the local Asian market and in each one we brushed on hoisin sauce with green onion "brushes" threw the green onion in there too, some of the duck meat, a piece of the crispy and oh so delicious skin and a little spear of cucumber. Simply wonderful. Had for Christmas dinner. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Whole Duck Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peking Duck

    Serving Size: 1 (437 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1633.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1359
    83%
    Total Fat 151.1 g
    232%
    Saturated Fat 50.3 g
    251%
    Cholesterol 288.1 mg
    96%
    Sodium 588.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 44.6 g
    89%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    maltose

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites