19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this for breakfast this morning and darn near made it for lunch because it was sooo good! I love that the peanut butter (I used natural peanut butter) added protein to an oatmeal recipe. I did only use 1 tablespoon of PB and I thought it had plenty of peanut butter taste. I'll be making this one again - I think I could even eat it every day in the winter months, its a great change from my usual english muffin w/ PB breakfast. Made for ZWT4.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI July 05, 2008

Easy and wonderful-tasting oatmeal. I increased the amounts to 1/2 C. oatmeal to 1 C. milk, and actually lessened the peanut butter to 1 T. I really think adding the peanut butter after the oatmeal is cooked is great. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood April 16, 2011

What a great combo! Nothing sounded good tonight except peanut butter, and I was looking for something quick and substantial for dinner (other than pb toast or sandwich) and this was just the ticket! I used quick oats (cooked with skim milk and a dash of salt for 1 minute) and added a couple dashes of cinnamon, about a teaspoon of brown sugar, approx. 1 tablespoon of natural crunchy peanut butter and cooked for about another 40 seconds = perfection! A delicious dinner that tasted like a peanut butter oatmeal cookie! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BettyJr December 29, 2010

I gave this 4 stars. Review update: I made this today at the request of my husband. He loved it and had me change the star rating I had previously gave it. When I made this today on the first bowl I messed up and added the peanut butter right to the bowl and it did not affect the turn out. My husband had me leave out the cinnamon and I have to say that was very good. On the second bowl I doubled the recipe and the oatmeal turned out alot creamier until I added the peanut butter then it thickened. I thinned it out with some milk. First Review: I made this for my breakfast. I thought this was a bit more peanut butter then I like. I did like the cinnamon. This is for peanut butter LOVERS. A tip make sure you use a good size bowl to make this something bigger then a standard cereal bowl. 2x's now when I've made oatmeal in the microwave my oatmeal bubbled over and made a mess in my microwave. I used skim milk and all natural peanut butter. I did stir in a good amount of milk to make this creamy. Overall I don't think I'll make this again. Thanks for posting! Christine (internetnut)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut October 31, 2010

I was out of fruit so needed something different for my son in his oatmeal. I followed the recipe as written except mine only needed to cook for one minute. My son thought it was just OK. I made another bowl without the cinnamon and he liked it better. I thought it was missing something so added 1/4 tsp of Splenda and he liked it even more. This was a nice change from our regular oatmeal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol August 28, 2008

We really enjoyed this oatmeal for breakfast for breakfast this morning. A 1/4 cup of uncooked oatmeal can look a little measly and I was worried that it wouldn't be filling, but it was completely satisfying. I added a little more milk after cooking and topped it all off with a few slices of banana. I loved that it wasn't overly sweet. We'll be making this often. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 31, 2012

My toddler and I liked this oatmeal, I'm trying to get away from putting sugar in oatmeal and this worked, also liked the addition of cinnamon. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore October 14, 2012

Didn't use the cinammon. Love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misscain July 05, 2012

I've been making this oatmeal for years. It is a very flexible dish, one of those things there are tons of varieties. I don't use milk or cinnamon but you can add whatever you want. I add cruncy peanut butter for texture. I've added a dash of vanilla, sprinkle walnuts or pecans on it, add in some chopped banana or blueberries, my boyfriend adds a dash of the vanilla coffee creamers for flavor....you get the drift. I love it in the winter, I stay full forever and it's very fast and easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deanna Walker July 27, 2011

What an incredible, delicious recipe!!! I used 1/2 cup rolled oats, 2/3 cup skim milk (may use 3/4 next time but I like a chunky oatmeal). Microwaved for 2 min, then added 1 Splenda pkt, 2 tbsp natural PB (which was enough & I love PB) & a small amt of cinnamon. I topped it with sliced bananas & sugar free maple syrup. This was my DINNER & it kept me full for a good few hours. Totally yum; thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS March 18, 2011
Peanut Butter Oatmeal