Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pear Coffee Cake with Ginger Pecan Crunch Topping Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pear Coffee Cake with Ginger Pecan Crunch Topping

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2002

      The combination of pears, nutmeg, ginger & pecans in this recipe is incredible, and the aroma of it permeated the whole house while it was baking--it was simply wonderful. This is one of the most delicious coffee cakes I have ever tasted! I would recommend this recipe to anyone - it was very easy to make, and I will make this again...and again...and again! -M

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      This coffee cake is great! It is so easy to prepare. I followed the directions exactly and my family couldn't stop raving. Even my very picky little brother said he would give it 10 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2003

      This is a "real good" cake - its nutty, smells wonderful, got fresh fruit, is soft and incredibly tasty! It is very similar to one of Mirj Mom's cakes that used ginger and apple in it. I loved the taste of ginger in particular that stands out at the end - thats, "To die for". I did make a few substitutions, though. I used light brown sugar instead of dark brown, as I had only light brown on hand. Also, I didn't have nutmeg on hand, and I substituted it with cinnamon. Pecans out here cost a fortune, and, I substituted those with almonds. Everything worked well. This cake took 1 hour 40 minutes to bake in my AMC Dutch oven. To make this cake slightly guilt-free, I used low-fat milk in which I added lemon juice(prepared this as a substitute for buttermilk). Everything else was perfect. I would recommend this recipe to everyone. It's my uncle's(mom's younger brother's) birthday today, and while my dad, bro. and the rest of our larger family is celebrating on my uncle's huge lawn, we decided to have a small cake and samosas here, just to keep the mood up(Everyone was low as India lost against Australia in the World Cup today), and, just to put a little smile on their faces, I baked them this cake. The guys who work with dad loved this(I packed some for their families). I've saved one huge helping for my dad and bro. to dig into when they get back home on the 19th:) Thanks for sharing an excellent recipe! Belated Happy V-day to you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2002

      Made this for our church Easter breakfast, and it was delicious! I especially loved the moistness of the cake even after it was cut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Wonderfully moist coffeecake! I cut back the white sugar to 1/2 cup, and will try even less next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Outstanding! I tweaked it only a little (using 1C packed dark brown sugar + 1/2C sugar and 3/4 tsp salt) and it is still plenty sweet for me. I may try using even less sugar next time. I am also a ginger lover so I used 3/4 tsp ground ginger in the topping. Using butter is a good idea that I may try next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      This was really good! I bake quite a bit, but I've never made a coffee cake (thinking that they're kind of dry and not very good). I was pleasantly surprised! This was SO good! Made it twice now since I have a ton of pears to get rid of. Both times I put it in 2 round 9 inch pans and it worked out very well!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      I got compliments from the entire house on this one. Truly delicious coffee cake and a great way to use extra pears.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      i change cooking oil to butter it is such a great recipe, cant imagine pear coffee cake can be this easy to make & so YUMMY!!! thanks for sharing, im sure i will bake it again & again :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Last night we had guests over for dinner and I served this for dessert. It was truely wonderful. I have to take the leftovers to work or else I would eat the whole pan. My guests enjoyed it too! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      I was intrigued with this recipe because of the use of oil which is always easy to use. Unfortunately I can't stand pears so had to substitute apple (peaches should work very well). My DH and friends love the pear version. The only negative for us is the sweetness so had to cut back on sugar and also on the oil by 1/4 c. Added some yoghurt to make up for it. It is a great recipe and the above changes are personal. We find most coffee cake recipes just too sweet and always have to adjust.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      This made such a wonderful breakfast on a cold day! I used red pears and walnuts. Everyone loved how it tasted and the only thing I might change is to drop the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Thank you for posting such a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      I had a church ladies brunch thingy to go to and I made this lovely coffee-cake. I used those red-skinned pears (can't think of the name of them). This was truly one of the best coffee-cakes I have ever made or tasted. The cake was moist and tender. Very fragrant, too. Gets my highest recommedation. Many thanks, 1Steve.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2003

      This recipe deserves more than 5 stars! My mom and I made this because we had an overabundance of pears. It definately tastes like it's come fresh from the nearest gourmet bakery. The topping is to die for. Everyone really has enjoyed this one. Thanks Steve!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2003

      Wow! This is a near perfect coffee cake. (The spices could be punched up a bit. I think I'll try adding a little bit of lemon zest to the batter, and maybe use fresh grated ginger instead of dried in the topping.) The texture is fabulous! It's very moist, yet not at all heavy. Thanks a million for the recipe Steve!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2014

      Taking the suggestions of other reviewers I decreased the sugar and the salt, then made this according to the recipe. It was fair in flavor, the cake is moist. Now I think I should have made it using the quantities indicated because the changes resulted in a rather bland finished product. I'm sure replacing the oil with butter, as a couple of reviewers did, would have made it more flavorful, as well as change the texture somewhat. The topping was good both warm and later at room temperature.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      I thought this dessert was very lack lustre. It did smell delicious cooking and was very easy. I could see people really enjoying it with ice cream while warm. I can't eat ice cream so I put a heaping spoonful of some cranberries and apples I had cooked down. That added the zip I needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      I had some pears my FIL gave me and we had this for breakfast. OMG, it is so good. DH couldn't quit eating it (and he doesn't eat a lot of sweets). It was so moist and flavorful, I might make it again this weekend. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      This recipe deserves all of the five-star reviews that it's gotten. It's really tasty, and the combination of pears, ginger, brown sugar and pecans can't be beat. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      I had some really ripe pears I needed to use and I found this recipe. I'm glad I did! I like the nutmeg and ginger with the pears. I did cut back on the sugar to 1/2 cup, and next time I may use butter instead of oil, but this recipe is definitely a keeper. I'm looking forward to having this with a cup of coffee for breakfast tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pear Coffee Cake with Ginger Pecan Crunch Topping

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.8
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    44%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 10.8 mg
    3%
    Sodium 241.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 22.9 g
    91%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites