Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peasant Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peasant Bread

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2012

      Great recipe, very delicious. Very easy to make and oh so good. I've been looking for a great Peasant Bread recipe and I found it. Will definately will be making again and again. Thanks Grace4Gayle for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      This is wonderful. I follow the recipe exactly as written except that I put all the dough in one loaf pan. We call this our dipping bread. Great texture for dipping in soups and sauces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      This bread came out very nice and chewy on the inside and crispy on the outside even with my OOPS. I didn't read the directions as I was mixing it together and mistakenly mixed the melted butter into the dough. (12)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      I make this bread at least twice a week, it is easier then using a bread machine. It turns out perfect every time. It makes wonderful grilled cheese sandwich's and great toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      Fantastic recipe! This is a recipe that requires little effort, but gives great results. The flavor is lovely and the texture really grabs any butter, sauce, or soup that it is served with. My family loves it with stew or even just as a snack with butter. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Love this bread! This is our "dipping" bread that goes along with those comfort foods -- soup and pasta. I make it with wheat flour with great success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

    • on July 14, 2009

      Oh so easy! We all enjoyed it and ate every bite! Thanks for sharing such an easy bread recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      This is now our regular bread. I make it at least 3 times a week if not more. I like to add 1 tsp garlic powder and 1 teaspoon pepper to it. We use half King Arthur Whole Wheat Flour and half King Arthur Unbleached Bread Flour and add whole wheat Gluten. You can also shape it like a loaf with a little practice. Beautiful texture, easy recipe, lots of variations, bottom line BEAUTIFUL perfect recipe. Thank you Grace4Gayle!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Very easy and simple recipe and the bread turned out very tasty! I used garlic salt and parmesan cheese for the toppings and my husband loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      This is my GO-TO recipe for quick bread. I use pyrex bowls as well. I am quick to remove the bread from the bowls to help with crisping. They tend to sog if left in the bowl. I've used garlic butter and also parmesan butter, oh yeah...and herb butter as toppings. WONDERFULLY EASY. ANyone can do this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      This was a very easy recipe with wonderful results. It has a crispy crust and a coarse texture but not in "bad" ways...it's actually very pleasing. I baked it in two 1.5 qt Pyrex bowls. I couldn't wait for dinner to try it though so I cut into one and had a piece with my cup of tea and it was delightful! I didn't top it with anything but butter because I wasn't sure what I was going to serve it with. Can't wait to try it for toast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      This is an incredibly easy and undemanding recipe. I feel like I hardly did anything to get it ready. I used 3c white and 1c ww flour. I did the second rise overnight, and although I was a bit worried that I'd wake to find that the dough had taken over the entire kitchen, it wasn't a problem. The bread baked while we had our coffee and we ate it as toast with eggs and jam. The texture is very airy, so it's not exactly like 'normal' bread, but it would be really good as something to have with a soup. I made one into a loaf and the other into a circle, which I will probably slice in half horizontally and use for an italian sandwich. I did not use the butter and topped with sesame seeds. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This bread is terrific, a very quick to put together recipe with great results. I baked it in a standard loaf pan, easy to slice and toast and tastes just like an English muffin. Thanks for the recipe Grace4Gayle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peasant Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1022 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 999.9
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    69%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 2390.6 mg
    99%
    Total Carbohydrate 198.9 g
    66%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 27.7 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes