16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

At My Last Bake Sale, These Were a Hit ! Over 40 People bought At Least 2. We Collected $20 Off Of Them !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MiniBakerOfTexas January 11, 2013

I have tried many times to make a good cupcake from scratch and this one was a home run. Everyone raved about them. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msfarnum February 05, 2012

I just did a trial run of this recipe before I make them for DD's 2nd birthday party. They turned out great but I will do things a little differently next time.

For the truffles I will pour the mixture in a shallow square dish and after they harden, I will slice them into squares then cover them in cocoa powder. That way they will be more uniform in size and I won't have to get my hands messy making them into balls.

The batter was easy enough. I used Pero instead of coffee as we are not coffee drinkers. I was concerned by the extremely runny batter, but they eventually cooked. I pulled my cupcakes out after 25 minutes, but they could have used another minute or two.

The frosting was simple. I used mini semi sweet chocolate chips and they melted in no time. I like that the frosting isn't very sweet. A sweet butter cream would be too much for this cupcake.

I'm excited to serve them to our family at DD's birthday. We all love peanut butter and chocolate and I think they'll love the surprise inside!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babybub October 13, 2010

5 Stars for a tasty surprise in the middle of the cupcake, but only 2 stars for preparing the truffles. 15 minutes in the fridge wasn't long enough to firm up the truffles so I waited about an hour. When I finally got to roll them into balls,they literally melted in my hands while forming them. It was a messy disaster. I've made plenty of truffles in the past and they've never melted in my hands like this before. 1 Star for the icing as written. It was way too bitter. I actually had to double check the box to make sure I didn't buy Bitter-Sweet inadvertantly. It was Semi-Sweet. I was able to salvage the icing tho and turn it into a chocolate buttercream icing instead. I basically added shortening and powdered sugar and whipped until light and fluffy. Before, I couldn't even taste the PB, but once I converted it to a BC, the chocolate taste wasn't overpowering and you could actually taste the peanut butter. YUMMY! Your chocolate cake recipe is very similar to my chocolate cake recipe so I used mine instead. I LOVED bitting into the cake and having the PB truffle in the center. It was quite delicious. My husband didn't care for them, but my co-workers seemed to like them a lot. I will make again, but with some adjustments. Next time, I may just use my regular truffle recipe and a ganache recipe that isn't so bitter. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixyinaz August 31, 2010

Wow!!! These are really really delicious and look beautiful! I made them for a party I was hosting last night- and everyone was raving about them. I had to hide two so that I would have a chance to enjoy them myself :). These are not complicated to make- just be careful not to leave the frosting in the fridge for too long- mine turned hard- and I had to let it sit out for a few hours before I could use it. The glaze was still a little too stiff to spread on so I piped it on the cupcake with a piping bag- they really looked beautiful! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hannahbirdie June 07, 2010

I love cupcakes and I have to tell you these are now my favorite! They taste as good as they look in the picture too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KCHomeCook February 22, 2010

yummy! i made 4 different cupcakes today and these were my FAVORITE! i was worried the truffles would sink to the bottom and burn a bit. nope. just right. i didn't have any coffee so i just added some milk (with a little hershey's syrup). the frosting is super yummy too! i wanted to bake another batch of these (yes even after baking 6 dozen other cupcakes) but my husband wouldn't let me. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jetta_mel January 16, 2010

Lights! Camera! Action! Smile pretty. Made for Everyday Is A Holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng September 17, 2009

DS couldn't leave these alone. They went over like gangbusters at his birthday party! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherylsprague68 March 30, 2009
Peanut Butter Truffle Cupcakes