48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i change cooking oil to butter it is such a great recipe, cant imagine pear coffee cake can be this easy to make & so YUMMY!!! thanks for sharing, im sure i will bake it again & again :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momo_bone July 23, 2009

Last night we had guests over for dinner and I served this for dessert. It was truely wonderful. I have to take the leftovers to work or else I would eat the whole pan. My guests enjoyed it too! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary in Clearwater October 20, 2008

I was intrigued with this recipe because of the use of oil which is always easy to use. Unfortunately I can't stand pears so had to substitute apple (peaches should work very well). My DH and friends love the pear version. The only negative for us is the sweetness so had to cut back on sugar and also on the oil by 1/4 c. Added some yoghurt to make up for it. It is a great recipe and the above changes are personal. We find most coffee cake recipes just too sweet and always have to adjust.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waynejohn1234 August 22, 2008

This made such a wonderful breakfast on a cold day! I used red pears and walnuts. Everyone loved how it tasted and the only thing I might change is to drop the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Thank you for posting such a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pixie's Kitchen January 26, 2008

I had a church ladies brunch thingy to go to and I made this lovely coffee-cake. I used those red-skinned pears (can't think of the name of them). This was truly one of the best coffee-cakes I have ever made or tasted. The cake was moist and tender. Very fragrant, too. Gets my highest recommedation. Many thanks, 1Steve.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' March 27, 2004

This recipe deserves more than 5 stars! My mom and I made this because we had an overabundance of pears. It definately tastes like it's come fresh from the nearest gourmet bakery. The topping is to die for. Everyone really has enjoyed this one. Thanks Steve!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kleigh83 August 04, 2003

Wow! This is a near perfect coffee cake. (The spices could be punched up a bit. I think I'll try adding a little bit of lemon zest to the batter, and maybe use fresh grated ginger instead of dried in the topping.) The texture is fabulous! It's very moist, yet not at all heavy. Thanks a million for the recipe Steve!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DRoberts May 30, 2003

I followed the recipe exactly. The cake batter absorbed the topping so there was no crunch. My kids and I did not care for the taste of this cake (nutmeg & ginger was too much for us) but my husband almost devoured the entire pan by himself. If you love ginger and nutmeg then you'll probably really enjoy this cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
41spheres December 06, 2014

Taking the suggestions of other reviewers I decreased the sugar and the salt, then made this according to the recipe. It was fair in flavor, the cake is moist. Now I think I should have made it using the quantities indicated because the changes resulted in a rather bland finished product. I'm sure replacing the oil with butter, as a couple of reviewers did, would have made it more flavorful, as well as change the texture somewhat. The topping was good both warm and later at room temperature.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaniceRenee March 11, 2014

I thought this dessert was very lack lustre. It did smell delicious cooking and was very easy. I could see people really enjoying it with ice cream while warm. I can't eat ice cream so I put a heaping spoonful of some cranberries and apples I had cooked down. That added the zip I needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol S. November 28, 2013
Pear Coffee Cake with Ginger Pecan Crunch Topping