44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good. I didn't have any vanilla and I added pecans and raisins and me and my daughter love them. I could stand a little bit fuller flavor, maybe next time I will add alittle bit more peanut butter. I also waited until the end to add my peanut butter. Much easier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smileyk28 December 24, 2008

Excellent recipe! I used coconut milk in place of regular and reduced the brown sugar by half. Still tastes great! I may have to refrigerate them to get them to set, but that's okay by me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
of-the-meadow September 04, 2008

AWSOME recipe,, I made this recipe with cocoa crispies.. Thanx for sharing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tinkerbellx May 18, 2008

Delicious cookies! Like other reviewers, I only used about half the sugar called for. I did add 2 more tablespoons of peanut butter and some hot chocolate mix (mainly cocoa). My only complaint is that they didn't set up well. They're tasty, but very squishy. I'm thinking if I add more oatmeal next time, that'll correct the problem.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spectatrix April 09, 2008

I experimented a little after reading the other reviews. I used dark brown sugar and soy milk instead of milk. The first batch, I used 1/4 of the amount of sugar. The result was just basically pb-covered oats, but they still tasted good. The next batch had 1/2 the amount of sugar from the recipe. I think at least 1/2 the amount of sugar is necessary for the right consistency and texture, but I just can't imagine using the full amount of sugar. A nice change from the chocolate version of these cookies. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissLinguist February 05, 2008

Just plain excellent!! I made these sugar free by using only 1 c. of xylitol. Turned out just perfect! Using xylitol they will take alittle longer to set up, but the taste was excellent. These are going to be made again and again. I love em!!! Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michEgan March 21, 2006

These were gooey and peanut buttery but didn't hold together texturally for me. However, I think it was my mistake. When reading through previous reviewers' recommendations, I heeded their advice and added 1/4 cup more oats, reduced the amount of brown sugar to 1 cup and increased the boiling time to 3 minutes. Sometimes other reviewers can be wrong, and I think that was the case here. All is well, though, because I was able to "save" the cookie "batter" by pressing it into a small, buttered cake pan and cutting into cookie bars instead of individual mounded cookies. I also added 1/2 tsp. of sea salt, as I thought it would compliment the sweetness level. Same as other reviewers, I did find the recipe a bit difficult to interpret. The brown sugar did not indicate whether it was supposed to be packed or loose, so I packed it. This is probably why other reviewers, who used the full amount of brown sugar, said the cookies were too sweet. Also, I found it much easier to incorporate the peanut butter and vanilla into the boiled mixture just before pouring into the dry oats, as I was afraid the peanut butter wouldn't incorporate properly. All in all, this recipe was definitely enjoyed--even if it didn't turn out exactly as I imagined. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarthaStewartWanabe August 01, 2014

I used half brown sugar and half white sugar and I used almond butter instead of peanut butter! Great for the holidays or just any time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
criddle845 December 16, 2013

My only complaint is, that it didn't make enough with just one batch!! Thank you for our new fav cookie! ( I did let it boil longer than 1 min, just to make sure it set)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbenjamin5 September 23, 2013

For anyone who is having trouble with them setting - forget the brown sugar and use white sugar. I have found that if I use brown sugar I have to leave them sitting for at least a day before they will harden. I don't have the same issue if I use white sugar. My mother made these when I was growing up and we called them "Candy Cookies"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ancientangel April 25, 2013
Peanut Butter Oatmeal No Bake Cookies