Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pecan-Crusted Tilapia Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pecan-Crusted Tilapia

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2009

      This was great! I made a few changes based on what I had. I had 1 lb. of tilapia, but didn't reduce the other ingredients. I used cracker crumbs instead of breadcrumbs, and increased the pecans to about 1/2 cup. Instead of salt and garlic powder I used garlic seasoning, and instead of buttermilk I used non-fat milk with a touch of non-fat half & half. I baked it at 400 for 20 mins., although 15 would've been enough. Thanks for a wonderful recipe, my husband couldn't stop raving about it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      Transforms blah tilapia into a great fish dish! II've made this at least 4 times, so I decided it was time to put in my $.02. I use more pecans-about 1/4 cup, and panko for the breadcrumbs. Also, I put the seasonings to the flour. No matter how hard you try to press the pecan/breadcrumb mix into the fish, a lot of it will fall off and you'll lose the seasoning along with it. I've used regular milk, and it works just as well as buttermilk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

    • on September 28, 2012

      Really good and easy too. Next time I would add more nuts, and I just used plain milk which worked well. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      I made this recipe exactly as written, except I cooked it in butter instead of oil. It gave it more of a nice brown color and it also gave it a yummy flavor! Will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      I used this recipe on haddock and it was delicious. Although I increased the quantity of pecans they didn't stick well, perhaps because of the breadcrumbs. Next time I'll use fewer breadcrumbs. The Rooster brand hot sauce wasn't overpowering at all. In fact, if I hadn't made the recipe myself I wouldn't have known it even had hot sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

    • on October 26, 2009

      Wonderful! I substituted ground oatmeal for the breadcrumbs, doubled the pecans, and skipped the hot sauce. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I have yet to find a tilapia dish that I liked...until now! This was fabulous! Even my kids (1, 3, & 6 yrs. old) loved it. Will certainly make again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Fantastic tilapia dish! We made it today, following the recipe exactly, and all of us voted this a "keeper." Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      Easy and tasty. Will make again.Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      This dish is simple and so yummy! My entire family eats seconds. I add more pecans than the recipe calls for and then broil the fish instead of pan frying. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      My husband and I rarely eat tilapia any other way. I haven't tried it with the buttermilk and hot sauce. Instead, for a lighter version, I use egg whites. Quite delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      I also added more pecans (and a little extra hot sauce) and loved this. I have made it several times and every time it's fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Very tasty and easy. I think next time I'll follow Mrsvamp and add a few more pecans. Definitely a keeper - thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      Tasty and made a nice crust/breading. Next time I will add more pecans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      I really liked this. The only thing I would caution people about is the fact that for me at least the nuts almost insulate the fish, and it took a lot longer to cook this tilapia filet than it normally does with a lighter breading, so keep the heat low and use plenty of oil. Very good though we enjoyed this a lot. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      This recipe was delicious! We really enjoyed it and I will definetely be using it again in the future. Highly recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      Absolutely perfect! Do not like spice, so did not use hot sauce. Did not have actual buttermilk, but used 2% milk with lemon juice added, and it came out superbly:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      This was great...I did use the butter in place of the buttermilk and tabasco though. I did not have buttermilk and have 5 kids that don't like spicy. It was really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pecan-Crusted Tilapia

    Serving Size: 1 (232 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 330.3
     
    Calories from Fat 112
    33%
    Total Fat 12.4 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 86.2 mg
    28%
    Sodium 525.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 38.2 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites