Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pear Coffee Cake with Ginger Pecan Crunch Topping Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pear Coffee Cake with Ginger Pecan Crunch Topping

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on April 19, 2012

      Definitely could taste the ginger and nutmeg. Loved them with the pears.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      Man oh Man, this is an excellent cake. The cake tastes so good and so moist. I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg because noone in my family likes nutmeg. I also used only 1 1/4 cup of sugar in total....Sooooooooo Yummmy!!! I served it warm with some cool whipped...What can I say except.....I just love it. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      I'm sorry, but I just didn't care for this coffee cake. The only changes I made was that I didn't have any nuts, so that was the only thing I left out. I think that there was too much nutmeg for my personal tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Very good! Next time I think I will use butter instead of the oil, and add 1/2 the salt after seperating the topping (it turned out too salty for us). But this is a really good, solid, easy recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      Delicious cake! I have made this twice. It was a hit with my guests. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This is great! Though I must admit that I didn't follow the recipe as written (I broke the first rule of cooking/baking: Always read the whole recipe before starting). I used 6oz yogurt and milk to substitute for buttermilk and I mixed all of the ingredients together except the two listed in "Topping". So I didn't have any topping and I added more milk to get a smoother batter. My only issue is that the pears sink to the bottom. Maybe tossing them in some flour to coat before adding to the batter will help (but maybe not, idk). Despite the errors, the cake is delish and I can't stop eating it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      I have tons of pears off our tree...the thing is I don't like pears! So with 5 bushels a year, I desperately send things to my DH's work. This went over well but my "topping" sank into the cake. I don't know what the heck I did wrong. I read the recipe three times and can't figure it out. Just not the usual crumbly topping I associate with coffeecakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      I loved this coffee cake. It had just the right flavors. The nutty topping was just wonderful. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2008

      Wonderful, easy coffee cake. I used 1 c white flour, 1 c whole wheat flour & 1/2 c whole wheat pastry flour and the cake was still light. I also used almost all applesauce in place of the oil. The resulting "crumb" topping was very dense and lumpy, but the lumps sunk right in the batter & added a delicious cruch to this very moist coffee cake. Per others suggestions, I didn't add the salt until after I removed the 1 c for topping. I also used pumpkin pie spice instead of nutmeg. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      I thought it needed a little more ginger, or perhaps fresh ginger on top. I had to substitute pumpkin pie spice for the nutmeg, which worked out well and also substituted milk and lemon juice for buttermilk. Everyone who tasted it said it was wonderful. I also cooked it about 2 minutes less. It was super moiste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      This was so good - it was devoured very quickly! I liked the fact that oil was used in the cake and for the crumb topping. I would agree with another poster to add the salt after the 1 cup of topping mixture has been set aside. Thank you for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      This was very good! Shared with friends instead of my weekly muffins. They all loved it. My only change was to add 1/2 tsp cinnamon & ginger. Thank you very much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Wow. So to be honest this was completely beyond expectations. We had those big asian pears around and I happened to come across this recipe. Boy am I glad I did. I would recommend this coffee cake to anyone that's looking for easy baking w/ fruit, and who wants something other than the obligatory apple crisp. The scent is extraordinary, and we'll be making this continuously this winter. THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      This was spectacular. I used asian pears and only half the salt. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Absolutely amazing! I love this. My husband is diabetic and so I used white splenda for the sugar and a half cup of splenda brown for the brown sugar. I cooked it for about 2/3 the time and it was great. I love the flavor. Thank you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Just wanted to add that when I served this cake I put some fresh whipped cream on top - sprinkle some fresh grated nutmeg on the cream and WOW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      This was the perfect dish along side a cup of tea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      Very moist and yummy! I love the idea of not having to cut cold butter into the mix to make a streusel! The oil is soooo much easier. Before adding the oil I sifted the first five ingredients because my brown sugar was lumpy. For me, 2 cups chopped pears = 2 med pears. Next time I make this (probably tomorrow since I bought 5 pears!) I will add the baking soda and powder at step 3 - then add pears. Also increase ginger in topping to 1 tsp. I can't wait to share this cake with friends!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      Delicious cake - my husband and I both give this 5 stars! I bet it would be awesome with apples and cinnamon instead of pears and nutmeg, for a change of pace. A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2006

      I made this over the weekend with home grown pears from my inlaws tree. It was amazing. Very moist and the spices give it a wonderful flavor. Made exactly as written except I had no buttermilk so I subbed 1/2c. sour cream and a 1/2 cup of milk, I also added about a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter because I just love vanilla. Thank you for this wonderful recipe, everyone who ate it gave it thumbs up!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pear Coffee Cake with Ginger Pecan Crunch Topping

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.8
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    44%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 10.8 mg
    3%
    Sodium 241.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 22.9 g
    91%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites