44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am not leaving any starrs because I just wanted to add, for those that say the cookies aren't setting and then giving a low rating: That is because you aren't cooking them long enough. Depending on your location, sometimes that minute needs to be longer. If you have trouble the first time, it just means next time, cook longer before adding to the oats! It is the same with any unbaked cookie. It's not the recipe, it's that you didn't cook it long enough!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lady Clare April 12, 2009

I was looking for a non-chocolate no bake oatmeal cookie, here it is! I made this as written, simple to stir up. (Tip: 5 Tbsp is almost exactly 1/3 cup.) They had a good flavor but were too sweet. As noted, they needed more oatmeal as well. Next time I'll 1) cut the sugar in half like some other reviewers did, 2) boil for an extra minute so they set a little firmer 3) add the pb and vanilla to the pot after the mixture is done boiling, then stir in the oatmeal to make it a 1 pot recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
space cadet May 18, 2008

We are big fans of gooey no bake cookies. However only cooking for 1 minute isn't long enough. So cook them another minute or two and they will be fine. But they are a great tasting cookie and will definately make again. So what if this batch is too gooey, like none of us ever ate a cookie standing over the kitchen sink before. PS. I too cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam's Mom February 16, 2010

Butter, milk and brown sugar should be boiled at least 3 minutes- otherwise you'll end up with goop.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
intellectualizing February 10, 2010

These smell and taste great but I could not get them to set (and yes, I boiled the mixture for at least one minute). I let them cool for over an hour, then put them in an oven at 325 for 8 minutes. Still goopy. I've wasted half a can of oatmeal. Quite disappointed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mystere2e January 03, 2010

Made these today and it is wife who is rating them since I DO NOT LIKE peanut butter. Both DW and DD says these are very tasty. I will say that they are very easy to make. Thanks for helping me keep the family happy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim December 12, 2009

These were great! Didnt realise it was a no bake recipe as i was just looking for one without egg as i didnt have any in the fridge! i baked them for about 8 mins per tray just till they had browned, they turned out great!! Might add some choc chips next time.... Must add though, that they were a little sweet might cut out half a cup of sugar next time?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annikaflounders September 12, 2009

These were OK. I ended up having to put in a lot more oatmeal and wished I had put in far less sugar. Once they were "somewhat" set, (not even close to what was pictured... very runny still) I felt they still needed something. I stuck a bunch of chocolate chips in to give some more texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JamieLynn+3 July 17, 2009

I love no bake cookies in the summer but I can't have chocolate now. This was the perfect alternative, my husband likes them as well- we don't even miss the chocolate :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smilesalot June 22, 2009

I halved the recipe and made 14 full sized cookies. I loved how quick and easy it was to put together but the note about more oatmeal possibly being needed threw me. The recipe doesn't say what the texture should be so I didn't know if more oatmeal would be needed or not. I added some extra (1/2c) but I think it was too much, especially after seeing the number of cookies that came out. I boiled it for two minutes (in Ca) and they set up well but the flavor was pretty bland. I think some chocolate chips, dried fruit or nuts could save it next time so I will try it again and change my rating. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Motivated Mama May 24, 2009
Peanut Butter Oatmeal No Bake Cookies