15 Reviews

These are amazing. I normally make them around christmas time for parties and they go fast! I don't really chop the pecans because you can't taste them. It tastes better with big chunks of pecans. Also be careful when rolling them in the powdered sugar. I put the sugar in a bowl and rolled them one or two at a time because they will break up.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evilcin June 09, 2009

I made these for my cookie trays this year. My mom use to make them and so I thought I'd give it a try. Very easy to do. The only time consuming thing is rolling them in the sugar while they are still warm. I did end up putting less on the baking sheet the second batch, so they would be good and warm for the sugar "bath." Very good recipe. Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keen5 December 28, 2007

These were really good! I think I must have used more pecans because they were more "pecanny" than I expected. But they were still great cookies and I am going to make them again and again as they are a favorite of our family and are great cookies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tomsawyer December 26, 2009

What a treasure, so easy to make, I would even say foolproof. I used walnuts as that is what I had but only 1 cup and they still tasted & looked like they came from a specialty shop. Next time I will try with the right amount of pecans but not sure there is much room for improvement. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elkaybee April 25, 2009

Mmmm . . . these cookies are really good. I did make an adjustment, as I've been looking for a specific recipe with farina. Per BecR's advice in the recipe request forum, I followed her basic recipe but instead of adding in 2 cups of flour, I only added in 1 1/2 cups of flour and added in 1/2 cup of farina, along with 1/2 teaspoon baking powder. Although they are not the exact cookie I was looking for, they still turned out to be a wonderful cookie! Thanks, Becky!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern Cook December 15, 2008

Wow, these are fantastic! Super easy to make and such a wonderful, light melt in the mouth texture. I halved the recipe but it still made loads ~lucky for us! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Umm Ishaq March 29, 2008

I just read this page of reviews, and no one mentioned the 30 MINUTE cooking time for a one inch delicate cookie ball? No one had any problems with this? cuz Mine were burnt the Heck up! Nine Minutes is good. too dry for me and tasteless. Walnuts give a better flavor.<br/>One batch I mixed Pecans walnuts and almonds to equal two cups. they were ok, but nothing beat the taste test, and yes, I had one with strangers. Walnut won out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karenkelleher December 03, 2013

I made 6 dozen today and used ground walnuts for a fund raiser. I also used almond extract instead of vanilla. I liked the idea that you didn't have to refrigerate the dough. The dough was easy to form, didn't fall apart and was easy to prepare.This is a four star rating for me. For some reason the stars do not want to stay on after choosing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song November 16, 2008

these were pretty delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Je see ka December 18, 2007
Pecan Puffs (Aka Mexican Wedding Cakes or Russian Tea Cakes)