62 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Scrumptious! Will be my go-to pecan bar recipe. Be sure to wait a few hours before eating so these set well. Once the set, they cut much better. I used a cabbage slicer thing to cut these evenly. Those new brownie pans with divided sections would work well too. I lined pan with foil for easy cleanup and removal. Thank you for posting

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe February 05, 2011

I made these for a family brunch. They were outstanding and I did a couple of things that could help the folks who had trouble getting them out of the pan and into bars.<br/><br/>I used the new-fangled parchment lined baking foil. You form it around the upside down pan, then flip it over and then set the liner inside. Wrap any excess around the edge of the pan. You still need to spray the parchment paper side of the liner.<br/><br/>I did bake it about 8 minutes longer than the cooking time indicated and then when it was cool, I refrigerated it.<br/><br/>When it was good and solid, I flipped it out of the liner onto a sheet of wax paper and cut it into bars while it was upside down. It did not crush the but or displace the nuts; the bars looked great. <br/><br/>I have not had to freeze them, as there were none left, but if they are frozen do we thaw in the frig or on the counter?<br/><br/>Add me to the admirers.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LinndaG March 30, 2013

One more five star review! These are excellent, the recipe makes enough for a big crowd and the people love them. For what more can you ask? I used half Brown Sugar Karo (golden colored) and half dark Karo, and they had a caramel flavor that was buttery and delicious. Other than tinkering with the Karo, I made this exactly like the recipe. I'll never make regular Pecan Pie again! Thanks, Jellyqueen.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkwilson November 28, 2008

I wish I'd never come across this recipe, I swear I gained 5 lbs because of it. All kidding aside, I was going to give it 4 stars as I had a bit of a problem with it being a tad "runny" at first. But it seemed to get a little better after sitting and I think my Karo might have been "not up to par". Then the more it sits, the better it gets. I suggest making them and giving them all away. One cannot stop eating them. This has gone into my Over the Top recipe file. Thank you for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
podapo November 26, 2007

I also made this for the first time for a bake sale. The woman who bought it came back, said she tasted one and had to buy the rest. Very easy to make. It sure was a hit.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ti in WI November 10, 2003

I spend about 6-8 months a year in an RV and like most RVs I have a small oven that won't accomodate a 9x13 pan. I cut recipe in half and put it in 7x11 bisquet(Wilton pan) pan. It turned out great except ran over the sides. Next time I may try a 8x8 square pan because it has higher sides. Since I used parchment paper the bars came out ealily though. Just boiled over in the oven a little. The bars are great and will make them again and again! Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csimple46_9578417 July 05, 2013

I made half a recipe and baked it in a 8X8 baking dish. Turned out great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound May 27, 2011

Everyone loves these!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurenpie September 27, 2010

Can I give these 10 stars??? Made per recipe, turned out perfect!! Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shortstuff December 31, 2009

I'm not a huge pecan pie fan, but I gave these a try. They are delicious! I used light corn syrup, but I wasn't sure that it would give enough flavor, so I also added a bit of molasses (about 1 T), and they turned out great. I will definitely add this to my list of recipes to make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Petite Boulangere January 12, 2008
Pecan Pie Bars