11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are just like the ones mom made when I was a kid! Yummy! I added a bit more pecans to the mixture. Only fill up tarts about halfway because otherwise it spills over and they don't look as pretty. Refrigerate dough first and scoop it out with a cookie scoop. Much easier to work with. Only baked about 20 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennibutterfly December 18, 2009

The filling was great but I thought the crust was lacking flavor in comparison. Next time I would make a different crust. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! December 02, 2011

Excellent!! perfect mixture of sweet and nutty, crunchy and gooey! I added some sugar to the dough, and it turned out wonderfully! thanks Color Guard Mom!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrot Cake May 23, 2010

Excellent, very yummy! Will be making these again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChunkyPorkChops April 27, 2010

Wow these are good. I lost my recipe a few years ago and have been looking for one to match it ever since and this is it!! These are absolutely delightful and everyone in my family loves them. As one other reviewer mentioned, I also got 54 tarts. A definite crowd pleaser at the holidays. I use a 2 tsp ice cream scoop to make the dough balls as close as possible and a wooden tart shaper. Make sure to dip the tart shaper in flour to help prevent sticking. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrissyJ76 December 17, 2009

Pretty good little cookies. Made these for DH's birthday this weekend. They were a bit labor intensive and, to be honest, I probably won't make them again because I got frustrated with the dough! (Might be because I only have silicone mini muffin cups instead of a tray.) I made some in a regular muffin tray and they were just as good if not better. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 March 03, 2008

Wonderful tart recipe and very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bunlady March 02, 2008

I chose to make these tarts because my mother made them for many,many years every Christmas and when she passed away I could not find the recipe. I am so happy these were posted for the San Diego Swap because it brought back memories of many Christmas' past. They are just like mom's, except she used walnuts. Either way, I'm thrilled to have this recipe and recommend them highly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mareesme August 22, 2007

Well these were quite the tasty little treats! I was able to get 48 mini tarts from this recipe, so I'm assuming my tart pan was smaller and therefore the tarts only needed to bake for 18-20min. Referring to another rating, I didn't grease the pan and they slid out fine. My pan was non stick so that maybe made the difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob ;) February 18, 2007

Very good, people are still talking about these,even after they are gone! Don' forget to spray the pan with Baker's Joy, really makes it easier to take out of pan.Wish I could give more than 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hardcase January 30, 2007
Pecan Tarts