141 Reviews

This is the recipe that has been on the karo syrup bottle for about 20 years....I know, because I've been making it that long! The only difference is that they suggest a deep dish pie pan (the filling amount is actually for a deep dish pan) and increasing the baking time to 55 to 60 minutes and cooling for 2 hours before cutting. Otherwise, it is an exact replica. Dark and light corn syrups are interchangeable....the recipe is the same on both bottles. Making this for a family reunion Thanksgiving this weekend, and my own Thanksgiving on Thanksgiving Day this year. Glad you posted the recipe.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom November 17, 2010

I've made this pie several times now and realized I never reviewed it! I buy the pre-made frozen pie crust, and the first time I made this I bought regular sized pie crust tins. The amount of filling was too much for one regular sized pie tin. The second time (and each time thereafter), I use a deep dish pie tin and it fits it perfectly! I also bake it about 10 minutes longer, and I cover the crust with foil until the last 10 minutes. It's delicious with no preservative aftertaste that you get from store-bought pies.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aznbbdoll November 21, 2010

Made this for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow - I haven't tasted it yet, but it looks and smells WONDERFUL! Thanks for posting! ADDENDUM: Don't poke piecrust before putting the mixture in, as it will seep through the crust and cause the pie to be difficult to remove from pan. I suppose everybody knew this but me. I just routinely use a fork on the unbaked crust to keep it from buckling - don't do it with this pie. Pie was excellent tasting tho and very pretty - just stuck on the bottom.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef C C November 29, 2010

I have never in my life been a fan of pecan pie. In fact, I've hated it every holiday season...until this year! I made this pie yesterday and let me just say that I am forever hooked. It was mouth-watering ecstasy in every single bite. Sweet and crunchy and total yummy. Something I did that was not in this recipe was to brush the pie crust with egg yolk before putting the filling in. This creates a barrier between the wet filling and the pie crust. It stayed nice and flaky and strong enough to actually eat the pie BY HAND like a piece of pizza instead of beoming soggy. Great, great recipe. Thank you so much for the keeper! I am now a faithful fan of your pecan pie. :D

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PookeyLumLum November 23, 2007

So I ended up messing with this recipe a bit due to ingredient availability and it came out amazing though I should have cooked it longer. The replaced the sugar with half granulated white sugar and half brown sugar. In the future I might go with all brown sugar. I also used only half corn syrup and half glucose syrup. This gave it a little more caramel flavor which I thought was very appropriate. The texture was perfect too. I highly recommend these changes and as everyone has already mentioned don't be afraid to cook it longer.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tantalumlithium September 25, 2010

Very very easy to make. Super good! (And I "hate" pecan pie!) We ate it warm with vanilla ice cream. As suggested I did cook an extra 10-15 min.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shu Shu June 20, 2010

I'm not a pecan pie lover, but my fiance loves it. I made this for him and he ate the entire thing by himself. I have never made pie before, but this was such a success.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Bit May 17, 2003

Exactly what I was looking for. I have made this a fair amount of times but always forgot to rate it. I use the tenderflake frozen crusts and find that I usually have too much filling... So I have learned to cut down the recipe a bit and it is just right.
I am going to look into deeper pie crusts. I also leave the foil on the entire time since I use my convection oven and no matter what my crust burns if I take the foil off early.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Girl Kacey July 15, 2011

This is, believe it or not, a delicious pecan pie that is not quite as sweet as some. It received rave reviews from our guests at Thanksgiving. I followed the recipe except I used 1-1/2 c. of pecans and half light brown and half granulated sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kansas-born German Russia November 28, 2010

Very good. I liked how the nuts got almost candied. I used light karo and was a little afraid because of the color of the filling when it went into the oven that it was going to be pale, but it was caramel colored and delicious. It did take a very long time to cook, though, and didn't really set up until after I'd put it in the fridge. I might tweak this one a little.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tenshi November 26, 2010
Pecan Pie