15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Even picky DH loved this recipe! His first couscous recipe that makes him HAPPY! Made as directed and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks, MikeKey! Made for ZWT8, group Diners, Winers, and Chives.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees August 21, 2012

I really enjoyed this delicious dish! I have had Israeli couscous in my pantry for a while now but didn't know what to do with it. This recipe solved my problem! I really enjoyed the blend of flavours in this dish and it was very easy to make, with little attention. My kind of dish! Made for ZWT8. Thanks again Mikekey! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif August 15, 2012

Couscous and summer are a perfect match. I made this pretty much as described but added about 1/4 c. dried cranberries (what was left in my package) and my husband loved it. He told me I could make it for company.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ July 10, 2012

I used more shallot than called for and unfortunately when I went to measure out the garam masala I only had 1/2 tablespoon but it was still delicious - the 3 of us gobbled up all 4 serves. The only change I would make is simmer for thew full 10 minutes instead of the 8 that I did as I mine was still a little moist when I flaked but this was my first time cooking pearl couscous but we thoroughly enjoyed and will be making pearl couscous again. Thank you Makekey, made for Make My Recipe - Edition 15.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat September 19, 2011

I like Israeli couscous very much and definately enjoyed this. I cut down the qty of garam masala and instead added some currants and dried cherries for sweet/sour hit, along with lemon and orange rind and juice - and it was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ya Ya Sister May 10, 2011

This was a delicious accompaniment to simple roasted chicken. I used Israeli couscous which I love and fresh carrots from our weekly CSA box delivery. To make the dish more NA*ME themed, I subbed advieh for the garam masala. Veggie broth for chicken and garnished with a little bit of fresh organic cilantro. Reviewed for NA*ME tag/April.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl April 25, 2011

Quick to prepare and very versatile. Maybe try chaat masala instead of garam -- works great. Veggie broth? Works great! Want to add some tofu or broccoli? Go right ahead. On my go-to list for a quick meal or side with whatever vegetables I've got in the fridge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
recipezaar April 20, 2010

this was very good, I did not have any shallot so I used a small amount of chopped yellow onion, I also sauteed some fresh chopped garlic, made as stated otherwise, this was thoroughly enjoyed, thanks Mike!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz March 07, 2009
Pearl (Israeli) Couscous With Garam Masala and Pine Nuts