15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really tasty and satisfying! I served it on whole wheat spagetti - extra sauce would have been mmmmm perfect. My substitutions-boneless breast of chicken and Thai chili powder.
Thanks for a superb recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy's_Cookin' April 02, 2011

Purists beware - I took some shortcuts, but this dish still turned out delicious and I saved some time. I used a whole bag of frozen, precut onions instead of chopping up 2 medium onions. Not part of the original plan, but I discovered too late that we were out of fresh garlic cloves, so I used chipped garlic in a bottle instead. I increased the pepper amount to make it just a little hotter. I couldn't find coriander anywhere in the spice aisle. After hurriedly getting to DH to Google coriander as I held my cell phone in the store awaiting the answer, I discovered that a rough translation was coriander = cilantro. I bought fresh cilantro after that mystery was solved and it worked great after I chopped it through the food processor. I also added just a hint of white wine to taste. Mmmm...it was yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spicy Art Mama July 09, 2008

Nice and simple! Like the best things in life are.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare August 27, 2014

This sauce is deeeeeelish - great ideas from other reviewers like trying it on spaghetti and adding Thai chili powder. Also might be good on a hearty fish that could hold up to the thickness of the sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
potato pods July 22, 2011

This was easy and good. I made some changes: I added cumin and extra garlic and used 28 oz crushed tomato rather than 15 oz sauce. Even then the sauce was fairly thick so I added veg broth until it was a bit more pourable. Because it was a warm day, I did not use the oven. I was using boneless skinless thighs, which I just cut into strips and cooked briefly with the onions/garlic and then allowed to cook through when I added the other sauce ingredients. So this all happened in one pan on the stove top. I made jasmine rice to serve. With the extra tomato, the PB was not detectable as such but it really made for a nice texture and deeper maybe 'earthy' flavor with the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith C-ville April 16, 2011

A really enjoyable dish, made from such simple ingredients, that are always on hand, and with the minimum of effort too, making it a great family mid week meal.
I used chicken breasts (DH's preference), and home made tomato sauce. The sauce was a beautiful consistency, and so flavoursome, and was delish spooned over the brown rice ( a great choice to pair it with). Next time I would add a little more chilli, but we like things on the spicier side.
Leftovers heated up well too, and were just as enjoyable.
Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap#49.
Thanks Paula

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo February 19, 2011

We really liked the flavours in this simple to put together dish. I used chicken breasts and served on rice, love the 'kick' from the pepper flakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* January 19, 2006

This was very good. I had to cut the recipe way down, and used bone in chicken thighs. The sauce if full of flavor. Next time I might add a little chicken broth to thin the sauce just a little. I served it as it was and was left with sauce to dip some bread. I love peanut butter and could definitely taste a hint of it in the sauce. I will make this one again, so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly M. October 27, 2005

With all the great reviews I expected this to be good - it was terrific. I made half the recipe using two leg/thigh quarters. Amazing how so few common ingredients add up to such a flavorful meal. We enjoyed it over barley.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea May 15, 2005
Peanut Butter Chicken with Chile