Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pecan Puffs (Aka Mexican Wedding Cakes or Russian Tea Cakes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pecan Puffs (Aka Mexican Wedding Cakes or Russian Tea Cakes)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2009

      These are amazing. I normally make them around christmas time for parties and they go fast! I don't really chop the pecans because you can't taste them. It tastes better with big chunks of pecans. Also be careful when rolling them in the powdered sugar. I put the sugar in a bowl and rolled them one or two at a time because they will break up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      These were really good! I think I must have used more pecans because they were more "pecanny" than I expected. But they were still great cookies and I am going to make them again and again as they are a favorite of our family and are great cookies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      What a treasure, so easy to make, I would even say foolproof. I used walnuts as that is what I had but only 1 cup and they still tasted & looked like they came from a specialty shop. Next time I will try with the right amount of pecans but not sure there is much room for improvement. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Mmmm . . . these cookies are really good. I did make an adjustment, as I've been looking for a specific recipe with farina. Per BecR's advice in the recipe request forum, I followed her basic recipe but instead of adding in 2 cups of flour, I only added in 1 1/2 cups of flour and added in 1/2 cup of farina, along with 1/2 teaspoon baking powder. Although they are not the exact cookie I was looking for, they still turned out to be a wonderful cookie! Thanks, Becky!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      Wow, these are fantastic! Super easy to make and such a wonderful, light melt in the mouth texture. I halved the recipe but it still made loads ~lucky for us! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      I made these for my cookie trays this year. My mom use to make them and so I thought I'd give it a try. Very easy to do. The only time consuming thing is rolling them in the sugar while they are still warm. I did end up putting less on the baking sheet the second batch, so they would be good and warm for the sugar "bath." Very good recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      I just read this page of reviews, and no one mentioned the 30 MINUTE cooking time for a one inch delicate cookie ball? No one had any problems with this? cuz Mine were burnt the Heck up! Nine Minutes is good. too dry for me and tasteless. Walnuts give a better flavor.<br/>One batch I mixed Pecans walnuts and almonds to equal two cups. they were ok, but nothing beat the taste test, and yes, I had one with strangers. Walnut won out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

    • on November 16, 2008

      I made 6 dozen today and used ground walnuts for a fund raiser. I also used almond extract instead of vanilla. I liked the idea that you didn't have to refrigerate the dough. The dough was easy to form, didn't fall apart and was easy to prepare.This is a four star rating for me. For some reason the stars do not want to stay on after choosing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      these were pretty delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      I am a little confused by the title. Mexican wedding cakes do have pecans...the difference is Russian tea cakes have walnuts instead..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      These cookies are my favorite love how they just melt in your mouth, I make them every year.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      i was THRILLED to find this recipe. An acquaintance at work usually makes them. I just have 1 little problem ; I GORGE myself on them. :( (yummy) Leskin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      These were pretty good. Different. I can see making these during the Winter holidays to go with the pecan season, and perfect with hot cocoa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      Turned out perfect. Hard to stop eating!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pecan Puffs (Aka Mexican Wedding Cakes or Russian Tea Cakes)

    Serving Size: 1 (753 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1060.8
     
    Calories from Fat 772
    72%
    Total Fat 85.8 g
    132%
    Saturated Fat 32.6 g
    163%
    Cholesterol 122.0 mg
    40%
    Sodium 328.8 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.0 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 11.0 g
    44%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes