37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! The smell of this bread baking is so tempting - rich cardamom scent wafts through the air. The bread is very moist from the pear - the flavor of which is very pronounced. The little chunks of pear get so tender and are well complimented by the cardamom. This was delicious. NOTE: I mixed my liquids up separately with a whisk before adding to the dry ingredients.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather December 02, 2003

I doubled it, used half whole wheat and half white, added an additional tsp of cinnamon and an additional tsp of cardoman and a cup of craisins, baked it in a bundt cake mold and it is WONDERFUL!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaurorac October 28, 2011

This was very easy to make. It took less time to mix together than to preheat my oven. More importantly, this cake tastes wonderful and has the most enticing fragrance. I cut into the cake within 5 minutes of removing it from the oven and I ate 1/3 before I could make myself stop. The only change that I might make next time is to use more cardamom because I love the taste.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhea_S March 02, 2004

Very pretty, tall loaves, perfect for giving for the holidays. I made a double batch, half small loaves, 1 big one. I also added a bit more cardamom after tasting the batter, I think it would depend on the freshness of your cardamom. A keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha December 18, 2003

Made according to the recipe, except a used a bit more chopped pear since all my pears were ripe at once. Nice, moist bread, if I make it again I would chop the pears very fine so they are more evenly distributed through the bread. I also found it a bit bland, if I make it again I would add some cinnamon or something.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
galponetta September 24, 2011

This bread is delicious! I have made it with white or whole wheat flour and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup per loaf. I also followed other reviewers' advice and mixed wet and dry ingredients separately. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon in addition to cardamom. I found it important to chop the pears very finely and to use very ripe pears for the best flavor and moisture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
efromoregon October 04, 2013

We really enjoyed this. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keolani October 24, 2012

This was a hit in my house. I've made it twice now, the first time with some cardamom (1 1/2 tsp per the bland comments here) I borrowed from a friend and the second time substituting 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. The bread was moist and yummy both times. Great way to use up pears.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr.JenLeddy February 18, 2012

I made a double recipe, and made 2 small loaves and 1 dozen muffins. I also substitute spelt flour for regular wheat flour and added some cinnamon. We love the flavour & texture of these muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pastawendy October 31, 2011

i made it for a get-together and the guests really loved the flavour. i think i needed to cut the pear chunks smaller because i had big huge chunks everywhere. i also added extra cardamom. love the flavour and the topping becomes really nice and crunchy. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sumashi December 06, 2009
Pear Cardamom Bread