Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pecan Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pecan Bars

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2011

      My family and friends love pecan pie bars. I used to use a recipe that had cake mix mixed with butter for the crust, but I didn't like the 'fake' flavor of the yellow cake mix crust. I chose this recipe because it uses real butter for the crust. Only made a small change: I used an extra 1/2 cup of pecans because I prefer a nuttier bar. A tip from my old recipe: line your pan with aluminum foil to overlap all 4 sides by about an inch so that you can easily lift the bars out of the pan to finish cooling. They are much easier to cut and come out neater this way. Plus you don't end up scratching and scoring your baking pan. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2014

      This did not turn out at ALL like I thought it would! I was expecting it to have the pecan pie filling atop the crust like other recipes I've tried... Instead it made an almost cake-like mess with pecans ontop! The flavor was good though, so although it wasn't right it was still pretty darn tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      Outstanding! I made them today for my birthday tomorrow, and DH's and my taste test threatened to clear the platter before the birthday even started LOL They are plain wonderful, and my gluten free flour mix worked great for the crust. I reduced the sugar in the crust a bit because we don't like it too sweet, but for the filling I followed the recipe to the letter, and it's so gooey yummy! Thanks for sharing this winner! Will make it again and again.<br/>Made for ZWT 9 / Creole and Cajun for The Apron String Travelers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2013

      Great pecan bars, and so easy to make - the whole family raved about them! Made for ZWT9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      Well these were good. DH thought they were a little eggy, but I noticed that he kept eating them. And I love bar cookies, so much easier than a pie.I had no trouble with sticking, although I wasn't sure how high up on the pan to make the crust, so I made it a little high. But next time it will come out right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      These were very tasty . I did have some issues with preparing them. I think I must have not cooked them quite long enough. I waited until the pecan topping was set and then allowed the bars to cool before cutting them but they were incredibly gooey inside and kind of crumbled a bit while I cut them. I ended up putting them in the freezer and it solved my issues and actually they taste really good cold and semi frozen.
      So for flavor I highly recommend.
      For ease of use...I'm not quite as sure. They are easy but not completely idiot proof (as I clearly demonstrated)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      Very good and easy to make. I have wanted to make pecan pie for so long but haven't because I would have to make the crust myself. These pecan bars are a very easy alternative. Thanks for sharing! I'm hoping that they will be a bit less sweet once fully cooled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      These were AWESOME! I thoroughly enjoyed them, and so did my friends. We were trying to decide if they are better after a couple of days, but I say that's a moot point as they are so good regardless! Nice to have a pick-up that is wonderful like a pecan pie! Thanks so much for sharing, Maryland Jim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      these were fantastic. kinda like pecan pie but not quite. I think I did bake the crust just a little bit too long, but they were still tasty. Thanks so much for posting! Made for your week 1 win in the Football Pool 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      AMAZING BARS!!!! this recipe is easy and fast to put together.... these are my new favorite pecan bars!!!! thanks for sharing such a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      well these were just like the real thing.. but easier. i have never made pecan pie before. so this was nice and easy to start with. i forgot to grease the bottom of the pan.. big mistake..but it didnt stop anyone from scraping what they could from the pan to eat. thanks for an easy version of my husbands favorite treat. and he thanks you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      These got rave reviews at church and I brought home no leftovers. Was easy to make and I had all the ingredients on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      These are very good and I can't believe how easy they are to make. The crust is delicious and makes this a great recipe to go to when you are craving pecan pie, but you want something easier to make! These remind me so much of the pecan tarts or walnut tarts that people make around the holidays, only these are so much easier. They are definitely going to be on my cookie list for Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      These are just awesome. So easy to put together and the taste is outstanding. Much easier than pecan pie. I plan to make these again for a women small study group this next week. thanks Jim and congrats on the football win.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      Cookies??? Cookies??? What do you mean cookies??? This is so close to the real thing I don't believe I ever spend the 30-45 minutes getting all the ingredients together and getting the mixer down and then waiting the hour or more for the pie to cook and then the cooling time. This is just too good and takes no time hardly at all and the best part is no mixer and beaters to get down and then have to clean up. This is excellent for a "No Cook" like me. Thank you for a wonderful, shortcut to a Pecan Pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Dessert Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pecan Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.1
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    42%
    Total Fat 15.5 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 66.8 mg
    22%
    Sodium 137.9 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 26.9 g
    107%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes