22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you for posting this recipe. This is a very simple and easy to make dog treat. I made the first batch when you sent me your recipe by request and then another last night. The results are the following: 5 Woofs from Jeronimo, Sheba, Dutches and Bandit, and 4 stars from me. It was a tad too dry for my taste but a beer and heh...majority rules so I guess we'll have to go with the 5 Woofs (I mean Stars). Next time tho' I think I'll add a little garlic (that's for me...LOL.). Thanks again for the recipe. Chuck

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chuck in Killbuck February 04, 2003

BeBe, Tosha, and Goldie have agreed on 5 stars, plus these are probably more healthy than store bought treats. (It's cheaper too!) They turned out soft even though I thought they would be crunchy, but the dogs didn't complain a bit. And a word of caution, if you have teenage boys, they think it is absolutely hillarious to pass these off as real cookies to anyone who will fall for it. We've had a few good laughs around here!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda003 December 19, 2003

Thank you for this recipe. Our golden retriever loved these. Her tail becomes a weapon when I ask her if she wants a cookie. First attempt at homemade dog treats, I may never buy them again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryL in Canada November 23, 2003

Lucky and Kujo say "Two paws up!". I baked these when they had a recent "play day" and had my nieces help. The recipe made almost 90 slightly smaller cookies-easier to handle and enjoyed just as much. The dough on the floor from my helpers was promptly cleaned up by the pooches! The dough was somewhat soft when handling-not to worry-they come out just great! It was a fun afternoon and the "boys" are feeling pampered! Thanks so much for the treat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mostrah November 03, 2003

5 ruffs from my dog Zolti for what's become his favourite treat. The look he gets in his eyes is reserved only for his peanut butter doggie cookie. I doubled the size of the cookie, baked a couple of minutes longer, yielded 32 medium sized cookies. Thanks, sly girl!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues October 30, 2003

Our dog's a ruff critic, so all eyes were on her to see if the fur would fly when she gave her review. But she gives it a tail-wagging 5-bark rating. Super easy to make and a fun project to work on with my 5-year-old! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxie May 03, 2003

Just made six dozens for my furry friends for Christmas. Kona really enjoyed them and I'm sure his friens will too. Thank you soooo much for posting. Judy and Kona

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judy42645 December 23, 2012

I have 4 dogs - 2 jack russell terriers and 2 mutts and they absolutely love these treats! I've made these at least 4 times and they are always a hit with my dogs. My teenage daughter thought that these were regular "people peanut butter cookies" and she bit into one and spit it into the kitchen sink. I can always count on her to be the first one in the family to sample baked goods. HA HA!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Daycare Lady December 16, 2009

I would give these five stars, but I changed the recipe some. I used 1/2 cup of margarine and 1 1/2 cups of peanut butter. Only baked them for 12 minutes, until they were firm but not really hard like a dog biscut. Two of my four dogs don't care for that type of treat (hard and crunchy) and the other two don't care. That said, I have four dachshunds that LOVE THESE!!! After the first taste test, they just hung around everytime I took the next batch out of the oven. A definite keeper. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
16Paws June 04, 2008

I made these for my 4 legged son Bailey. He kept hanging out in the kitchen waiting for them to be done (he's also some what of a drooler LoL). He enjoyed eating these, and they kept well in his treat container. I will be making this next time for him along with the other dogs in the family as a xmas gift in a dog dish. :-) Thank you Sly Girl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RiBigMouth October 14, 2007
Peanut Butter Doggie Cookies