10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Perfect!! The taste and texture are exactly right. They came out soft with that slight crusty edge and bottom only peanut butter cookies can get just right. Not an overpowering amount of PB, but enough to make them delicious. They are very easy to make, mixed up like a dream. I had to let them cook about 12 minutes instead of 10, but that may be because I made them too big. I got 2 dozen cookies. My boyfriend LOVED them. :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soup Fly * December 29, 2003

These were great cookies. Like one reviewer, I only used brown sugar with great results. These cookies are very soft and chewy; the only thing I would prefer is to have more of a peanut butter taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
me2006 May 01, 2005

I really loved the texture of these, which is lighter than most peanut butter cookies I have tried, and their flavor is excellent. I would recommend chilling the dough for an hour if possible, to make the shaping process easier. It also kept the cookies from spreading quite as much, and made for a more attractive cookie, in my opinion. Thank you for posting this lovely recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxie July 02, 2004

The first time I made these, I didn't have any white sugar so I used brown sugar instead, either way the cookies turned out really great. I also mixed milk chocolate chips in with the first batch and it was good, but the second batch I used semi sweet and I think I liked that batch a little better. These are some awesome cookies! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carolinerenee January 04, 2004

Having used up the last of the self-raising flour for Charisma’s Gingerbread, I threw into the mixture what I figured what the next best thing – strong white bread flour. The consistency, after I had beaten it all with the electric mixer, was rather suspicious, resembling that of cake batter rather than cookie dough. However, refusing to be put off by anything, after dampening my hands to stop the mixture from sticking, I went ahead, rolling and flattening; then into the oven they went. And the result, 10 minutes later? 10 large scrumptious biscuits (the yield was quite high even though I had quartered the amount of ingredients). These cookies are certainly unique. Never, anywhere in the UK at least, have I come across any like these. Soft and crumbly when warm, these cookies have hardened to a crisp, melt-in-the-mouth texture. The use of crunchy peanut butter gives it a wonderfully nutty flavour with that not infrequent crunch. Oh I forgot! I used an egg replacer; if this made a difference, the taste does not show it. Not everyone in the house liked them, strangely enough. It was pronounced them bitter and smell was disliked. The latter criticism I find particularly ironic, since throughout the baking, a delicious aroma issued from the oven, which, despite lessening afterwards, continued to draw me to them. But I liked them and I have finished them up. Thanks a million for this gem of a recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goldcrest December 30, 2003

I was very pleased with the soft texture of this cookie. The flavor was great. I wanted to make cookies but didn't have alot of ingredients on hand. These worked perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Djop66 April 30, 2007

I have already rated these with a 5 star review but just used this recipe to make peanut butter and jelly thumbprint cookies and letting y'all know how wonderful they turned out

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kai'smom04 December 11, 2005

These cookies were a big hit in my house as well as with a friend. They are wonderfully moist, something you don't always find with peanut butter cookies. I added chocolate chips, which went over well wil everyone. They do tend to spread quite thin for a peanut butter cookie, though this wasn't a problem for me when they had the chocolate in them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brisby Cat December 06, 2004

These were great! I made them into bars which doubled the cooking time. Also, I substituted sucanat and whole wheat pastry flour in the same amounts. We will definitely make these again. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit November 11, 2004

I had a cookie craving last night and only had the ingredients for peanut butter cookies. These were much better than I could have imagined for such a quick recipe. I even halved the recipe which was easy to do (minus halving the egg) and it only took minutes and made the perfect one pan of cookies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jules127 September 15, 2004
Peanut Butter Cookies