12 Reviews

Classic crumbly peanut butter cookies with a touch of chocolate, delicious. I misread the recipe and did the refrigerating step out of order, next time (and there will be one) I will be more careful :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos July 31, 2011

These are a great cookie with a nice twist with the flavor and so cute on a plate with the swirls. You are so right about chilling the dough and I also used CoffeeB's tip of having a cup of hot water nearby for the knife - it all made things run smoothly! Only slight change was to use smooth peanut butter instead of chunky. Cookies have a nice soft texture. I think next time I'll use butter in place of the shortening just as a personal preference. Thanks for sharing. Made for the Went To the Market tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom February 18, 2010

Oh...these are a lovely cookie to make and eat Syd. And actually considering I didn't have to scoop these out cookie style, they take relatively no time at all to make/bake. Very important to remember to chill the dough. I did so for 45 minutes and then also took the advice of a previous reviewer and kept a glass of hot water handy to dip my knife into for slicing ease. I used smooth peanut butter in the ingredients and also real butter per preference. A great addition for holidaytrays.!~ Made for ZaarStars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB July 16, 2009

These are delicious, the taste is way better than storebought pinwheel cookies. It's not the smooth type of batter cookies (coarse mix),molded it using a silicone mat so it was a bit easy to roll but I had difficulty in cutting it especially when the chocolate hardened upon refrigeration so it didn't look nice much. But DH said it's the taste that matters and it's so good. At least next time I'd know better when I make these again. Thanks! Made for Aus Recipe Swap #26.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma March 21, 2009

I made these and melted Dove milk chocolates to use instead of the chocolate chips. It was a great tasting cookie, and made lots of cookies, so I had some to give to my DS. I may use plain peanut butter next time and then add a layer of finely chopped walnuts, almonds or pecans to the chocolate layer before rolling up. We loved these and I plan to put them on my cookie trays for the holidays next year! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Sidney Mike! Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game 1/09 Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen January 12, 2009

The important thing when making these cookies is to make sure you chill the dough good before cutting, and make sure you have a nice sharp knife to cut them with. I filled a glass with hot water and dipped my knife before I cut each cookie. It helped to make a nice smooth cut. We loved these! Next time I am going to add in some finely chopped walnuts and use plain peanut butter instead of the chunky. I bet they will be awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Angie** January 08, 2009

Now these are great tasting cookies. Very tasty, but I had a little troble rolling them . I think it was something I did. I made the entire 4 dozen, and thease are one of the best cookies that I have had. Made for Potluck tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker December 17, 2008

Nice Peanut Butter cookies with the chocolate swirl!!! I did find it hard to work with as it is so soft of a dough, but still managed to be successful, just not real nice swirl. I baked 1/2 dozen today for a sample and for rating, the rest will wait till closer to Christmas. Next time I will lower the temp of my oven to 350, as the bottoms got too browned at min baking time, but not a fault of the recipe just my oven. Thanks for sharing. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 December 14, 2008

I doubled the recipe and followed it except for melting the chocolate. I was in a bit of a hurry so used mini-chocolate chips. I sprinkled lots over the rolled out dough and rolled them up thinking it would creat a pretty pattern. It just created a look like chocolate chip cookies - but my kids don't care. They LOVED these! I will be making these again. Next time I won't be in such a rush and actually melt the chocolate. Made as a pressie for the December Aussie/NZ recipe swap 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast December 11, 2008

Really good and easy recipe for pinwheel cookes. The dough is on the soft side and very easy to roll out. I rolled the dough out on a sheet of wax paper and then used the wax paper to help roll the dough into a tight jelly-roll. I let the dough sit in the refrigerator for about 40 minutes. I baked them on silicone cookie sheets and they were very easy to remove. I took them to a Christmas party at work and they were enjoyed by all. Made for December, 2008 Aussie/NZ Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 December 10, 2008
Peanut Butter Pinwheel Cookies