Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pear Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pear Bread

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2001

      This is so addictive, yummy! I loved it and everyone in my family also did. We had guests from overseas who are in love with this bread. I added a handful of raisins and a teaspoon of cinnamon instead of nutmeg and used low-fat yoghurt instead of buttermilk. Its turned out FANTASTIC! From across the miles, a sweet little "Thank You" for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      This bread was tasty. Lots of pear flavor came through, although next time I would add some extra spice or maybe a brown sugar crumble to the top. Thanks for posting =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      A very mild bread, which for my tastes, could have used the addition of some cinnamon or more nutmeg. I made exactly per the recipe. As per one of the other comments, it is very nice warm with some butter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      This recipe is wonderful ! I've had several repeat requests to make it and share the recipe. Each time, I change it slightly ( add apple juice or cinnamon ) and it is always loved . Thanks !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      I used sour cream instead of yogurt. I found the batter to be a bit thick so I actually used 8 oz of sour cream. I also used cinnamon instead of nutmeg. I recommend it for peach shortcake. Very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2002

      Great recipe!I made it for this past Easter and it was well received.I added more pears & just rough cut them.I also had no plain yogurt so I used BLUEBERRY yogurt instead OOPS.Still very good.This bread is also very moist when done.A great recipe for all those pears you don't know what to do with..Wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      Wonderful bread and the aroma is fantastic! I made 3 loaves, some mini loaves and some muffins as I had quite a few pears to use up. I omitted the nutmeg and increased the cinnamon as well as doubling the pears. This is delicious! I plan to give some to friends for the holidays in a gift basket of treats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      I really enjoyed this bread. I was looking for a way to use pears that were starting to turn, and this worked great. I will definately make again, but in the future I will add more nutmeg or some cinnamon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      This stuff is really good. I love the taste of the pear but unfortunately I only had one pear to use. Next time I'll use at least two. I barely had any vanilla left so I used half vanilla and half almond and DH and I loved the almond flavor. Next time I'd like to add some almond slices to the top. Thanks for the recipe Tonkcats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      This was a delicious and simple to make loaf! I used half whole wheat flour (and added a little more milk to make sure it wasn't too dry) and used brown sugar. Will make again - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

    • on October 26, 2008

      This was super! We woofed down 2 loaves before they were hardly cool! Yuuummmo and what a great way to use up a liitle too bruised to bite into pear! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      Everybody who tried this recipe loved it! The one complaint is that it is so good that they ate too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      Excellent! I added 1/4 t. cinnamon and used freshly ground nutmeg plus probably another 1/2 - 3/4 cup pear. It is moist and simply delicous. I was using up some of those wonderful Harry & David pears that all ripened at the same time and this was a great way to do it. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      This was nice but it was a bit bland so I think it'd be a good idea to use more spice. I used a lot more yogurt so it ended up tasting like a pear yogurt cake!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      Great! It was easy to make, and mine was moist. I followed recipe as directed. Thank you for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      FANTASTIC !!!! Little effort for outstanding taste! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Moist, tasty bread that is easy to make. I used yogurt and added 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I also didn't have enough pears, so I added 1 mashed banana. Made 3 mini-loaves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      Easy and tasty. I took this to a gathering and it was gone in less than 15 minutes. Everyone was raving. I did use 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/3 C buttermilk. ETA: I only got 1 standard size loaf from this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

      I wish i can honestly give more than 5 stars....IT is that good.My hubby and i never knew that we could make a bread out of pears.1 week down and its still moist.....very,very good..The only additions i made were that i addedd chocochips and walnuts....A WINNER.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pear Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (900 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 929.1
     
    Calories from Fat 318
    34%
    Total Fat 35.4 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 21.0 g
    105%
    Cholesterol 208.0 mg
    69%
    Sodium 1048.2 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 140.3 g
    46%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 73.3 g
    293%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites