25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh, these were wonderful! I made these for work yesterday, and everyone loved them. I doubled the recipe because a 9-inch pan of anything just isn't big enough if I'm bringing treats to work. The only real change I made was to add half a bag of semisweet chips to the batter (personal preference - I don't care for peanut butter without chocolate or jam, even in cookies and such). I wasn't sure how they were going to bake up because the batter was so thick, but they came out beautifully. Nice, thick, and chewy. The frosting layer was a bit thick when doubled (no complaints from me, but some people don't like a lot of frosting); maybe a 1.5 frosting increase for a double batch would be better. At any rate, very good, nice change of pace from the usual brownies and bar cookies. ADDITION: These bars keep well, too. I found this out because a girl in the office had taken a few and squirreled them away in a container at her desk when I made them about a week or so ago. Well, she forgot they were there, but we were starving and didn't have time to go and get food. We ended up eating the peanut butter bars, and they were still great (yes, I was a little skeptical because they were about a week old, but we were desperate). They didn't taste stale at all, which was a great bonus (since we probably would have eaten them anyway)!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess June 07, 2003

Maybe I screwed up--when it says oatmeal, is it prepared oatmeal? -or just oats uncooked ? Because mine were awful, and I think maybe because of this... they were SO dry, my daughter wouldn't eat it...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marebear57 September 20, 2012

Very, very good. If you like peanut butter this recipe is for you. Moist and chewy brownies, yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickledSeeds July 18, 2008

I made these for my husband to take to work for a fundraiser. They turned out great! The only changes I made~I doubled the icing sugar (I like a thicker frosting) and added some cocoa. I just made myself sick eating all the leftover icing. Great recipe, MaeEast!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truth70x7 January 27, 2008

Made these last evening. Had a visit from a neighbour and sent some home with her and also took some in for 2 co-workers today. I too added a bit of cocoa to the icing and if the oohs and aahs that I heard from everyone was any indication...well let's see, if I rated it my way it would be 4 times 5 stars equals 20 stars but I'll have to follow the zaar rules and settle for 5!!! Thanks MaeEast for this delicious brownie recipe which I have now placed among my favorites.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nova Scotia Cook September 22, 2005

Great treat for peanut butter lovers! Easy to prepare and with a nice texture from the addition of the oatmeal. I didn't make any frosting, but I'll do that next time and then review again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani December 30, 2004

Pretty good stuff. Really liked the idea of adding oatmeal...fiber!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephie Biggs September 21, 2004

I too was a bit skeptical of these when i saw how thick the batter was, but Muffin Goddess was right, these bake up beautifully. Quick & easy with ingredients that are usually on hand,these will satisfy a peanut butter craving!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda *J* June 03, 2003

Was kind of dry...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellyhuihui October 11, 2012

I made these this afternoon, following the recipe to the letter. These were the driest bars I've ever made, nothing at all like a brownie.The frosting was all that saved them. Good enough taste, but what oatmeal is called for in this recipe? Like I said I followed the recipe to a T. These could never ever be called moist, they were dry and crumbly. My oven is right on temp as I use an independent oven thermometer. So I don't know what the problem could be. Any suggestions?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorothy S. October 11, 2012
Peanut Butter Brownies