22 Reviews

This is lovely, but wish I had read more reviews and reduced the sugar. I used 3 very ripe "packham" pears that I didn't want to throw out, after peeling them I chopped them fine as I knew grating them wouldn't work. I would prefer pieces of pear in the bread, so next time I will chop the pears larger (but this is personal preference). I added 1 cup of chopped walnuts (which due to their bitterness cuts back on the sweetness, slightly). I added maple essence and baked this in a large bunt tin. I will make this again, but with less sugar and larger pear peices. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom April 10, 2014

I found this had a slightly metallic taste but I had substituted pear liquor for vanilla. I wasn't impressed with the texture either but I might have screwed it up

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swiz58 April 23, 2013

I thought I had rated this years ago, but I guess not! We LOVE this recipe. My only substitutions are to use 2 cups whole wheat flour and one of all-purpose flour, and applesauce instead of oil. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimberlym480 November 04, 2012

This is really good. Five stars. Next time, I will use a little less cinnamon, just my personal taste, but it was great as is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NDjojo October 23, 2011

Yummy! I live in Florida and have a ton of sand pears to use right now. Because these are grated, the pears cooked great in this recipe. They are a very hard pear. Thanks for giving me a great use for them now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl August 25, 2011

I really liked this. I did make a few modifications--subbed grounded ginger for cinnamon (sorry, not a big fan of cinnamon), stevia for sugar (and added 1 tsp baking soda as suggested per their baking tips). I didn't have any nuts but plan to get some so I can make some more of this bread. I plan to make several loaves while the pear tree is producing and freeze them to have for the holiday meals. Thanks for a great recipe! Hope you don't mind the modifications.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimnles2001 September 03, 2010

Great bread.The pear taste is pretty subtle but I liked the spiciness.I added a cup of shredded zucchini to mine and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg.I also used 1/2 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of applesauce and it turned out extremely moist.I didn't think it was too sweet at all and I used 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar.Instead of grating the pears I just chopped them up into small pieces.The bread turned out great and I really liked the addition of zucchini.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
officemaintenance March 25, 2010

We loved it, too. I pretty much followed the recipe as is, except for following all the advice about cutting down on the sugar...I used 1 1/2 cups and it was fine. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TopfUziel October 10, 2009

This was fantastic. I had already peeled and cut them into small pieces so did not grate the pears, but worked just fine. Thank you very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dayla October 10, 2009

The Best Quick Bread EVER!! I love it! I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and used about 3/4 Tbl. cinnamon, but kept the rest as written. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punkarooni September 13, 2009
Pear Bread Delight