Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pear walnut squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pear walnut squares

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2003

      Wonderful or is heavenly a better word....taste great and was easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      These bars are a lovely, muffin-top like treat. I've already made them twice in one week per my mother-in-law's request. I made a few adjustments such as leaving the pears unpeeled and toasting the walnuts first; the former didn't detract from the taste and the latter enhanced the flavour. Also, for my MIL's sake, I used between 6-8 TBS of agave syrup rather than sugar. The second time I made the squares, I forgot to add vanilla without any negative side effects and added about 1 tsp of cardamom - a really yummy touch as far as I am concerned! This recipe is very forgiving and can be altered to suit needs easily. Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I have a pear tree and I was looking for different pear recipes to try. I made it for a party and it was a big hit. The only change I made was using pecans instead of walnuts. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      And easy recipe and very nice taste. Added craisins as one reviewer suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      I got this recipe from the local paper years ago and absolutely love it. I make it regularly for parties and it is always a big hit. To make it fancy, I cook it in a 10" Springform pan or pie plate and try to arrange the pears in a pretty way. Then it has more of a cake appearance. When we make it that way, we call it pear tart, though it is really to high to be a tart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Love these squares! They are a bar that has a somewhat soft crust on the bottom, with a pear/nut top that's kind of gelled together. The whole thing is frim enough to eat off of a napkin using your fingers, if you want to. They aren't super sweet, which I like. Just a subtle hint of sweetness which makes the pears even better. I made a couple changes when I makde them. First of all, I had to make them in a 9x13 pan, because I don't have a 7x11. They only took 35 minutes to cook that way. I also used pecans instead of walnuts. They were great too. Thanks for the recipe! I might try adding some dried cranberries with the nuts next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      Tasty and easy to make. A great way to use up some of the ton of pears I had from a neighbor. This did not last long in our house. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2004

      This was really easy to make and a perfect fall dish! Warm and cozy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pear walnut squares

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 296.6
     
    Calories from Fat 145
    49%
    Total Fat 16.1 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 83.3 mg
    27%
    Sodium 151.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 17.6 g
    70%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites