Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peel and Eat Shrimp With Spicy Cocktail Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peel and Eat Shrimp With Spicy Cocktail Sauce

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2013

      Quick, Easy and delicious... I won't go back to precooked shrimp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      Delicious and easy to make! Love this recipe. I didn't add any extra spices today but I will definitely making this recipe again and will try some of the optional extras. Can't imagine this being any better though. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      Just wonderful! Thanks for posting, This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      This was WONDERFUL!! I will definately make this again. It was a HUGE hit at my 4th of July Party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      I was not raised on seafood. I have yet--at least until now--to acquire a taste for it. I try to suffer through an occasional fish or shrimp dish because they're supposed to be good for you. The only way I've ever been able to stomach shrimp is peel 'n' eat with a large glass of wine. So yesterday, when presented at the store with cooked and ready-to-eat peel 'n' eat versus uncooked but fairly locally wild caught, I tried to be one of the new generation of upstanding folks who value local and wild-caught. (It didn't hurt that it was less expensive.) Holy Moses, am I glad I took on the dare to myself to cook the shrimp. Let me just say that if you are a peel 'n' eat shrimp sort of person, do not go near the already ready to eat stuff. This surpasses it by miles. And miles. What a difference! I must confess, I already had a cocktail sauce prepared from a previous recipe, so I used that, but I cannot wait to give this one a try. All I know is this: If you are new to or leery of seafood (in this case peel 'n' eat shrimp), TAKE THE TIME AND EFFORT TO COOK YOUR OWN SHRIMP! It makes a world of difference. Edit: I forgot to add (in all my excitement) that the only things I used in the brine were the salt, sugar, two cloves of crushed garlic, a splash of lemon juice and the water and ice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      My son was planning to cook shrimp tonight but was out of commercial shrimp boil. He called to ask what he should add to the pot for seasoning, and I suggested he try this recipe/technique instead. He just called back to say the results were totally excellent! He used all the 'extras' suggested for the brine except parsley and coriander and marinated the shrimp for 20 minutes. While it wasn't too salty, it was just on the verge, so he thought cutting that to 15 min. might be better. Thanks so much for posting this, KB. DS said it was 5* all the way. Can't wait to experiment with it myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      I made this 2 days in a row because I loved it so much! This is a fantastic recipe and my whole family loved it. It's perfect just as is, I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      I have to agree with the other girls this recipe is really good, I never liked peel and eat shrimps because the sauce was bad or the shrimp lacked flavor, I got high quality shrimp as a birthday gift (my own request) and I decided to try this recipe. It was just amazing, I absolutely loved it, I ate one pound of this shrimp by myself!!!. Thank you Kozmic Blues!!!.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      The brining of the shrimp brings out the flavor, and the coctail sauce is far better than any others I have had. I did the brine without the extras.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2004

      Absolutely over the top! This recipe is a must try for peel and eat shrimp fans. I added to the brine, 2 minced garlic gloves that were quite large, lemon slices, 1 tsp lemon zest, 2 tsp black pepper corns, 1 tbs parsley and 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes. I left the shrimp in the brine 15 minutes and I do suggest you rinse VERY well as it was still a tad bit salty but still oh so good. I did not make the cocktail sauce as a good Zaarian friend sent me a special bottle of the stuff from her state of Oregon. The shrimp was excellent and I agree, so much better than any boil and eat shrimp. This is the only way I will be preparing peel and eat shrimp in the future. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      Fabulous shrimp! The flavor is far superior to steaming or boiling shrimp. It's the only way I'll make peel and eat shrimp from now on. My shrimp (frozen from Sam's Club) already had an incision all along the back of the shell, and the vein had been removed. I think this was important for the brine and Old Bay seasoning to get under the shell and flavor the shrimp even more. It also makes it easier to peel when you eat them. I used my own cocktail sauce, but will try this recipe next time. Thanks for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peel and Eat Shrimp With Spicy Cocktail Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (544 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.7
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    18%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 259.2 mg
    86%
    Sodium 8275.0 mg
    344%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 22.1 g
    88%
    Protein 36.5 g
    73%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites