50 Reviews

The colors taste awesome, but mine didn't set. I will take Lady Clare's advice and let the mixture cook longer next time, but she didn't need to be as rude as she was in handing out that advice. It's not our faults if we didn't know that beforehand... how would we know that?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merideth.riffe July 04, 2015

love love love so good and easy :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brynn.shafer June 11, 2015

These were gooey and peanut buttery but didn't hold together texturally for me. However, I think it was my mistake. When reading through previous reviewers' recommendations, I heeded their advice and added 1/4 cup more oats, reduced the amount of brown sugar to 1 cup and increased the boiling time to 3 minutes. Sometimes other reviewers can be wrong, and I think that was the case here. All is well, though, because I was able to "save" the cookie "batter" by pressing it into a small, buttered cake pan and cutting into cookie bars instead of individual mounded cookies. I also added 1/2 tsp. of sea salt, as I thought it would compliment the sweetness level. Same as other reviewers, I did find the recipe a bit difficult to interpret. The brown sugar did not indicate whether it was supposed to be packed or loose, so I packed it. This is probably why other reviewers, who used the full amount of brown sugar, said the cookies were too sweet. Also, I found it much easier to incorporate the peanut butter and vanilla into the boiled mixture just before pouring into the dry oats, as I was afraid the peanut butter wouldn't incorporate properly. All in all, this recipe was definitely enjoyed--even if it didn't turn out exactly as I imagined. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe August 01, 2014

I used half brown sugar and half white sugar and I used almond butter instead of peanut butter! Great for the holidays or just any time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
criddle845 December 16, 2013

My only complaint is, that it didn't make enough with just one batch!! Thank you for our new fav cookie! ( I did let it boil longer than 1 min, just to make sure it set)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbenjamin5 September 23, 2013

For anyone who is having trouble with them setting - forget the brown sugar and use white sugar. I have found that if I use brown sugar I have to leave them sitting for at least a day before they will harden. I don't have the same issue if I use white sugar. My mother made these when I was growing up and we called them "Candy Cookies"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ancientangel April 25, 2013

I was looking for a recipe that had no eggs and no chocolate and was so excited to try this! I halved the recipe, because I did not have enough brown sugar and I used almondcoconut milk instead. I also added walnuts and raisins, so yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjnmaxmom09 March 15, 2013

Halve the sugar. Increase the oats by 1/4 to 1/2 cup. Boil the milk, butter and sugar for 2-4 minutes. White sugar works too, but will produce a more crumbly cookie. Use a tablespoon to place heaping spoonfuls on parchment paper. Cool completely at room temperature. I used soy milk and added 1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds for an added crunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jakesinatra February 18, 2013

LOVED THESE. made them for the kids and they adored them. I originally wanted to make chocolate ones but ran out of cocoa powder, so i found this recipe. After starting it i realized i had hot cocoa mix and hot fudge. so when boiling ingredients, i added one tablespoon of hot fudge and one pack of hot cocoa mix. they turned out wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evaeckstein July 08, 2011

I made these cookies yesterday after reading all the reviews, Only thing I changed was I added one more cup of oatmeal and they were just awsome cookies. I also lined a square pan with plastic wrap , spread it in the pan and cut them into bars... They are yummy !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PEACHESPIE July 02, 2011
Peanut Butter Oatmeal No Bake Cookies