Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peanut Butter Protein Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peanut Butter Protein Bars

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2009

      I added extra honey per another commenter and the taste is WAY better than store bought protein bars. WAY better! And SO easy! I made these for my boyfriend to save some money since protein bars are ridiculously expensive. He said they were as good as the protein bars he buys. I only made half a batch and used a bread pan to spread them in so they'd be thick enough. My only comment otherwise is for those looking for a 20+ gram serving of protein: Per the protein powder mix nutrient info, to consume a sufficient amount of protein,we will cut the bars into eight servings since each bar contains about half a scoop of protein powder and my body building boyfriend thinks a serving should be at least 20 grams.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Love, love, love these! What a great recipe. The perfect mid-afternoon snack with a glass of water. I added sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, raisins and cinnamon. It's a recipe you can adjust however you like. Thank you for a wonderful recipe...I will make this all of the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      This is a great recipe, both for taste and ease of making. I have just finished making my third batch, and have tinkered with the recipe each time...it lends itself well to variations. I love the combination of chocolate with nuts, so I have added 1/4 cup of sifted cocoa powder to the vanilla whey, and added 4 packets of Equal to sweeten the cocoa. I also toasted the oatmeal for about 8 minutes at 350F to enhance the flavour prior to adding it to the liquids. This mix required about another 1/3 cup of milk, probably because of the cocoa. Because my daughter has a peanut allergy, I used crunchy almond butter, and added a capful of almond extract to the milk. My family like this version of the power bars best, but there is great scope to make different flavours every time, using this recipe as a base. My advice is to refrigerate the bars if they won't be eaten in a short time...my first batch went mouldy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2014

      Yes they taste great. However more fat than protein equals FAT bars. 2 cups peanut butter (low fat peanut butter isn't really that much lower) and only 1 1/2 cup protein powder. Rename the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2013

      Thanks PMS24seven for this recipe. I'll probably never eat another store-bought protein bar again. After reading the reviews, added 1 2/3 cup crunchy peanut butter, 1/4 cup local honey, 1 cup toasted coconut, 1 cup toasted pecans, 3/4 cup dried cherries, and 1/4 cup toasted sesame seeds. Also decided to bake them on parchment-lined 9x13 pan and baked 350 degrees for 30 minutes till set. They turned out super delicious and even took some to the gym. All who tried them loved the taste and remarked how filling the bars were compared to store-bought ones. I have made them varying the dried fruit, nuts. Even made for a friend with soy/oatmeal allergy and used a plant protein powder and substituted finely crushed graham crackers for the oatmeal. Those also came out great. I did make a batch just pressing in the pan per the recipe, but didn't really set up well. So after that I always bake them. Try them, they're GREAT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      These are so easy and quick to make. I used chocolate whey powder (4 scoops), JIF Natural crunch PB and 1% milk. The nutrional info for these are 161 calories, 8.8 g fat, 11/4 g carbs (2.2 fiber), 11 g protein. We just tasted the them and they were very crumbly. My son thought doubling the honey sounded like a good idea and his friend though adding crushed peanuts would be good. If my son eats them, I will make them again. I think they are an easy way to add protein to his breakfast before he rushes off to school.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      I have a hard time calling these "bars". They were very mushy and clumpy without baking. I did bake them for 10 minutes and they were a little better. They don't taste very good but then again they are pretty healthy so that's probably to be expected.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      did these last night and they came out amazing. I used soy milk instead and added some flax and pumkin seed mix too. I am going to make some more and add some cranberries or soft dried fruit as they have all gone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      Very yummy! I used a chocolate whey & casien protein powder (fast & slow digesting proteins) and we all like it! My 7 & 5 year love it! Score!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      I made these bars as a higher protein snack alternative for my son with ADHD. He loves them, so that is a great testimony to the bars being appealing for kids, who don't care about a food's health benefits! I followed the recipe, except for adding a bit more honey for sweetness. ***One note, however - the recipe states the bars do not need to be refrigerated. I live in Mississippi, so we are a more humid area than some, but I had my bars in a container in the pantry and they molded within a week. The next time I made them, I flash-froze the separated bars on a cookie sheet. I then put each bar into its own sandwich bag for grab-and-go ease, and put all of those bags into a gallon-size freezer bag to keep in the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2011

      Good recipe. I added dried pomegranates, chia seed, and wheat germ and substituted almond milk to make them even healthier. I melted pb and milk and then added it to the rest of ingredients since I was using quick cooking oats. Pressed them in a 10 x 10 pan lined with wax paper and put them in the freezer. Cut into bars and put in refrigerator. Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      Love these bars! I cut the recipe in half and pressed it into a 8 x 8 pan. I used just under 3/4 cup chocolate protein powder, natural peanut butter, and added more milk. It could have been a bit sweeter, so I'd add some stevia next time. The extra milk made the mix easier to stir, but afterwards the bars became difficult to cut and separate, as they were too sticky and soft. I put them in the fridge for a while and that helped. I love peanut butter and chocolate, so these were fantastic protein bars. I'll be sure to make these again, adjusting the sweetness and moisture accordingly. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      This was great! I made a few substitions...I used chocolate hazelnut milk in place of the skim milk and I used chunky peanut butter. These are awesome!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      These are good! I made mine with Nutella in place of PB and Agave in place of Honey. My husband couldn't stop eating them! I made 12 bars at 160 cal each, 5gm fat, 12 gm protein plus close to 2gm of fiber.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Excellent! These bars are easy to make and turned out perfect for me, even though I cut the recipe in half. Much better than overly-sweet, expensive store-bought versions. Great protein/carbs/calories balance too! Note that zaar's Nutritional Analysis doesn't include the protein powder -- judging from the label on my protein powder, it adds about 3-4 grams additional protein per serving. Make sure you use a (non-sugar) sweetened protein powder. I added chopped dried apricots to my first batch, and am excited to try more variations (sunflower seeds, chopped dark chocolate, macadamia nuts...mmm)! I don't think I'll be buying many more protein bars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      I made these for my husband, who wants more protein in his diet. Having tried protein bars from the grocery store, I really wasn't expecting much. These were much tastier than I thought they would be! I did double the honey per some of the other reviews. They are a bit bland, but a great base for a protein bar. I was afraid adding dried fruit or spices wouldn't taste right with the peanut butter, but now that I've tried the recipe as is, and I know that the peanut butter flavor isn't overwhelming, I will add things in to my little heart's content. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      These weren't bad. I added more honey to the tops because they weren't very sweet. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      I reallt hate to bring the rating down but these just didn't work for me. They barely spread over a 13 x 9 pan and when they did they were sooo thin. Also, they never really set so instead of being like a bar they were kind of like crumbles. I'm not quite sure what went wrong but it simply didn't work for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      I loved this! I've made this several times already with different variations-nuts, dried fruit, cinnamon, almond extract, etc. I press them in muffin tins for individual portions and freeze them-they hold together much better. Very versatile, easy (almost no cook), and yummy and healthy as well! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      much like the kid recipe only with added protein :) They looked and smelled good even though I modified it to ingredients I had on hand. Thanks these are much needed energy food for my hubby :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peanut Butter Protein Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (564 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 140.3
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    56%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    protein powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes