16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a treat! Could hardly wait for it to cool down before tasting. Mmmmm. Used a round pan (without the "whole"in the middle) and needed the full hour for it to bake. The last ten minutes I put a piece of parchment paper over the cake, to prevent it from browning too much. Did not have any problem with the jam being exposed, maybe cause I did not have to turn the cake, just eased it out with the help of two "handles" made of parchment paper which I had put cris-cross on the bottom of the pan (after greasing and flouring). This time I used blueberry jam and will also try it adding chocolate chips as you suggested. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo July 08, 2006

I was not a fan of this cake. It smelled like absolute heaven when I was cooking it, and fresh from the oven it was a peanut butter lovers dream wafting out on the heat. However after cutting into it, I was disappointed. I upped the amount of peanut butter and it still didn't taste like anything but dried yellow cake. <br/><br/>I'm not sure why this happened, all the instructions were followed but it was not to my taste at all. I found it boring and lifeless.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OutRAGme_985 January 24, 2014

Easy, quick chaneable by changing the jam. The batter, without the jam was fantastic off the spoon. I used homemade peanut butter and melted it in the microwave before putting it in the batter. It was subtil;, but there. An inexpensive winner. Also, no sour cream in France, I used plain yogurt with no problem.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha June 15, 2009

I really wanted to like this cake but it just didn't do it for me. I could not taste the peanut butter flavor maybe it was because I used all natural peanut butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beeks October 15, 2007

What a delicious cake! I like cakes made with peanut butter anyway but the jam is an added bonus. I used President's Choice 50% Fruit Strawberry Jam - an entire jar is sufficient to make this cake. I also used creamy peanut butter instead of chunky since that is all I had at home. I will certainly be making this cake again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irmgard September 01, 2007

This was awesome! I used some peanut butter chips as another reviewer suggested and strawberry jam. I used the 1/3 cup of crunchy peanut butter. I'll definitely make this again! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol Ryan March 02, 2007

We also loved this cake..used the chocolate chip suggestion..just had to make sure chips and peanut butter didnt touch pan..Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phosman646 January 26, 2007

Just thought I'd add to the chorus of people who loved this cake...it's great! I was careful to make sure the jam didn't touch the sides of the pan (because of other posters' comments), and I had no trouble at all removing it. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie December 07, 2006

This was great!!!!!!!! I didn't have any sour cream so instead I used 1/2 cup of vanilla yogurt(I only used 1 tsp of vanilla) and 1/2 cup of raspberry yougurt because I used raspberry jam. I also floured the pan and waited for the cake to cool completly before I removed it from the pan to prevent it from falling apart where the jam was. Forget about PB&J sandwitches, this is all I will be making now! Thanks for the recipe KITTENCAL!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BestTeenChef June 29, 2006

Made this morning to bring to work. I tested it and it's pretty good. I took out after 50 minutes because it was getting pretty brown but the inside seems to still not be quite done. It's ok and I'm sure it will get eaten. I used raspberry jam and like a previous poster the jam was exposed on the top after turning out onto platter. Raspberry isn't my favorite but had some given as a gift so that's what I used. I'm sure I will make again. Thanks again KITTENCAL for another great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vlynn March 24, 2006
Peanut Butter Jelly Swirl Bundt Cake