12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! What a lovely meal we had last night. This is really a dish you could serve company. I added more pecans than cornflakes and cut back the sugar to 1 tsp. It was a lovely meal, and one I will be using again and again. So easy to prepare. Thanks RecipeNut for sharing this one!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie September 15, 2002

I made this for dinner last night, and it was excellent. Made as directed with chicken legs only, as that's what I had on hand. Worked perfectly. Yummy, crispy crust, which my husband really loved. Both of my young children enjoyed it as well. Made with easy-to-find ingredients. Tastes a lot like fried chicken, but with a much better coating. I wasn't sure whether or not to remove the skin from the legs, the recipe does not say, so I left it on and it worked fine. I think it would work without as well. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaVT96 June 07, 2009

I also cooked this on a rack over my baking dish - crispy all round. Baked vegetables underneath the rack. My husband love it. Will definately make it again, and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynne Krywulycz March 13, 2009

Absolutely delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paul r w March 17, 2013

i liked the recipe:) so did the family...

i did change
sugar= brown sugar
corn flakes=bran flakes
garlic powder=garclic salt parsley flakes

overall went very well. i used 3 eggs to coat and also about doubled the shake but concept stayed the same.

made with
garlic/onion mashed potatoes with a chicken gravy made from drippings..

defiantly will save for future use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sc_shark March 03, 2012

Great Low-carb recipe. Put in less sugar and added a bit more salt. Excellent. I will use this in place of shake n' bake any day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elle-tee June 29, 2008

This was great I didn't have pecans and cornflakes so I use special K pecan cereal it was sooo good I think I will keep my creation. Thank You!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolymari February 24, 2008

I got a really terrific deal on chicken quarters at the grocery store ( 10lbs for only $3!!! ) and love to try different recipes when I have a lot of chicken on hand... I didn't have any plain cornflakes, so I used a cup of Honey Bunches of Oats cereal and omitted the sugar since it is already sweetened. To cut down on the number of bowls I used I first crushed my pecans in a heavy duty freezer bag with a meat mallet and then added the cornflakes and crushed them in the same manner. Since I had the drumsticks defrosting in a freezer bag, I just added the egg to the bag and mixed it around. This made clean up soooo easy!!! I baked the chicken on a wire rack placed over a baking pan to make sure all the chicken crisped up evenly and would not get soggy. It smelled so good when baking and the taste was just delicious. I loved the slight sweetness from the cereal and then the crunch of the pecans. We will be keeping this one in our cookbooks forever... Thanks for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl December 16, 2007

Really really great CHEAP meal! Meat doesn't get much cheaper than chicken drumsticks and this was a great way to dress it up with stuff you have sitting around the house already. I did not have cornflakes and instead used 1/2 a cup of crushed tortilla chips and 1/2 a cup of Italian bread crumbs. I also doubled the amount of pecans. Rave reviews all around - served with homemade macaroni and cheese and ginger carrots.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piranhabriana August 01, 2007

I loved this recipe. Instead of drumsticks, I used chicken breast. My husband and I don't really like the drumsticks. Anyway, I also had to sub breadcrumbs for the cornflakes b/c I did not have any, and it still came out great. I do plan to try it again with the cornflakes though. Thanks for posting such a good recipe, I plan to make this pretty often since it is easy to throw together when I get home from work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly December 28, 2006
Pecan-Crusted Chicken Drumsticks