8 Reviews

Best sweet roll I've ever made! The eggs make the dough soft and yummy. I was a little leary of the cream being poured over it before baking, but the other reviews said it works and they were right. This is the first sweet roll I've made that didn't have corners that were "tough and hard". I give this one a ten! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Gay December 28, 2010

Definitely melt-in-your-mouth! I'll use this recipe again for sure. I did mix up the butter & sugar in a saucepan (and added a dash of cream) while toasting the pecans in the pan I was going to bake the rolls in, then poured the caramel onto them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeborahSu September 21, 2008

Definitely a keeper! They were so soft and luscious, it truly brings the term "melt in your mouth" to mind. I do agree with Pamela that I would leave out the rasins (I only put raisins in half due to a very picky eater in our house and I even liked the rolls that didn't have the rasins better). Good luck!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit_Kat August 26, 2007

These were good, but they were a little too doughy flavored for my tastes. Also, I highly recommend freezing these after eating the first round because they went stale rather quickly, but fresh out of the freezer and a few minutes in the oven they tasted fresh baked!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny February 19, 2013

These sticky buns were absolutely awesome! The dough was very pliable and easy to work with and baked up tender and literally melted in the mouth. The buttery brown sugar/pecan topping was out of this world good. I managed to forget to pour the cream over the dough for the second rising, so I baked as is and they were still wonderful! I WILL make this recipe again and again but next time I may add some of the nut mixture in the filling, along with the raisins. This is a winning entry as far as I'm concerned. Good luck, chef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens August 25, 2007

Just loved the dough in these rolls. So light airy! I did make in my bread machine using 4 cups of flour. I ran out of golden so added dark raisins. Absolutely Fabulous!!!! 10 stars! Thanks for making me 20 pounds heavier! LOL! A little more cinnamon would be 10 stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ August 24, 2007

Fabulous! I will make these again. The whole family loved them and the only change I would make would be to leave out the raisins, but that's more personal preference than the fault of the recipe. Good Luck!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * August 24, 2007

SCRUMPTIOUS!!! The taste and texture is perfect. My husband couldn't stop eating them! As for the specifics: for toasting the nuts, I suggest a lower temp of 325 with the additional note to watch them carefully!! Nuts tend to cook 'suddenly' and a couple seconds more they are burnt. Also, there is maple syrup in the 'topping' listed here but no mention in the directions. Since I consider the topping to be 'what's on top' when served - I added the maple syrup to the bottom of the pan, with the butter, brown sugar and pecans. I mixed the dough in my bread machine (I always use QUICK rise yeast - cuts time in 1/2) but due to the weather that day (it makes a difference), my rising time did increase. I was skeptical about the cream poured over the dough but learned it kept the rolls moist (no crusty corners on these!) All in all, I found this to be an easy recipe to make/follow and most definitely worth the time and effort!! They rolls are light, not sticky, full of flavor and an absolute MUST for your recipe collection!! THANK YOU for the newest addition to my 'repeat often' recipe list!! :) RSC #10 recipe review Sharligan

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharflan August 24, 2007
Pecan Caramel Rolls