Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2007

      Baked these this afternoon for DH, he loves them, his favourite flavour, also loves peanut butter cookies. The only thing I did different was to pour the chocolate chips on the hot bars as soon as I took them out of the oven and spread them as they melted on the hot bars. Saves another dirty pot. I had one bite and they are very good! He's already asking to make them often. Thanks for sharing. January 20 ,2007 , very good this time I made them with the chocolate inside, very good this way, infact DH likes them better this way. thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2003

      I am a peanut butter freak, so I made these to take to work for my birthday. These are great! I used crunchy peanut butter, and instead of melting the chips in a separate bowl, I put the chips on the bars after they had baked, then popped the pan back in the oven for a few minutes and spread them after they had melted. I did have to bake the bars about 10 minutes longer than the recipe states, as the center was still quite gooey. I might try adding another 1/4 cup of flour or oats next time to see if that might help them set up better. Other than that, these are extremely yummy and I will make them again (and I'm not waiting until my next birthday to do it!!). Thanks for posting! -M :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2003

      These are very good bars. I was a little confused on the pan size...I haven't seen an 11x13 pan. I have both 9x11 and 11x17. I used the 9x11 and had to bake them almost twice the time indicated. But, they turned out great after adjusting the baking time. The kids have just about polished off the bars and are requesting that I make them again "tomorrow". A tasty way to eat your oatmeal! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2003

      Fast, easy and great flavor! Our department decided (yesterday) to have a snack day today. I saw this recipe yesterday and knew I had all the ingredients, so I thought I would give it a try. The only problem I had was that I didn't have any butter softened. I cheated and melted it. It still worked. I'm not sure if my version turned out the way it should, but it seems fine to me. Everyone who has tried it has liked it, so I have another recipe I can add to my "keeper" list. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2003

      I give these 5 stars for the taste - they are very delicious! But the instructions should be changed to show a much longer bake time. They were very underdone at 20 minutes, so I had to bake them twice as long (just like the other reviewers). Perhaps these should be baked in a jelly-roll style pan or maybe the bake time should be adjusted!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2003

      Magnificent! I made the recipe exactly as stated, but I, too, had to bake for at least 10-15 minutes more than was suggested in order for them to be fully cooked. Took everyone's advice and just sprinkled the chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate) after baking and then spread when they melted after a few moments. Very easy to make and a definite hit with all family members. Thanks for a great bar!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      Very delicious; I was asked for the recipe!
      I cut back the butter to 1 3/4 cup, which seemed fine; nice, dense bar. Although, after 3 days they were pretty dry and crumbly. The chocolate on top made sure they were still yummy, but I would refrigerate after 24 hours, I think, to maintain freshness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      I cut the recipe in half, baking in a square pan. I ended up with a sinkhole center. The bars tested done, so I'm not sure what the problem was. They were not attractive enough to serve to company. That aside, the recipe wasn't really all that tasty, and I wouldn't make them again. I didn't dislike them, but there was no wow factor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Yum! I've made these twice and they turned out great! I did halve the recipe, and did the half/half chip thing (the tip to let them melt on top works great). Also have subbed 50% whole wheat pastry flour with no problems. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      These are sooooo yummy! I made half a recipe and baked in a 9x9 pan. I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 butter flavored crisco. I used all the chocolate chips though - half in the batter and added half on top about 10 minutes before they came out and then spread them over. Thank you for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Maybe it was just us but we did not like the taste of this. Followed the recipe exactly and think we would have rather used these ingredients to make boiled cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      I made these as directed and in my oven 35 minutes seems perfect. I took another reviewers advice and just put the chocolate chips on top and returned to the oven until melted. Thanks for a great snack for lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      Saw a photo of these posted and they looked yummy so thought I'd make them. Mmmmmm, really glad I did cause they are delicious and no trouble at all to prepare. My hubby says they will be good to take in his lunch. Thanks Sly Girl, you got a winner here!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      peanut butter and chocolate is always a winning combo and the oatmeal makes the bar lovely and chewy. Great recipe, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      These bars are fantastic! I like to bake healthy and low fat and therefore I made some healthy changes. I used only 1/2 cup brown sugar, substituted 1 1/2 cups applesauce for the 1 cup butter and used 100% whole wheat flour and natural crunchy peanut butter. With all these healthy changes, you may wonder how these would taste. I must say that even my parents and siblings loved these!!! they are a really healthy treat! Thanks for the recipe sly girl!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      I thought this recipe had a lot of peanut butter taste. Very Yummy. The chocolate also really put it over the top. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2005

    • on May 09, 2004

      I made these again over the weekend at the request of one of my Christmas cookie tray recipients. I baked these for 35 minutes and they turned out very nicely. I melted milk chocolate for the top and added some salted peanuts to the top. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      What could be better? Oatmeal, peanut butter and chocolate. Very good very easy recipe. Thanks for the addition to my Christmas cookie gift baskets!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2003

      Excellent! And very easy to put together as well. Mine baked for 35 minutes, and then I threw the chips on top, put them in the oven for one more minute, and then spread the chips out. Worked perfectly. Thansk for a great recipe Sly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peanut Butter Oatmeal Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1622 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 366.9
     
    Calories from Fat 177
    48%
    Total Fat 19.7 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 43.0 mg
    14%
    Sodium 254.6 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 30.8 g
    123%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes