18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a classic. My grandmother and great grandmother started eating these sandwiches at least 70 years ago. They used sweet sliced bread and butter pickles on the sandwich. This recipe has been passed on for generations. I know of at least 5 generations who have enjoyed this. Thanks for posting such a simple recipe for others to enjoy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountainbaby September 20, 2012

Okay step #5 should be devour your sandwich and then clean up the kitchen! Outside of that I followed the instructions completely but did add peanut butter to both sides of the bread and put pickles in the middle! My mom used to make me this sandwich when I was in elementary school and I still enjoy them today on occasion. It was fun finding this posted recipe during Help a Naked Recipe event in the Photo Forum. Thanks Charlotte for the memories and yummy lunch! No kid needed this time - I did it all by myself!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom September 19, 2012

These are great ! I've been making and eating them foe years. I also like peanut butter and cucumber slices.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Roly-Poly June 20, 2010

I'm thrilled to see this on here. I've eaten these since I can remember and I don't even know what made me start. My husband thinks I'm crazy for loving these and won't even try them. I'm so glad to know I'm not the only one who enjoys this weird combination!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Sara~ June 04, 2010

I LOVE These to this day, I will have them at least once a month, and I am knocking on 50's door!!1 lol... and people think I am weird.... I like smooth Kraft PB and thickly sliced Dill pickles without garlic....nummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marmie's August 28, 2009

Oh wow...you have no idea how happy I was to see this and read all the positive comments! I am the youngest of 3 and we all have eaten this since childhood. Instead of sandwiches, we ate it for breakffast on toaster waffles. Having the peanut butter warm makes it sooo good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vkolba August 11, 2009

Wow! I thought my family was the only family on Earth to eat these. The peanut butter must be cruchy, pickles have to be dill. We also add mayo to the sandwich. My uncle came up with this sandwich while he was in college in the late 60's and had very little money. For those that doubt how tasty this is, "Try it".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mizz Sha-REE September 04, 2008

You know, I have to rate it 5 stars because the thought of it made me cringe. (i don't have kids, and I know this is a kids' recipe...but I have nieces and nephews and I'm always looking to make them things they can eat when they come over!)I still tried it...2 tbsp. peanut butter and some hamburger dill slices on 2 slices of white bread.... I'm a person who is not finicky normally, but definitely doesn't like sweet mixed with sour. 5 stars, for sure, for giving me way beyond what I expected. Shame on me.! :O

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyc42 June 20, 2008

This is my absolute favorite sandwich! I find it's best when you toast the bread. Then the peanut butter is warm, melty, and sweet giving great contrast to the cool saltiness of the pickles. Thank you oh so much for posting my perfect comfort food!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamoBway March 13, 2008

Ok, look...I know I really don't need the recipe since I am an old hand at peanut butter and pickle sandwiches...But I really would like people to try it before they snicker and turn up their noses at it. Excellent taste, simple snack. Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PetesNina January 20, 2008
Peanut Butter & Pickles (Step by Step 4 Kids)