15 Reviews

I followed the recipe and used some of the recommendation from the previous reviews. My husband liked the first batch I made yesterday, but he said it was too soft and it tasted a bite like apple sauce. So, this morning I used three medium pears that were left over (that by now were really ripe). I sliced them, but did not mashed them as indicated in the recipe. I emptied all the of the 4 oz. jars back into my new batch of pears and added more pectin, a pinch more ground ginger, cardamom and lemon juice. Everything came together just perfect. My husband ate it with crackers, cheddar cheese and walnut for lunch. He is still talking about how great it taste. This recipe will be used for the holiday gifts. Thank you for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MAClause October 04, 2013

My husband devours this jam! I used whatever pears I had on hand and substituted the fresh ginger with ground ginger.
In my opinion this jam tastes a little like Christmas! Great!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie1973 May 20, 2011

Yummy. I made it exactly as directed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swiz58 October 18, 2015

Excellent! I used Korean pears and 1/4 tsp. Cardamom. I was surprised with the mild flavor of the ginger considering the recipe called for one Tablespoon of freshly grated. I will definitely make this recipe again and will share it with others.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shellyjanikowski October 27, 2013

Love it! Didn't peel the pears and I shredded them with my grater and I mashed them while they were cooking, yum yum, it turned out great. I eat a lot of PB&J's and this is going to be great on them :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chipfo August 18, 2013

I made this using diced candied ginger, didn't have fresh. Turned out very sweet but oh so yummy! My pear tree is loaded this year, I will make it again. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vicnmary45 July 01, 2013

I added grated dried lemon peel 1/2 teaspoon , subed the lemon juice for pineapple juice because thats what I had on hand and 1/2 teaspoon fresh ground sea salt to help balance the sweet spicy, reduced the sugar 1/2 cup also and turned out perfect! I always use a stick blender after all ingredients are in the pot just to make sure everything is mixed with no pectin clumps.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmacpartland September 02, 2012

Talk about yummy! The fresh ginger is awesome...the pear flavor still shone through. I doubled the recipe and added just 5 cups of sugar, not six. I cut the cardamon in half and found that was enough for our tastes. Also, we just about licked the pan we cooked it in - kind of like cookie dough!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlassDivaSonoma September 07, 2011

This turned out perfectly! I made a half batch at first that I did not can but just ate right away to test it first. Then I made the full recipe and canned it. Everyone I have given it to has loved it. Especially good on thin homemade pecorino crackers! Thank you for this keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommycook November 22, 2009

We made 3 different recipes of pear jam this year, and this one won out by FAR! This jam tastes like fall - I've never cooked very much with cardamon, but it really gives it that special kick that will make all your friends go "WOW! That stuff is awesome!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kooglert October 01, 2009
Pear Jam