Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peanut Butter Oat Bran Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peanut Butter Oat Bran Cookies

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2011

      Quick and easy, but a little crumbly. I used 1/2 cup Splenda and 1/4 cup Splenda brown sugar blend. Next time I will cut down the oat bran a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      These have become a staple "not so naughty" cookie around here. I used BARELY 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of the mixture of 1/2 each brown and white, and they turned out perfectly sweet. I used butter in place of margarine, and instead of AP flour I used oat flour. (To make it, I put some old fashioned rolled oats in a food processor and blended them as finely as I could.) It probably made them slightly more crumbly but I love the way they came out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      I really loved these cookies. Some modifications. I used canola oil instead of melted margarine. I skipped white sugar and increased the amount of brown sugar a little. I don't like too-sweet cookies, so I decided to go down on the sugar. While I was mixing the batch, I realized it's lacking the moisture, so after adding 1-1/2 cup of oat bran, I watched the mixture to see how much I wanted to add the flour. I added only 1/4 cup of all purpose flour. They came out of oven very inviting. I brew coffee and had 2 cookies. Wow. What a treat!<br/>I am going to try barley flour or flax seeds instead of all purpose flour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2012

      Delicious!! I loved every bite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I love these cookies. They're light and crispy, great for dunking in a cup of tea or coffee! My batter yielded 48 smallish cookies, and I baked them an extra 5 min, about 17 min, and they were just turning golden on the bottom. I used 1/2 cup oat flour and 1/2 cup kamut flour, and crunchy peanut butter. I find them a bit on the sugary side, so will cut back to 3/4 cup next time. Otherwise, perfect! I would like to melt some chocolate next time and dip some into the chocolate -- I think they'll taste great! Anyway, thanks for posting a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Delicious cookies!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      These were great cookies! They didn't last very long in this house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      These were really easy to make! I thought they would taste bland, but they actually are realllly good!:-) if you buy hodgson, you gotta make these!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      I used whole wheat flour and all brown sugar. The cookies turned out okay. My family ate them, but they did not go as fast as other cookies I've made. I liked the high fiber content, so I will probably make them again. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2006

      This is a great cookie! I used all whole wheat flour and all brown sugar, and the texture turned out just right - fluffy and light. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2004

      This is the first peanut butter cookie recipe that I've come across that has oat bran as one of the ingredients. Boy were they good and what a sweet way to eat oatmeal. I can't wait to share these with my granddaughters! Thank you for sharing! Another keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      These are so good. I was somewhat skeptical of using so much oatbran as I thought it may make them too heavy, but they turned out light and crispy. I love that they have the healthy fiber with great taste. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2014

      As soon as I read the recipe I had to make them! I was short on ingred. so I halved the recipe, using 1/2 cup of gluten free baking mix, oat bran (Quaker) 1/4 cup ground oatmeal, 1 egg, and half of every ingred. The baking powder and soda were tricky to divide but I used about 1/8 tsp. soda and 1/2 tsp. baking powder. It made 19 cookies (using my small cookie scoop). These were WONDERFUL and came out just like I was hoping. Thanks TexasLizard, for posting this "KEEPER!"<br/>Roxygirl<br/><br/>Update: I reduced the sugars recently & prefer using 1/4 cup brown sugar only.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      I substituted 1/4 cup of the white flour w/ ground Flax seed and used natural peanut butter + a few tablespoons of water. If I made them again I would reduce the white sugar to 1/4 cup. my kids LOVED these! I would make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      These are pretty good! I made them with unsweetened applesauce. They ended up a little sweet to me. Next time I will cut back on the white sugar, and maybe add some nonfat dry milk for nutrition. Also use whole wheat flour. They are kind of like soft scones. They also get kind of wet if you store them in an airtight container, so you might not want to do that...?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2005

      Excellent cookie! I used 1/4th cup whole wheat flour and used flax seed peanut butter. I will make these again! I gave a dozen to my neighbor and he ate them all in one sitting! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2003

      I used this recipe but had to make some changes since I didn't have all the ingredients--margarine or eggs. I doubled the recipe and used Crisco and unsweetened applesauce, half sugar and half Sugar Twin and all brown sugar twin, water to replace egg, half almond butter and creamy peanut butter. My husband even liked them but he did mention I forgot nuts! Also, I made one batch regular cookies and put the rest (since there was soooo much batter)in pans for pan cookies. Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2002

      A very easy recipe and they are really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2002

      Yummy! Yummy! I made another batch last night and added some peanut butter chips (my husband LOVES peanut butter) and they just made these cookies even harder to resist! I was afraid they would just kind of melt right in and not be noticeable, but according to DH they provide "a little burst of texture and flavor" that complements the chewiness from the bran.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peanut Butter Oat Bran Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (774 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 79.1
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    39%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 5.1 mg
    1%
    Sodium 50.6 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites