Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pedialyte Clone Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pedialyte Clone

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2002

      Thank you so much. I have an invalid Mom and keeping her hydrated gets expensive ( she will only drink so much plain water and Gatrorade gets quite expensive ) Having a small son I had Kook Aid in the pantry. You saved me a small fortune. I add abit more sugar for her taste and she drinks it right down. Thank you again !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      This is a much more dilute salt/sugar solution than the rehydration formula recommnended by the World Health Organization. WHO recommends 1 tsp salt 8 tsp sugar 1 litre water While I doubt if this recipe would harm a healthy child, before I gave it to a sick one, I would check another recipe source.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2006

      Great recipe! With two children in sports, we will use this often! As for the comments on the Potassium, you get that from adding the salt substitute. The one I have is Morton salt substitue, and it contains 610mg per 1/4 tsp potassium. Thanks again for shairng this recipe...what a money saver!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      This is great! I used unsweetened pink lemonade Kool-Aid and my Grandson drank it without hesitation. Thank you for this money saving recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2003

      I made this when my DD had the flu. She loved it! And the best part is that I didn't have to run to the store and take her with me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2003

      Five stars! Five stars! Five stars! Three month old Adam, having some BM trouble, and we need to keep him hydrated. I had this in my cookbook, and was just waiting for this situation. I used grape, and he loves it! I had everything on hand, and even if you don't have the Kool Aid, it's like 25 cents a packet. How cool is this? No more spending a fortune on the name brands for me. I only wish I had known about this sooner, for my other 3 kids. Thanks Di! Once again, you're a life saver! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2003

      This saved us a lot of money, I have an almost 1 year old and she has had the worst problems with teething and dehydration, she refused to take plain pedialyte and the flavored ones are more expensive here. (they are all way overpriced) I followed the recipe exactly and when my husband gets sick her prefers this as well. Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      This will save us so much $$. I just made some tonight because I'm fighting off a nasty cold and haven't been able to keep much water in. This has helped a ton. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      I used this and several other recipes to come up with my own homemade Pedialyte my boys really enjoy. I am confused though about what the purpose of the baking soda is. How does baking soda balance and hydrate?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      My daughter is drinking this now, since she's been sick since about 1 am today... so thank you very much for sharing this recipe. Saved me a (very) early morning trip to the store. Like I saw someone else mention, the salt substitute is what adds the potassium electrolyte, so it's probably a bad idea to leave it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      I doubled the mix and it made a gallon... my sick grandfather loved it. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      This is the best thing ever!!! Two kids down with the flu could have been alot of cash for me, but with this it is good for them and good for my pocket book!! thanks alot

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      Thanks so much for the recipe! I just bought stupid Pedialyte and spent a fortune on it and my son hates the taste. I will try this next time for sure! Life saver!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      perfect, even better flavor than the real stuff. We used "invisible" kool aid, just in case it didn't stay down and my little punkin couldn't make it to the potty! We froze it until it was a slushy and named it "super hero slush" since it's invisible! thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      This recipe is great! My 3 year old daughter loves it because she thinks she's just getting kool-aid. My 8 month old was a little confused by the taste but it's a big money saver! And I love that I had almost everything right on hand! Plus, if your kids don't go through the whole 2 quarts you're saving a lot of money over what you'd pay in the store just to possibly waste later! The flavor is much better! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      Eventhough I am well into middle-age, I still drink Kool-aid by the gallon, alternating with water, tomato juice (make my own tomato juice by mixing canned crushed or pureed tomatos with low sodium checken broth), milk, and apple juice. Since I had everything on hand, and mostly pre-prepared, I made this today. It was so much better than any of the bottled stuff at the grocery store, and WAY cheaper. I do take a potassium supplement, although I try to eat the right foods to get what I need that way. This is a keeper in my refridge from now on. And, anyone thinking about taking potassium supplements should do so under advice of their doctor. In high doses, it can be toxic. The sodium does aide in helping the body properly process potassium.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2006

      Very easy to make and much better tasting than regular Pedialyte or gatorade. Mom made this for me after passing out. What a treat! Will use again for sure testing other flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      Thank you so much for this recipe. My baby took it right down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      The salt substitute contains potassium (potassium chloride).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      Thank you!!!! My daughter was ill recently and had vomited everything I had tried to get her rehydrated with. I was terrified and unable to leave the house as I was alone with my daughter that day and my husband couldn't come home from work. Desperate to get some liquid into her I stumbled across this recipe. She was able to hold it down and IMMEDIATELY started showing signs of improvement. My husband came home a few hours later with pedialyte, but she didn't like it! Your clone was a lifesaver, maybe literally, so THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pedialyte Clone

    Serving Size: 1 (1987 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 56.8
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 648.2 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 14.6 g
    58%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites