Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pear Bread Delight Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pear Bread Delight

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2014

      This is lovely, but wish I had read more reviews and reduced the sugar. I used 3 very ripe "packham" pears that I didn't want to throw out, after peeling them I chopped them fine as I knew grating them wouldn't work. I would prefer pieces of pear in the bread, so next time I will chop the pears larger (but this is personal preference). I added 1 cup of chopped walnuts (which due to their bitterness cuts back on the sweetness, slightly). I added maple essence and baked this in a large bunt tin. I will make this again, but with less sugar and larger pear peices. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      I found this had a slightly metallic taste but I had substituted pear liquor for vanilla. I wasn't impressed with the texture either but I might have screwed it up

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      I thought I had rated this years ago, but I guess not! We LOVE this recipe. My only substitutions are to use 2 cups whole wheat flour and one of all-purpose flour, and applesauce instead of oil. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2011

      This is really good. Five stars. Next time, I will use a little less cinnamon, just my personal taste, but it was great as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      Yummy! I live in Florida and have a ton of sand pears to use right now. Because these are grated, the pears cooked great in this recipe. They are a very hard pear. Thanks for giving me a great use for them now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      I really liked this. I did make a few modifications--subbed grounded ginger for cinnamon (sorry, not a big fan of cinnamon), stevia for sugar (and added 1 tsp baking soda as suggested per their baking tips). I didn't have any nuts but plan to get some so I can make some more of this bread. I plan to make several loaves while the pear tree is producing and freeze them to have for the holiday meals. Thanks for a great recipe! Hope you don't mind the modifications.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Great bread.The pear taste is pretty subtle but I liked the spiciness.I added a cup of shredded zucchini to mine and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg.I also used 1/2 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce and it turned out extremely moist.I didn't think it was too sweet at all and I used 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar.Instead of grating the pears I just chopped them up into small pieces.The bread turned out great and I really liked the addition of zucchini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      We loved it, too. I pretty much followed the recipe as is, except for following all the advice about cutting down on the sugar...I used 1 1/2 cups and it was fine. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      This was fantastic. I had already peeled and cut them into small pieces so did not grate the pears, but worked just fine. Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      The Best Quick Bread EVER!! I love it! I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and used about 3/4 Tbl. cinnamon, but kept the rest as written. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      Very easy and tasty, a hit with all my family! Great with a cup of tea, in the morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      I added canned pears b/c the ones I used weren't ripe enough. The second time I made it I just cut up canned pears (in cinnamon) and poured in about 1/3-1/2 of the juice. It made it VERY sweet. yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Great bread, I cut down the cinnamon to just 2 teaspoons as I was a little unsure if 1 tablespoon would overwhelm the recipe and I didn't grate the pears just cubed the very small as they were very ripe. I loved the texture of the bread with the nuts and the hint of cinnamon, not too sweet and great with coffee. Definately will make this again, thank you for the terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      I thought is was really good...I would have liked a little more pear flavor but that is just a personal preference. I will be making this again, but with some diced per in it as well. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      This is a keeper. My family loves this bread. I cut the sugar by half a cup and omitted the nuts for my daughter but otherwise followed the recipe. It took three pears to make two cups and it came out nice and moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      I came across this recipe, while looking for something to make for church fellowship. My mistake was making it on Friday. I don't think it's going to last till Sunday morning, my kids have already devoured half & I doubled the batch. I used 1/2 cup of butter, instead of oil & no nuts. Of all the "pear bread" recipes I looked at, I'm glad that I went with this one. Thanks for a new family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      This was very good. I only had 1 cup of fresh pears, but it didn't hamper the recipe at all, still has a great pear taste. The only other thing I did differently was put about 4 Tbsp. of poppy seeds. Yumm-o for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      With a pear tree in the yard and a freezer in the basement this recipe was great for me. The only thing I changed was that I used canola oil instead of vegetable oil and I used grated pears as well as coarsely chopped thin slices of pears. The taste of this bread was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      This are absolutely delicious! I decided to make them after getting a basket of pears at our local Amish market, and it tastes great. I made the recipe into muffins because I plan on giving some to my neighborhood (if I can stop eating them). I used walnuts, and I used 1 cup of splenda and 1 cup sugar because I was almost out of sugar. The recipe produced 24 mini muffins and 6 regular muffins. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pear Bread Delight

    Serving Size: 1 (1576 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2808.7
     
    Calories from Fat 1135
    40%
    Total Fat 126.2 g
    194%
    Saturated Fat 17.9 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 279.0 mg
    93%
    Sodium 2410.3 mg
    100%
    Total Carbohydrate 389.6 g
    129%
    Dietary Fiber 18.2 g
    73%
    Sugars 219.9 g
    879%
    Protein 41.4 g
    82%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes