10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very grainy and dissatisfying. I have made fudge several times in the past with no problems, but this fudge was anything but creamy. All I taste when I eat it is massive amounts of sugar grains. My roommate seems to enjoy it, however, so it can't be all bad. Still, this fudge is nowhere near what I expected. I will stick to recipes that include marshmallow cream from now on, as these are all I have used in the past (and these have all had the smooth, creamy texture I think of when I have fudge).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crys804 November 27, 2010

I have NEVER made fudge in my life, and this one was super easy and quick! I didn't have a candy thermometer so I timed the boiling, and kept a cup of cold water by my work area. It set up quick so I had to work fast to put it in the pan, but it tastes wonderful!! I'll be trying it again with chocolate instead of peanutbutter next time! Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marychadwick October 07, 2010

I have always had trouble making fudge. This one was no different. But I think alot of time we don't take into account our thermometers. Mine turned out dry and set up instantly but when I tested my thermometer in water (heated water to a boil-knowing that 212F is boiling in this area). I found I was 12 degrees off. So before I blame the recipe I will either buy a new thermometer or calculate for the difference & try again. Thanks Aunt Dawn I bet I find it's fine next time but just so you know, hubby has already eaten half a pan of the other.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
b1stewart December 02, 2006

Awesome! 5 Stars! My Mom makes the best PB fudge and I had lost her PB Fudge recipe. My son was making fudge for a fair contest and I found this recipe that was close to my Mom's and tried it...My Son walked away with a Fist Place Blue Ribbon! :) Only thing we did different was instead of 1 cup of milk we used a whole can (12 fl oz) evaproated milk. I was always told by my mom this is what makes the fudge creamy. We took the advice of others and used the wooden spoon..I sort of recall mom saying that too. Thanks so much! Don't tell Mom but we all think this recipe is better than hers....shhhhhh! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrazyCyndi September 08, 2006

AWESOME!!I was looking for an easy yet tasty recipe and boy did I find it!!I followed the directions exactly and was rewarded with a yummy treat! I hope I have the willpower to leave some for my DH and kids!!Thanks for the recipe-I will definately make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama5 December 21, 2005

I followed this recipe exactly, but all I seemed to get was a grainy, mushy mess. It tastes good, once you get past the grainy-ness. I will not be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsNestleroad February 19, 2005

I tried this recipe for 3 reasons: First it said Creamy which is what I was looking for. Second, it didn't have marshmallows or marshmallow creme. Finally, I am also an Aunt Dawn! This fudge was easy to make. I followed the directions exactly, even used a candy thermometer and used a wooden spoon as suggested. The taste was wonderful, but the texture was anything but creamy. I had grainy pieces of peanut butter resting on top that wouldn't seem to stick together. I was extrememly disappointed, since creamy was the main thing I was looking for. Since others have not had a problem, I must have done something wrong, but I have no idea what. I don't know if it is worth trying again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColCadsMom December 14, 2004

Very creamy and highly recommend...Husband loves it!! I followed directions exactly. My mother always told me to use a wooden spoon when working with fudge so I did...don't know if it matters

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daroyal July 11, 2004

Good tasting fudge. Easy to make and makes alot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladymiller December 21, 2003

I've never been able to make good fudge. However, I made this last night and followed the directions exactly, it turned out great! It is sweet, creamy and a beautiful color. I highly recommend this recipe. erinp It also makes a huge batch. several pounds

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erinp December 05, 2003
Peanut Butter Fudge