Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pecan Pie Bar Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pecan Pie Bar Cookies

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2012

      Hi Folks,
      Some people are saying that the HONEY in this recipe is too strong.....let me say that AT FIRST, it is strong when pulled out of the oven, but give it a few hours and somehow the honey-taste blends in and smooths beautifullly into the other flavors and the over-powering taste of it is gone and it completely transcends into absolute deliciousness!
      This recipe is becoming a real regular at our Veteran's Hospital where we hold events, as well as for other occasions too. The SECRET is to make it a day before or at least a few hours so the honey can calm down...OR bake a ton of it, cut them into squares and freeze them...they defrost very nicely and are WONDERFUL!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      I made these DELICIOUS Pecan Bars for the first time last week (12/12/11) for a Christmas Banquet at a local Veterans Hospital for our Troops who have come home. Let me tell you, those men & women LOVED LOVED LOVED these! I made enough for almost 100 people, so I really multiplied this recipe and I had requests for this recipe left & right.
      The honey is a wonderful replacement for corn syrup but I did use half & half instead of the milk, to make it a bit richer.
      This recipe will be one of my all-time favorites and I highly recommend it to anyone who is a pecan pie lover!!
      This recipe is EASY and WONDERFUL...YUM!!!
      Thank you Julie!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      Everywhere I take these, I am asked for the recipe. The only change I made (after the first time) was to reduce the brown sugar in the filling to 3/4 cup so they are not quite as sweet. Still wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      I was excited to try these after reading the positive reviews, but these did not turn out well for me. I followed the recipe exactly, but I found that the filling tasted too much like honey and made the whole bar taste sort of "off". I think this recipe could be improved by using corn syrup instead of honey.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      These cookies are soooo good! I usually don't like very sweet anything, but these were the exception! Everyone who had these cookies loved them. I followed the instructions exactly, and they were very easy to put together and bake. Using a sharp heavy knife worked best. I cut them in very small squares because they are so rich, and one gets the feeling that they are eating more than they really are. I liked to bake them "over done" because I liked the crunchy edges, but that is a matter of taste. The taste is the same, the texture on the edges is just harder. As Kokeshi Doll mentioned in her review, they do remind one of pecan pralines, but this is only a plus! Thank you so much, Julie, for posting such a delightfully sinful and delicious cookie that I will be making again, at the earliest excuse that I can find! This is definitely one of my favorites now.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      These were ok. The honey flavor was dominant, even after letting them cool and sit a day or two. I have a Taste of Home recipe I've used for years that is fantastic. It uses corn syrup which is why I wanted to try this one with honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      I made this recipe for the first time a couple weeks ago. I froze half to keep the guilt level down and I took some into work. They were a HUGE hit! I ended up giving the recipe to two of my co-workers. My personal tweaks - I used cream, not milk and I cut the pecans down to 1 1/3 cups. Still enough pecans but not overwhelming. The shortbread crust is very easy and super-versatile. I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. Thanks Julie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      Excellent! Can't say anything more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      Excellent! I used Karo because I didn't want to risk the honey and they turned out perfect. I made these for a shower tomorrow and I think I'll have to make a second pan. I thought I overcooked the topping because I couldn't get a good simmer, but they're great. So, they're mistake proof too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      This recipe is a keeper! I wanted a more traditional flavor than I thought the honey would bring, so I substituted a mix of mostly dark karo syrup topped off with some real maple syrup. yum! Plus I lined the pan with a length of parchment paper to make it easier to remove from the pan. The edges were fine - pity, as I like to trim those off for myself! This recipe would be very easy to veganize.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      I have a recipe I use that is very close. this recipe has no hard edges. the crust is 1 1/4 c butter (yes this is right), 3/4 c sugar, 2 T cream, 2 egg yolks, 2 1/2 c flour. the filling is the same except I do use cream, add 1/4 c white sugar and the pecans are 2 3/4 cups. I also sprinkle toffee bits on top of the pecan filling. This is absolutely one of the best pecan bar recipes in the world, and not for everyone as it is very rich and decadent. You could substitute this for any crust.I sometimes sprinkle with choc chips also, not that it needs it. as one reviewer described "indescribably delicious and addictive; very evil!" my recipe came from CD kitchen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Loved this as did my company, and yes, it was EASY.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      First time I made it & I can not stop eating them WOW WOW WOW Super easy and SUPER YUMMY. The edge was a little hard so we just cut that off and of course, ate it and cut the rest into bars for everyone else. THANK YOU THANK YOU for a wonderful and easy recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This was amazing! complete crowd pleaser, very rich, delicious and simple to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      Made as directed. My only complaint is the baking issue of hard edges. I'm going to try putting them in two 8x8 pans next time to see if that helps. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      My wife and I had this strange urge for pecan pie for Thanksgiving but since it is one of the least veganizable items on the planet, we decided to try these. (Someone suggested making these instead of the poorly reviewed vegan pecan pie recipe here.) We made them vegan friendly by using margarine instead of butter and using agave nectar instead of honey. They were the perfect end to an awesome vegan Thanksgiving meal. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      I also made these vegan and gluten -free. So really I used the recipe as a base. I also used half splenda and added some coconut and raisans. These were a huge hit on moving day! My friends can't say enough about them, I will be making them again and again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      I made these vegan by substituting Earth Balance margarine for the butter, golden syrup for the honey, and Silk coffee creamer for the cream. They are indescribably delicious and addictive; very evil! They have the taste and texture of pecan pralines I once tasted in New Orleans - not the hard, sugary kind, but the soft, chewy ones. My only complaint is not the fault of the recipe, but just the nature of the beast. If they are baked long enough to completely set the center, the edges get a tad over done and slightly hard. If you take them out before the centers are set, the ones in the middle will be a little too soft. Of course none of this prevents them from being devoured. This is a fanastic, keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2004

      These were very easy to make, and so delicious!!I did make them with the milk also. I could eat the whole batch!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pecan Pie Bar Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 256.1
     
    Calories from Fat 149
    58%
    Total Fat 16.6 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 26.8 mg
    8%
    Sodium 137.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 17.6 g
    70%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes