9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These came out kind of dense and dry. More milk and some applesauce in this recipe would probably help moisten these muffins. Spreading some margarine on them right out of the oven was a nice addition.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christy W. March 19, 2004

These were easy to make, but they aren't very sweet. My 2year old loves peanut butter which is why I made these, and she wouldn't eat them without jam b/c they aren't sweet. They are good with jam though. I only gave this 4 stars b/c the muffins are good, but they're not great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sallyabreak August 20, 2003

These were pretty good. I used whole wheat pastry flour, buttermilk and whipped peanut butter. They were crumbly, so next time i'll use milk as stated. Also, the peanut butter flavor wasn't strong, so natural PB would have been better. Finally, I'd prefer it sweeter, so i'll substitute the sugar for stevia next time. Overall though, it was a good recipe and with changes I mentioned, it'll be great next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
haven't the slightest October 02, 2010

This is an awesome muffin recipe!!!!
The dough comes together quickly and easily and the muffins taste sooooooo yummy! I love the peanut flavour and the crunchy top the muffins got.
I added in some chocolate chips as suggested by someone and that was a yummy addition. I used sugar-free, all natural peanut butter and still thought that the 2tbs of sugar were perfect.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this great recipe with us, Kree. Ill definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula September 08, 2010

They MUST HAVE the jam/jelly! Not too good by themselves. I must thank you for the recipe though as I made some healthy (and dog friendly) modifications and made them into my dog's favorite treat!! He loves them and they are so cheap to make. I make them in the small muffin pans which are the perfect size for my Doberman. I put them in a tupperware pitcher in the fridge, pop the top and one comes out...lol. It's so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secretly Southern September 07, 2008

I printed this recipe out to try years ago and you must have updated the description since then. I made this for my kids for breakfast. I tried the batter before I baked them and I added about 1-2 additional tablespoons of sugar. They tasted okay, but came out dry, and not at all what I was expecting. ~Amy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsnevrenough February 28, 2008

I made some changes and used unbleached flour, egg replacer, unsweetened natural chunky peanut butter, soy milk and natural beet sugar (doubled the amount) and added 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce to make them healthy and vegan. They came out very moist and smelled wonderful. I liked the fact that they weren't very sweet and were very low in fat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
InnerHarmonyNutrition February 28, 2007

It smelled good but tasted awful. Very dry. I was very disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peaches55635 December 26, 2006

This recipe was delicious. I made an 8x8 "loaf" instead of muffins. The batter was very thick, and I was worried about getting the mixture into the muffin pan evenly. It turned out fab! I served it warm and cut in thick slices with strawberry/lavender jam. I will make this again and again. I'll try again for the muffins and re-review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sqrl March 19, 2006
Peanut Butter Muffins