25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you so much. I have an invalid Mom and keeping her hydrated gets expensive ( she will only drink so much plain water and Gatrorade gets quite expensive ) Having a small son I had Kook Aid in the pantry. You saved me a small fortune. I add abit more sugar for her taste and she drinks it right down. Thank you again !!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peachez December 23, 2002

This is a much more dilute salt/sugar solution than the rehydration formula recommnended by the World Health Organization. WHO recommends 1 tsp salt 8 tsp sugar 1 litre water While I doubt if this recipe would harm a healthy child, before I gave it to a sick one, I would check another recipe source.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marymargret November 14, 2009

Great recipe! With two children in sports, we will use this often! As for the comments on the Potassium, you get that from adding the salt substitute. The one I have is Morton salt substitue, and it contains 610mg per 1/4 tsp potassium. Thanks again for shairng this recipe...what a money saver!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meltedcountry February 17, 2006

This is great! I used unsweetened pink lemonade Kool-Aid and my Grandson drank it without hesitation. Thank you for this money saving recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michele O'Sullivan April 15, 2004

I made this when my DD had the flu. She loved it! And the best part is that I didn't have to run to the store and take her with me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elefly September 11, 2003

Five stars! Five stars! Five stars! Three month old Adam, having some BM trouble, and we need to keep him hydrated. I had this in my cookbook, and was just waiting for this situation. I used grape, and he loves it! I had everything on hand, and even if you don't have the Kool Aid, it's like 25 cents a packet. How cool is this? No more spending a fortune on the name brands for me. I only wish I had known about this sooner, for my other 3 kids. Thanks Di! Once again, you're a life saver! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao July 05, 2003

This saved us a lot of money, I have an almost 1 year old and she has had the worst problems with teething and dehydration, she refused to take plain pedialyte and the flavored ones are more expensive here. (they are all way overpriced) I followed the recipe exactly and when my husband gets sick her prefers this as well. Thank you

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kngs_kid June 20, 2003

This will save us so much $$. I just made some tonight because I'm fighting off a nasty cold and haven't been able to keep much water in. This has helped a ton. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandikaake October 10, 2009

I used this and several other recipes to come up with my own homemade Pedialyte my boys really enjoy. I am confused though about what the purpose of the baking soda is. How does baking soda balance and hydrate?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brand-a-lina February 23, 2009

My daughter is drinking this now, since she's been sick since about 1 am today... so thank you very much for sharing this recipe. Saved me a (very) early morning trip to the store. Like I saw someone else mention, the salt substitute is what adds the potassium electrolyte, so it's probably a bad idea to leave it out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie February 09, 2009
Pedialyte Clone