12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sorry, I usually like most of the recipes I find here but not this one. It lacked flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klewis4698 June 02, 2013

I am a sucker for a good peanut butter cookie and this is such a quick, easy and delicious recipe! I am making them for the third time in 3 weeks! I made them for a playdate for my 1 year old and they were so good that I decided to make them for our church harvest festival as well. Now I am making them for a fellow mom who just had a baby and is getting dinners for a week from our mom's group. She is lactose intolerant and I thought these would be a perfect dessert since they are made with shortening! Win, win, win! Oh, and my 1 year old loves them and gets a big smile on his face when we give him a piece of ours! Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamamountin November 08, 2010

This is one good cookie! I added 1 t.vanilla to the dough for a little added richness. I also rolled the dough in sugar for extra crunch prior to making the criss cross pattern on the cookies. These are classically good peanut butter cookies and will be my go to recipe from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. July 01, 2009

I chose your recipe from the tons of PB cookie recipes because it contains flour, which I prefer, and it makes a lot. I got a little over 4 dozen 2.5 inch wide cookies. I sprinkled some granulated sugar on top of them pre-baking to give them a sparkle. I also used natural chucnky peanut butter which is trans-fat free as well as a trans-fat free crisco. Turned out tasty and great! Pam

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am September 09, 2006

This is a great recipe. Everyone in my family loved them. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nhredhead_65 November 03, 2005

Made these cookies last night and they turned out great. I forgot to flatten a batch and those came out a lot softer than the flattened ones. Just a matter of preference. I also only got 4 dozen out of this recipes, but may have made them a bit larger than called for. Thanks for a delicious, easy peanut butter cookie recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Lover October 25, 2005

Being a cook and not a baker, I surprised myself and impressed the sweetie and the kids. My daughter took over the last batch and hers were perfect too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 148068 September 24, 2005

Another home run for Nurse Di! These are some great PB cookies. The whole family scarfed them down FAST. Thanks, Nurse Di!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judi H June 17, 2005

I was craving a peanut butter cookie but out of butter. I came across this recipe. Decided to take a chance on this recipe since it uses shortening. It is very good. Better than the recipe I have been using. Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymity June 04, 2005

Hey Di- Yup,simple but wonderful. I made these just now for my BF. Had to do a taste test for review reasons-they are nice, just a little chewy (hate crisp cookies) and just the right amount of PB flavor. Since I made them BIG I got less than stated-but I like it that way! Thanks for posting! Di

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's February 03, 2005
Peanut Butter Cookies