11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This cake is wonderful...very moist! We loved the pear/walnut combination and everyone asked for the resipe. Thanks again, Renee Ferraz for sharing this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot April 22, 2004

Lovely moist cake. Swapped nutmeg for ginger. I made toffee icing yumo. Was enjoyed so much im making it again this afternoon. Thanks Renee

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 09, 2015

This is not only any easy recipe to follow but the results are fantastic. You don't have to peel the pears, just core & cut into chunks!! <br/>I originally tried this recipe more than 30 years ago & was feeling traumatized when I lost 1/2 of the recipe (written on 2 index cards). Can't tell you have relieved I am to have found the exact recipe on Food.com....THANK YOU.<br/>To anyone who wants an easy, quick & satisfying desert, you can't go wrong with this one. Your friends & family will be surprised that you've used pears (people tend to think there is apple in the receipe I would gues because it is so sweet). Also, to add another layer of sweetness, I sprinkle powdered sugar on top. You can also make it in a bunt pan which gives it another 'layer of intrigue'.<br/>Enjoy! We do!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen S. October 24, 2014

Very tasty cake just the way it was written. So nice and moist. Will make again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn October 03, 2009

This is a great cake! Mine did not need the whole 55 minutes to bake, so I would suggest to start watching it at about 40 minutes? Also, based on previous ratings, I used a bit less nutmeg - maybe about 1/4 tsp. Otherwise I followed the directions and loved the result! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mmmama September 19, 2009

This made a whopping big and moist cake. I had to add some chopped banana as well as my pears were only little but it all worked out well. And I too will add more walnuts next time, maybe even double the amount. I will freeze half this cake as it is big and I am sure it will freeze well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew June 24, 2009

This was very yummy! On the advice of a previous reviewer I reduced the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg, and had to substitute pecans for walnuts (though they are pretty much the same in taste anyway). The pear makes this a really moist cake and lovely flavour. Next time I might add a few more nuts but that didn't detract from how much I like it. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooty_Cat March 20, 2009

I thought the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg were a bit overwhelming.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamadelogan September 10, 2008

Moist and delicious way to use up some pears I had. Did have to use pecans when I discovered that I was out of walnuts. I will buy pears just to make this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hokiegal November 01, 2007

Easy and delicious cake. Followed the recipe exactly and was rewarded by a wonderfully moist and flavorful cake. I probably used about six smallish pears and chopped them coarsely for a rustic look. Mine took about 42 min. to bake but that could be my oven just check it after about 40 minutes. Smells devine while baking. Thank you for this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria November 06, 2006
Pear and Walnut Cake