48 Reviews

I had some pears my FIL gave me and we had this for breakfast. OMG, it is so good. DH couldn't quit eating it (and he doesn't eat a lot of sweets). It was so moist and flavorful, I might make it again this weekend. Thank you for sharing with us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 18, 2013

This recipe deserves all of the five-star reviews that it's gotten. It's really tasty, and the combination of pears, ginger, brown sugar and pecans can't be beat. Thanks for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer December 28, 2012

Definitely could taste the ginger and nutmeg. Loved them with the pears.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound April 19, 2012

I'm sorry, but I just didn't care for this coffee cake. The only changes I made was that I didn't have any nuts, so that was the only thing I left out. I think that there was too much nutmeg for my personal tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristy D. November 16, 2009

Very good! Next time I think I will use butter instead of the oil, and add 1/2 the salt after seperating the topping (it turned out too salty for us). But this is a really good, solid, easy recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TattooedMamaof2 October 29, 2009

Delicious cake! I have made this twice. It was a hit with my guests. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie224 April 05, 2009

This is great! Though I must admit that I didn't follow the recipe as written (I broke the first rule of cooking/baking: Always read the whole recipe before starting). I used 6oz yogurt and milk to substitute for buttermilk and I mixed all of the ingredients together except the two listed in "Topping". So I didn't have any topping and I added more milk to get a smoother batter. My only issue is that the pears sink to the bottom. Maybe tossing them in some flour to coat before adding to the batter will help (but maybe not, idk). Despite the errors, the cake is delish and I can't stop eating it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mle234 January 15, 2009

I have tons of pears off our tree...the thing is I don't like pears! So with 5 bushels a year, I desperately send things to my DH's work. This went over well but my "topping" sank into the cake. I don't know what the heck I did wrong. I read the recipe three times and can't figure it out. Just not the usual crumbly topping I associate with coffeecakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ericaj October 15, 2008

I loved this coffee cake. It had just the right flavors. The nutty topping was just wonderful. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn September 25, 2008

Wonderful, easy coffee cake. I used 1 c white flour, 1 c whole wheat flour & 1/2 c whole wheat pastry flour and the cake was still light. I also used almost all applesauce in place of the oil. The resulting "crumb" topping was very dense and lumpy, but the lumps sunk right in the batter & added a delicious cruch to this very moist coffee cake. Per others suggestions, I didn't add the salt until after I removed the 1 c for topping. I also used pumpkin pie spice instead of nutmeg. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuckyDog July 27, 2008
Pear Coffee Cake with Ginger Pecan Crunch Topping