14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this recipe several times. The taste is great. I like it because it meets South Beach criteria. However, it always comes out looking like the photo - burned and most of the pecans fall off. Then I usually end up finishing the cooking in the oven. I finally solved this. Toasting the pecans allows you to process them to a finer texture as they don't "clump" as bad. I put them on a sprayed pan and then baked them at 375 F for about 10 minutes per inch. Turned out perfectly! Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbara February 06, 2008

LOVED it! And I don't really even like salmon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kane0278 June 01, 2010

Excellent! Recipe should definitely say ", toasted" after the pecans. Lightly sauteeing on med is the key here, I think, so it gets cooked without getting as dark as some reviewers experienced. This was very yummy and I will make again. Paired w/ Brown and Wild Rice Pilaf

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheapThrills January 03, 2010

This recipe did not come close to meeting my expectations. The pecan crust was much too oily and clumped together. I would imagine that baking it would have fair a little better than pan frying, but I'm not sure that I'm willing to try this recipe again to see.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
public April 13, 2009

This was a little dry, it would have been excellent with a creamy sauce on top. It could have also used more flavor, salt, cayenne, garlic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hjacksonslp January 08, 2009

ohhhhhhhh hhhhhhhhhh hhhhhhhhhh hhhhhhhhhh hhhhhhhh hhhhhhhh :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppydog_kittycat December 04, 2007

This was the grand finale of my participation in ZWT3! It lived up to the occasion - the only change I made was that my stovetop is out of order for 5 weeks, so I baked the salmon fillets in the over on 180 for 20- 25 minutes (not sure of the exact time). Turned out perfectly! Thank you Paula for posting this delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NotQuiteVegetarian July 03, 2007

This was great! My picky children ask for it by name. For the kids we leave out the cayenne. The pecan crust also works with chicken breast strips, instead of salmon. It's perfect for the Rosedale diet (lots of fish, nuts, and olive oil), and would be great for Atkins or South Beach. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bubbatron August 16, 2006

Very good. Added more cayenne cause we like spicy food. Will use again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracy in KY Coleman November 17, 2005

Excellent! i mixed all the fresh and dried herbs together and patted them onto the fish. The fish waS DONE IN 10 MINUTES!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ September 28, 2005
Pecan Crusted Salmon