74 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for Christmas dinner.It was sooo easy,and my dad(the pecan pie expert)loved it.I am not crazy about pecan pie,but this was good.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Divinemom5 December 26, 2001

I have a family of pecan pie aficionados - and this was declared the best pie ever! Used 1/2 cup butter, 1 1/2 cups brown sugar, 2 cups coarsely chopped pecans, and a ready-crust.

Making this again next weekend for my husband's birthday - thanks for such an easy recipe!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Ma December 13, 2010

The best pecan pie I've ever had. It's better than my southern mama's.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ccapps July 09, 2002

Im not a lover of pecan pie because of the corn syrup taste so I eager to try this recipe for DBF birthday treat. It was out of this world delish! I used 1/2 cup butter, 1 1/2 cups brown sugar and 2 cups pecans, mixed pieces and whole. It did take a little longer to bake and did need covered towards the end again, but I took it out of the oven when it was still a little jiggly in the middle and as it cooled it was perfect! Great recipe Ann, thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE September 22, 2011

The pie tastes wonderful and I love that it doesn't have any corn syrup in it. My only complaint (and the reason it didn't get 5 stars) is that it really, really calls for a Deep Dish Pie Crust instead of a regular one. The first time I made it, the filling overflowed from the pie crust both on my counter AND in the oven. I assumed that it was user error. I just made the pie again and actually had to transfer the filling to a deep dish crust after it once again rolled out of the regular crust and all over my counter.
So as long as you use a deep dish crust, you're fine! Other than that, delicious, flavorful and much healthier than the corn syrup options.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shylocke November 25, 2010

This was a wonderful recipe that was very popular at a dinner party I went to. It's easy to make and very rich and flavourful without being too sweet. It was really nice and creamy and had a great consistency. First time makers should take heed of the other reviewer warnings about letting the sugger/marg mix cool before adding the egg as it will cook otherwise. I made this with 1/2 cup butter (which was fine) and made my own dessert pastry to go with it. A definite keeper and a really good, easy recipe that is sure to impress your friends and family.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy-Bob December 16, 2007

The best, not as sweet as ones made with syrup.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yspoon November 16, 2010

This was the first time I had ever made Pecan Pie. I love the fact that there is no corn syrup in it! It was so easy, It made me wonder why I had never made Pecan pie before! I made one before Thanksgiving to "try it out" before serving it to guests. YUM! Everyone loved it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TammyLee Johnson November 30, 2003

Thank you, thank you a thousand time thank you, I am from South Texas and pecan pie is one of my very favorites. Ten years ago, I found out that I am diabetic and thought that I would have to give up pecan pie forever because of the sugar content. I had always just seen recipes that used corn syrup so when I found your recipe, I was sure that I could substitute Splenda Brown Sugar Blend and it would work well. I made the pie for Thanksgiving and was so very very pleased with the taste and consistency. It was just as easy as any other of the pecan pies that I had made in the past. Obviously, it is still a special occasion pie but I can now have pecan pie once again. Hubby raved about the pie and pecan pie is not his very favorite. Thank you for posting this recipe, you have made me very very happy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
livingstonfran November 26, 2012

I've made this pecan pie for years, thanks to my mother-in-law's recipe. I love it because it never fails. It is our family's favorite. Much better than with syrup.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cswbatten November 16, 2011
Pecan Pie