20 Reviews

Hi Folks,
Some people are saying that the HONEY in this recipe is too strong.....let me say that AT FIRST, it is strong when pulled out of the oven, but give it a few hours and somehow the honey-taste blends in and smooths beautifullly into the other flavors and the over-powering taste of it is gone and it completely transcends into absolute deliciousness!
This recipe is becoming a real regular at our Veteran's Hospital where we hold events, as well as for other occasions too. The SECRET is to make it a day before or at least a few hours so the honey can calm down...OR bake a ton of it, cut them into squares and freeze them...they defrost very nicely and are WONDERFUL!!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elaine926 February 02, 2012

I made these DELICIOUS Pecan Bars for the first time last week (12/12/11) for a Christmas Banquet at a local Veterans Hospital for our Troops who have come home. Let me tell you, those men & women LOVED LOVED LOVED these! I made enough for almost 100 people, so I really multiplied this recipe and I had requests for this recipe left & right.
The honey is a wonderful replacement for corn syrup but I did use half & half instead of the milk, to make it a bit richer.
This recipe will be one of my all-time favorites and I highly recommend it to anyone who is a pecan pie lover!!
This recipe is EASY and WONDERFUL...YUM!!!
Thank you Julie!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SoldiersAngel December 18, 2011

Everywhere I take these, I am asked for the recipe. The only change I made (after the first time) was to reduce the brown sugar in the filling to 3/4 cup so they are not quite as sweet. Still wonderful!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
revelation3.20 February 05, 2009

These bars are really good, and super crunchy. I was hoping for something with a pecan pie-like gooey filling. I think that the shortbread portion could stand more butter, maybe a 1/4 of a cup. The topping is a little on the scant side. Next time I think I'll try one of the recipes that has eggs in it. The changes I made when making them were to spray the pan with Pam first, I used milk instead of cream, and I used light Karo syrup instead of honey.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mydaughterhatesmycooking November 16, 2015

I was excited to try these after reading the positive reviews, but these did not turn out well for me. I followed the recipe exactly, but I found that the filling tasted too much like honey and made the whole bar taste sort of "off". I think this recipe could be improved by using corn syrup instead of honey.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shera_23 January 13, 2008

These cookies are soooo good! I usually don't like very sweet anything, but these were the exception! Everyone who had these cookies loved them. I followed the instructions exactly, and they were very easy to put together and bake. Using a sharp heavy knife worked best. I cut them in very small squares because they are so rich, and one gets the feeling that they are eating more than they really are. I liked to bake them "over done" because I liked the crunchy edges, but that is a matter of taste. The taste is the same, the texture on the edges is just harder. As Kokeshi Doll mentioned in her review, they do remind one of pecan pralines, but this is only a plus! Thank you so much, Julie, for posting such a delightfully sinful and delicious cookie that I will be making again, at the earliest excuse that I can find! This is definitely one of my favorites now.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie in Florida December 22, 2007

These were ok. The honey flavor was dominant, even after letting them cool and sit a day or two. I have a Taste of Home recipe I've used for years that is fantastic. It uses corn syrup which is why I wanted to try this one with honey.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rmajor January 18, 2014

I made this recipe for the first time a couple weeks ago. I froze half to keep the guilt level down and I took some into work. They were a HUGE hit! I ended up giving the recipe to two of my co-workers. My personal tweaks - I used cream, not milk and I cut the pecans down to 1 1/3 cups. Still enough pecans but not overwhelming. The shortbread crust is very easy and super-versatile. I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. Thanks Julie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dpraed July 27, 2013

Excellent! Can't say anything more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebS #2 June 16, 2013

Excellent! I used Karo because I didn't want to risk the honey and they turned out perfect. I made these for a shower tomorrow and I think I'll have to make a second pan. I thought I overcooked the topping because I couldn't get a good simmer, but they're great. So, they're mistake proof too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OKC3094 September 22, 2012
Pecan Pie Bar Cookies