Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pear Cake With Caramel Glaze Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pear Cake With Caramel Glaze

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2014

      This cake is awesome, it's tall, moist, tender, flavorful and delicious. It was quick and easy to make with terrific results. The allspice is lovely with the pear, and adds a nice layer of spice to this tasty treat. I must say for a large cake, the crumb is perfect, simply perfect. The caramel glaze is so good, it is the perfect topping for this cake. I had to omit the nuts as dh is allergic but other than that I made it as written and I wouldn't change a thing. Thank you for sharing a new family favorite that we will enjoy again and again. Made for Culinary Quest 2014 - Suitcase Gourmets - 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2013

      This is a great tasting pear cake. The glaze is just delicious. Won't go wrong in making this cake. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      What a delicious way to welcome in Fall! I've never made or tasted a pear cake before. There is a difference between using apples and pear in texture. I thought the allspice would be overwhelming, but it was just right and the caramel glaze was the perfect topping to this wonderful cake. I left out the nuts only because I wasn't in the mood. I may add another cup of pears next time. Thanks for posting this recipe, I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      For 45 years I have tried to find an apple cake like my husband's grandmother made. When he tasted this cake, he actually said, "this cake is very much like Mussie's apple cake." I couldn't believe it! I made it just as the recipe said except for substituting walnuts for pecans. With the glaze I reduced the amount to half and did not cook it long enough to form a hard sugar. This I spooned over the entire cake. As the glaze began to cool, it became harder and I but that small amount on top. I've made this cake three times now, and each time it came out perfect. I'm planning on using this recipe for my traditional Thanksgiving Apple Cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      Awesome! My family loved it!. Had a ton of pears to use and this was one of the recipes I made. Omitted the nuts, otherwise no changes. The glaze is fantastic and pairs perfectly with the cake. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      This was a yummy cake that used up some very ripe pears that I had in my kitchen. Baking time was a little too long in my oven, so the edges got dry but it still tasted really good! I also didn't have allspice, as another poster, but I used some pumpkin pie spice that had allspice, cinnamon, ginger (always good with pears), and nutmeg. The caramel glaze was a great touch to finish off the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      This was a great cake to make and use up some pears in the process! The cake is really nice and moist and the caramel glaze was delicious. Mine was a bit runnier than in the picture and I probably will let it thicken up a bit next time before pouring over (it ran too much down onto the plate!) I didn't have allspice but used mixed spice instead. This was fabulous and we really liked it! Thank you for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      If you are a fan of spice cakes like I am, you'll love this pear cake. It's wonderfully moist and the bits of pecan give a bit of crunch. The only change I made was to add a bit of salt to the cake as that seemed to be missing. My glaze turned out a bit thick and next time I'll thin it a bit more. The baking time of 55 minutes was right on. Wonderful cake, Bayhill. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pear Cake With Caramel Glaze

    Serving Size: 1 (1911 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 6785.7
     
    Calories from Fat 3271
    48%
    Total Fat 363.4 g
    559%
    Saturated Fat 70.2 g
    351%
    Cholesterol 760.7 mg
    253%
    Sodium 2731.8 mg
    113%
    Total Carbohydrate 852.9 g
    284%
    Dietary Fiber 45.9 g
    183%
    Sugars 577.0 g
    2308%
    Protein 68.1 g
    136%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites