Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peanut Butter & Pickles (Step by Step 4 Kids) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peanut Butter & Pickles (Step by Step 4 Kids)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2012

      This is a classic. My grandmother and great grandmother started eating these sandwiches at least 70 years ago. They used sweet sliced bread and butter pickles on the sandwich. This recipe has been passed on for generations. I know of at least 5 generations who have enjoyed this. Thanks for posting such a simple recipe for others to enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      Okay step #5 should be devour your sandwich and then clean up the kitchen! Outside of that I followed the instructions completely but did add peanut butter to both sides of the bread and put pickles in the middle! My mom used to make me this sandwich when I was in elementary school and I still enjoy them today on occasion. It was fun finding this posted recipe during Help a Naked Recipe event in the Photo Forum. Thanks Charlotte for the memories and yummy lunch! No kid needed this time - I did it all by myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      These are great ! I've been making and eating them foe years. I also like peanut butter and cucumber slices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      I'm thrilled to see this on here. I've eaten these since I can remember and I don't even know what made me start. My husband thinks I'm crazy for loving these and won't even try them. I'm so glad to know I'm not the only one who enjoys this weird combination!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      I LOVE These to this day, I will have them at least once a month, and I am knocking on 50's door!!1 lol... and people think I am weird.... I like smooth Kraft PB and thickly sliced Dill pickles without garlic....nummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      Oh wow...you have no idea how happy I was to see this and read all the positive comments! I am the youngest of 3 and we all have eaten this since childhood. Instead of sandwiches, we ate it for breakffast on toaster waffles. Having the peanut butter warm makes it sooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      Wow! I thought my family was the only family on Earth to eat these. The peanut butter must be cruchy, pickles have to be dill. We also add mayo to the sandwich. My uncle came up with this sandwich while he was in college in the late 60's and had very little money. For those that doubt how tasty this is, "Try it".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      You know, I have to rate it 5 stars because the thought of it made me cringe. (i don't have kids, and I know this is a kids' recipe...but I have nieces and nephews and I'm always looking to make them things they can eat when they come over!)I still tried it...2 tbsp. peanut butter and some hamburger dill slices on 2 slices of white bread.... I'm a person who is not finicky normally, but definitely doesn't like sweet mixed with sour. 5 stars, for sure, for giving me way beyond what I expected. Shame on me.! :O

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      This is my absolute favorite sandwich! I find it's best when you toast the bread. Then the peanut butter is warm, melty, and sweet giving great contrast to the cool saltiness of the pickles. Thank you oh so much for posting my perfect comfort food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Ok, look...I know I really don't need the recipe since I am an old hand at peanut butter and pickle sandwiches...But I really would like people to try it before they snicker and turn up their noses at it. Excellent taste, simple snack. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      I had to try it because I love peanut butter and was intrigued - and I liked it. My pre-schooler tried it and liked it, too. My husband and toddler tried it but I'm not sure they'll eat it often. I told my parents about it and they asked me if I was pregnant :P (No, just liked trying a new sandwich :) Interesting and a nice change of pace for a peanut butter sandwich. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      This was a good idea to try. I like unusual things most of the time. I liked this but its not something that will become a "favorite".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      I have to laugh...never in my wildest dreams would I dream of finding a childhood favorite on the internet! :) I grew up on these and still love them. I have a hard time convincing my kids though. I have always had my sandwiches with peanut butter, mayo and pickles. Cuz that's how my dad ate his...and his dad...etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      OK, I think I might have to convince my tastebuds. What a cute presentation Charlotte! :) I have never tried this combo before, but have heard of it, as wella s pb and onions. Never tried either before. If you like odd types of pickle-containing sandwiches, I have a yummy one posted. I will try this someday soon, and let ya know how I did, lol. :) Update time! Guess what I had for lunch today? I had some white kaiser rolls I needed to use, so I started out with a half-size sandwich. I'm going to make up the other half of the roll in a minute, or 30 seconds, however long it takes me to eat this half. Oh, and I didn't clean up first, lol! Thanks Charlotte, for a fun and tasty new sandwich for me. :) I also used creamy Jif and dill pickle sandwich stackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      I love dill pickles and peanut butter. In Girl Scouts, instead of bread we used lettuce leaves. We would spread the PB on the leaves and roll the pickle up in it. We called them a Walking Salad. When I was dating my husband he would hide the peanut butter from me, the thought of pickles and PB did not sound appealing to him. Try it, you'll like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      I've been a peanut butter and pickle fan since childhood -- Bick's dill pickles are best. My husband used to tease me about the combination until I sneaked a few sandwiches in his lunch box about 25 years ago. Since then he's been a believer, too. This is also great on thin crackers such as Kavli or Cruskits. Thanks for confirming that this is a real recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      Love peanut butter and pickle sandwiches! Has to be dill pickles though, no sweet ones. I put quite a bit of peanut butter on white bread and then load on sliced pickles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      WOW I am amazed that someone has a recipe for this. A family favorite has always been to spread a dill pickle with peanut butter. Everytime I mention it to someone they ask are you pregnant. LOL I'm thinking it might be a flavor that you have to be raised on, but I always dare someone to try it :) One thing I always tell people is don't use any special pickle just a plain ol whole dill cut in half and spread on the peanut butter. Makes a salty sour taste that I think I need to go and have one right now. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peanut Butter & Pickles (Step by Step 4 Kids)

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 321.1
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    49%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 402.3 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes