21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Baked these this afternoon for DH, he loves them, his favourite flavour, also loves peanut butter cookies. The only thing I did different was to pour the chocolate chips on the hot bars as soon as I took them out of the oven and spread them as they melted on the hot bars. Saves another dirty pot. I had one bite and they are very good! He's already asking to make them often. Thanks for sharing. January 20 ,2007 , very good this time I made them with the chocolate inside, very good this way, infact DH likes them better this way. thanks again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf January 20, 2007

I am a peanut butter freak, so I made these to take to work for my birthday. These are great! I used crunchy peanut butter, and instead of melting the chips in a separate bowl, I put the chips on the bars after they had baked, then popped the pan back in the oven for a few minutes and spread them after they had melted. I did have to bake the bars about 10 minutes longer than the recipe states, as the center was still quite gooey. I might try adding another 1/4 cup of flour or oats next time to see if that might help them set up better. Other than that, these are extremely yummy and I will make them again (and I'm not waiting until my next birthday to do it!!). Thanks for posting! -M :-)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Scheffert June 20, 2003

These are very good bars. I was a little confused on the pan size...I haven't seen an 11x13 pan. I have both 9x11 and 11x17. I used the 9x11 and had to bake them almost twice the time indicated. But, they turned out great after adjusting the baking time. The kids have just about polished off the bars and are requesting that I make them again "tomorrow". A tasty way to eat your oatmeal! Thanks.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy13 May 02, 2003

Fast, easy and great flavor! Our department decided (yesterday) to have a snack day today. I saw this recipe yesterday and knew I had all the ingredients, so I thought I would give it a try. The only problem I had was that I didn't have any butter softened. I cheated and melted it. It still worked. I'm not sure if my version turned out the way it should, but it seems fine to me. Everyone who has tried it has liked it, so I have another recipe I can add to my "keeper" list. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PhylPhyl November 26, 2003

I give these 5 stars for the taste - they are very delicious! But the instructions should be changed to show a much longer bake time. They were very underdone at 20 minutes, so I had to bake them twice as long (just like the other reviewers). Perhaps these should be baked in a jelly-roll style pan or maybe the bake time should be adjusted!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 September 14, 2003

Magnificent! I made the recipe exactly as stated, but I, too, had to bake for at least 10-15 minutes more than was suggested in order for them to be fully cooked. Took everyone's advice and just sprinkled the chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate) after baking and then spread when they melted after a few moments. Very easy to make and a definite hit with all family members. Thanks for a great bar!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love2Eat August 06, 2003

Very delicious; I was asked for the recipe!
I cut back the butter to 1 3/4 cup, which seemed fine; nice, dense bar. Although, after 3 days they were pretty dry and crumbly. The chocolate on top made sure they were still yummy, but I would refrigerate after 24 hours, I think, to maintain freshness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn July 20, 2012

I cut the recipe in half, baking in a square pan. I ended up with a sinkhole center. The bars tested done, so I'm not sure what the problem was. They were not attractive enough to serve to company. That aside, the recipe wasn't really all that tasty, and I wouldn't make them again. I didn't dislike them, but there was no wow factor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki #4 April 12, 2009

Yum! I've made these twice and they turned out great! I did halve the recipe, and did the half/half chip thing (the tip to let them melt on top works great). Also have subbed 50% whole wheat pastry flour with no problems. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breadnerd March 19, 2009

These are sooooo yummy! I made half a recipe and baked in a 9x9 pan. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 butter flavored crisco. I used all the chocolate chips though - half in the batter and added half on top about 10 minutes before they came out and then spread them over. Thank you for posting! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady May 28, 2007
Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars