Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pecan Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pecan Pie

    Average Rating:

    141 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 141

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2010

      This is the recipe that has been on the karo syrup bottle for about 20 years....I know, because I've been making it that long! The only difference is that they suggest a deep dish pie pan (the filling amount is actually for a deep dish pan) and increasing the baking time to 55 to 60 minutes and cooling for 2 hours before cutting. Otherwise, it is an exact replica. Dark and light corn syrups are interchangeable....the recipe is the same on both bottles. Making this for a family reunion Thanksgiving this weekend, and my own Thanksgiving on Thanksgiving Day this year. Glad you posted the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      I've made this pie several times now and realized I never reviewed it! I buy the pre-made frozen pie crust, and the first time I made this I bought regular sized pie crust tins. The amount of filling was too much for one regular sized pie tin. The second time (and each time thereafter), I use a deep dish pie tin and it fits it perfectly! I also bake it about 10 minutes longer, and I cover the crust with foil until the last 10 minutes. It's delicious with no preservative aftertaste that you get from store-bought pies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      Made this for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow - I haven't tasted it yet, but it looks and smells WONDERFUL! Thanks for posting! ADDENDUM: Don't poke piecrust before putting the mixture in, as it will seep through the crust and cause the pie to be difficult to remove from pan. I suppose everybody knew this but me. I just routinely use a fork on the unbaked crust to keep it from buckling - don't do it with this pie. Pie was excellent tasting tho and very pretty - just stuck on the bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      So I ended up messing with this recipe a bit due to ingredient availability and it came out amazing though I should have cooked it longer. The replaced the sugar with half granulated white sugar and half brown sugar. In the future I might go with all brown sugar. I also used only half corn syrup and half glucose syrup. This gave it a little more caramel flavor which I thought was very appropriate. The texture was perfect too. I highly recommend these changes and as everyone has already mentioned don't be afraid to cook it longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Very very easy to make. Super good! (And I "hate" pecan pie!) We ate it warm with vanilla ice cream. As suggested I did cook an extra 10-15 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I have never in my life been a fan of pecan pie. In fact, I've hated it every holiday season...until this year! I made this pie yesterday and let me just say that I am forever hooked. It was mouth-watering ecstasy in every single bite. Sweet and crunchy and total yummy. Something I did that was not in this recipe was to brush the pie crust with egg yolk before putting the filling in. This creates a barrier between the wet filling and the pie crust. It stayed nice and flaky and strong enough to actually eat the pie BY HAND like a piece of pizza instead of beoming soggy. Great, great recipe. Thank you so much for the keeper! I am now a faithful fan of your pecan pie. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2003

      I'm not a pecan pie lover, but my fiance loves it. I made this for him and he ate the entire thing by himself. I have never made pie before, but this was such a success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2011

      Exactly what I was looking for. I have made this a fair amount of times but always forgot to rate it. I use the tenderflake frozen crusts and find that I usually have too much filling... So I have learned to cut down the recipe a bit and it is just right.
      I am going to look into deeper pie crusts. I also leave the foil on the entire time since I use my convection oven and no matter what my crust burns if I take the foil off early.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      This is, believe it or not, a delicious pecan pie that is not quite as sweet as some. It received rave reviews from our guests at Thanksgiving. I followed the recipe except I used 1-1/2 c. of pecans and half light brown and half granulated sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Very good. I liked how the nuts got almost candied. I used light karo and was a little afraid because of the color of the filling when it went into the oven that it was going to be pale, but it was caramel colored and delicious. It did take a very long time to cook, though, and didn't really set up until after I'd put it in the fridge. I might tweak this one a little.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Excellent!! Best I've ever had and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for this great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      Excellent oie! Going into my recipe book for sure. I had to bake it an additional 10 minutes also. 55 minutes cooking time. My family loved it; I made it today and let them have an early piece..lol

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      Hubby prefers the pecans chopped, so chopped they are. Used about a cup and a third of the chopped. Baked about 15 minutes longer, and I must say, this is the best pecan pie I've made!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Delicious pie! This makes a nice, traditional pecan pie. Usually use dark corn syrup, but didn't have any, so used light corn syrup and it worked fine. It's really tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      This is one spectacular pie. Super easy to make, and really, REALLY delicious. I also cooked the corn syrup and brown sugar over medium heat before mixing in the rest of the ingredients - the slight caramelization gives it a richer taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2003

      I made this for Thanksgiving and it got rave reviews! I don't like pecans, so, I didn't personally have any, but I can say that is was very easy to throw together and all the people that ate it gave it 5 stars! Thanks for a great recipe, Jodi!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      I picked this one because of the reviews. Yes it did live up to its stars. Just delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2002

      Make this For the Hubby on Thanksgiving. He loved it. I used Splenda instead of sugar. Thanks for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      I made this pie for a family Christmas dinner, everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      I LOVE this Pecan Pie Recipe!! It is extremely easy to make and it tastes amazing!! I have made this a couple of times and it is always excellent, my husband is always asking me to make it. I follow the recipe exactly. I do spread egg yolk over the pie crust before adding the filling into it, to create a barrier but I do not put foil over the top of the crust and it has not ever burnt so far, but we do like a crispy crust. I also make the pie crust from scratch, I use this Pie Crust Classic Pie Crust, Idiot Proof Step-By-Step Photo Tutorial, it is a wonderful combination. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pecan Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (123 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 653.4
     
    Calories from Fat 336
    51%
    Total Fat 37.4 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 120.0 mg
    40%
    Sodium 282.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.3 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 36.8 g
    147%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites