Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pear and Walnut Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pear and Walnut Cake

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2004

      This cake is wonderful...very moist! We loved the pear/walnut combination and everyone asked for the resipe. Thanks again, Renee Ferraz for sharing this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2014

      This is not only any easy recipe to follow but the results are fantastic. You don't have to peel the pears, just core & cut into chunks!! <br/>I originally tried this recipe more than 30 years ago & was feeling traumatized when I lost 1/2 of the recipe (written on 2 index cards). Can't tell you have relieved I am to have found the exact recipe on Food.com....THANK YOU.<br/>To anyone who wants an easy, quick & satisfying desert, you can't go wrong with this one. Your friends & family will be surprised that you've used pears (people tend to think there is apple in the receipe I would gues because it is so sweet). Also, to add another layer of sweetness, I sprinkle powdered sugar on top. You can also make it in a bunt pan which gives it another 'layer of intrigue'.<br/>Enjoy! We do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Very tasty cake just the way it was written. So nice and moist. Will make again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      This is a great cake! Mine did not need the whole 55 minutes to bake, so I would suggest to start watching it at about 40 minutes? Also, based on previous ratings, I used a bit less nutmeg - maybe about 1/4 tsp. Otherwise I followed the directions and loved the result! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      This made a whopping big and moist cake. I had to add some chopped banana as well as my pears were only little but it all worked out well. And I too will add more walnuts next time, maybe even double the amount. I will freeze half this cake as it is big and I am sure it will freeze well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      This was very yummy! On the advice of a previous reviewer I reduced the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg, and had to substitute pecans for walnuts (though they are pretty much the same in taste anyway). The pear makes this a really moist cake and lovely flavour. Next time I might add a few more nuts but that didn't detract from how much I like it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      I thought the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg were a bit overwhelming.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      Moist and delicious way to use up some pears I had. Did have to use pecans when I discovered that I was out of walnuts. I will buy pears just to make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Easy and delicious cake. Followed the recipe exactly and was rewarded by a wonderfully moist and flavorful cake. I probably used about six smallish pears and chopped them coarsely for a rustic look. Mine took about 42 min. to bake but that could be my oven just check it after about 40 minutes. Smells devine while baking. Thank you for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      This cake is ABSOLUTELY Hai Chi {Delicious, as they say in Chinese!}. I just LOVED baking this because my house smelt as nice as the best Wonder Bakery in town would if this were baking in there;). Everyone who had a slice of this cake requested for the recipe. It's a very very good one!!! Thank you for posting it on Zaar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pear and Walnut Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 368.3
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    33%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 52.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 231.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.5 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 37.7 g
    151%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes