Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pear Honey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pear Honey

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2010

      I made this as part of a gift basket for my parents. Dad finally had it because "they had run out of all the normal jelly". He thought it was great, but it was a bit sweeter than jelly. "It must have been the honey." He said he would like another jar if it wasn't too expensive because of the honey. I just laughed and said we could handle it...and for the book, he was complimenting on a grumpy old man day:). This year I decided to try it with less sugar...3 cups. This was more to our taste at my house, Dad hasn't had a chance to rate it yet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      Love this. I doubled the recipe, but cut the sugar WAY down. I had a 6 qt pan-full of peeled, sliced pears from our old Keiffer and Orient pear trees. I used 4 cups of white sugar, and it was plenty. I sliced a big lemon really thin and threw that in - watch the seeds - and added about 1/8 tsp. of salt. Cooked it for 40 minutes, mashed everything with an old school potato masher and it was perfect! My jars are in the water bath right now. I can't wait for a cool morning with hot biscuits and this pear goodness! Thanks for the inspiration.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      This was wonderful - I made some this weekend. I got 2 pints and 2 half-pint jars out of it. The recipe was well written and very easy to follow. Only addition I had was to add ~1 tbsp of apple pie spice, just to get that cinnamon spice flavor in there. I also actually used zucchini pineapple (recipe 9531) in place of the crushed pineapple, and you'd never know the difference. I had just a tad left in the pot after I filled the jars and had it on a bagel today - it was so very wonderful. I'll definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      this would get 5 star - except for the sweetness. After reading others' reviews I took it down from 5.5 cups of sugar to 2.5. Still insanely sweet - almost overpowering the lovely fragrant pear. Also I only got 5 half pint jars but super easy, delicious and will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      This is very good. I love the pear and pineapple flavors together!! I decreased the sugar to 3 1/2 cups and it was still sweet for us but I do think that the pears I had were very sweet. I think it will mellow a bit with storage time. I used a stick blender at the end of the cooking time but did leave a bit of fruit pieces. Very easy to make and I will be making this again next year. Thanks for sharing another wonderful recipe Sharon!! Made for Preserving Summer Memories Challenge in the cooking photo forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Quick easy and very good. I put the pears in the food processor to grind them up. Very nice. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      Very good! I reduced the sugar by half and ommited the pineapple, and it came out perfectly. I will try it next time with the pineapple. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2005

      My family has been using this recipe for years. My grandmother has two canning/cooking pear trees. Most of the time we dont add the pineapple and it turns out great. Once people taste this they will BEG for more. I always have to mail my brother a case of it everytime we make it. We use it on biscuits, toast, pancakes, ice cream and cakes. Thank you for posting, now I can add it to my cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      I love this recipe - it is so versatile and does taste like honey! I especially love to use it on pork chops and chicken breasts when baking then - it makes turns an every day meal into "gourmet" fare!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      This is a great recipe! I was quite surprised by how sweet this is. A little really does go a long way. I acctually blended my pear honey to make it chunk free. After blending the mass was larger so I had an extra 8oz jar out of the batch! I'm going to make it again without blending this time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      Absolutely great stuff ! I have 3 pear trees - and have been looking for the right recipe. After several years of making chutney and confit - this is the new all round winner ! My wife loves it - and I'm making some more. It's very sweet - so I would try to cut down the sugar a bit. ( Try 4.5 or 4 cups). Of course it depends on the ripeness of the pears.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      WOW and Double WOW. This is good. I ran out of sugar, so only used 3 1/2 cups but it was still delicious. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      This was very sweet. Next time I make it, I will definitely reduce the amount of sugar. Very easy to make though! Made for ZWT3. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      I made this today along with Sharon's blueberry jam, another winner Sharon! I can't wait to have this with so many different things, this is so good and so easy to make, don't pass this up MAKE IT! thank you for yet another winner Sharon, I love this Pear Honey!....Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      This has an exellent almost candy like flavor. The consistency (for those like me who have never eaten it before)is like maple syrup with fruit suspended in it and the color of honey. I made two batches of this and I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      This is really good! Easy to make. I had really big pears in my 3 pounds so I got 9 jars out of this, not 7.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      My FIL gave me a big bucket of pears. I wasn't sure what I was going ot do with them until I found this recipe. I first make a single batch and we tested it out. Huge hit. I then did a quadruple batch to have through the winter until pear season again. Thank you for sharing with us. We love this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2013

      My neighbor brought me about 20 pounds of pears and I needed a way to put them up. This was really good. I sent it in our Christmas boxes and everyone really enjoyed it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2010

      I was so glad to find this recipe. My grandmother used to make this when I was a small girl and I had gotten her recipe from her many years ago. I remembered making this shortly after I got married, but over the years I had lost the recipe. I have lots of pears this year and was trying to come up with some other ways to can them, when I stumbled across this recipe. Thank you so much for posting this on here, as I now can make this for my children.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      The end result is great! Not quite a jam and not quite a butter, whatever it is, it is delicious. I was confused during the cooking because I had chucks of pear in mine, so I used my immersible blender and blended it about 30 minutes into the cooking. Everything turned out well with 4.5 cups of sugar. Thank you for posting. This is one to make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pear Honey

    Serving Size: 1 (2629 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 452.7
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    95%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 118.3 g
    39%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 102.4 g
    409%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes