10 Reviews

5 Stars - We all really enjoyed this recipe. It was similar to others we have tried before, but adding a small amount of breadcrumbs to the pecans (instead of the other way around) was a nice change. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts (what I had on hand), reduced the cooking time to 20 minutes & the chicken was nice & moist. The pecan crusted chicken looked gorgeous after cooking & I was so caught up in plating & setting up the photo that I totally forgot about making the sauce! Luckily, it can be made super quickly in the microwave & it was delicious! DH & DS both started digging in before the sauce was made & loved it then. But they were blown away with the addition of the raspberry drizzle. We will be making this again. Made, enjoyed & reviewed for RSC#11, January 2008.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** February 22, 2008

This has become a family favorite. Easy and quick to make for a great weeknight family meal. Chicken thighs make it heartier than breasts, so it really sticks with you! Yum! It's even good with no sauce, if you want to cut back on sugar/calories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeanieK April 09, 2013

Delicious! The sauce was a nice change from the regular honey mustard. I was out of milk so I only used the egg for step 3 and it turned out fine. Next time I might cut the chicken smaller and make chicken fingers. Thanks for an excellent recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG February 13, 2009

Loved the pecan coating on the chicken. I've tried pecan coatings on other things in the past and they haven't worked out that well for me, but this one was great. I think mixing the chopped pecans with the bread crumbs and doing the flour/egg wash helped the pecans to stick better. The sauce was good, but had an odd smell to it. I'm afraid I'm the only one in the house that liked it though, which is why I'm rating it three stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mailbelle March 01, 2008

I love super easy recipes that have that something extra special....and this one falls right into that category. The pecan crusted chicken was good, but once that drizzle hit those breasts (I used chicken breasts) the recipe was elevated to a new high. The addition of the Dijon Mustard was ingenious! I was asked by the 'testers' to make the sauce again! The six year old smeared it atop everything on his plate and exclaimed that it was his favorite sauce for Mac and Cheese! Super easy recipe with that something special! This was one of our favorite RSC #11 Recipes! Good Luck Chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper February 29, 2008

Of the recipes that I made for the contest, this was my and the BF's favorite one! We loved the pecan crust - it held in the chicken flavor and moisture wonderfully. The addition of dijon mustard to the raspberry drizzle was perfect, which somewhat surprised me. It added a little bit of tang to the sweet preserves and honey. Good luck in the contest!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
poo235 February 23, 2008

Definitely worthy of a 5 star rating! We loved the flavor chicken. Put that sauce over it and it's 'over the top'! Great sauce and so handy to make in the microwave. My family loved this recipe. I'm going to try it with seasoned bread crumbs next time. Tip: I love using my food processor to chop the pecans..works like a charm. Thanks for this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 22, 2008

This is a wonderful creation. The chicken is moist and tender with a nice crunchy crust. I did use boneless chicken breasts as that is what I had in the freezer. The sauce is quick, with just the perfect amount of sweet. Good luck in RSC #11.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG February 22, 2008

This was very good! I made both pecan chicken recipes (#282931 and #282907) at the same time and asked my children and some friends to compare. The votes were so close that we decided that there wasn't a clear winner. This is spicier than the other recipe and was baked. Love the fact that the sauce was created in the microwave! Thanks for a great recipe. Made for RSC #11

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff February 22, 2008

This recipe was okay but not great. We thought the sauce overpowered the chicken and we could not taste the cayenne pepper. I used boneless,skinless chicken breasts, ground pecans and coarse-ground mustard.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducky February 22, 2008
Pecan Crusted Chicken With Raspberry Drizzle