Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peanut Butter Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peanut Butter Brownies

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on June 07, 2003

      Oh, these were wonderful! I made these for work yesterday, and everyone loved them. I doubled the recipe because a 9-inch pan of anything just isn't big enough if I'm bringing treats to work. The only real change I made was to add half a bag of semisweet chips to the batter (personal preference - I don't care for peanut butter without chocolate or jam, even in cookies and such). I wasn't sure how they were going to bake up because the batter was so thick, but they came out beautifully. Nice, thick, and chewy. The frosting layer was a bit thick when doubled (no complaints from me, but some people don't like a lot of frosting); maybe a 1.5 frosting increase for a double batch would be better. At any rate, very good, nice change of pace from the usual brownies and bar cookies. ADDITION: These bars keep well, too. I found this out because a girl in the office had taken a few and squirreled them away in a container at her desk when I made them about a week or so ago. Well, she forgot they were there, but we were starving and didn't have time to go and get food. We ended up eating the peanut butter bars, and they were still great (yes, I was a little skeptical because they were about a week old, but we were desperate). They didn't taste stale at all, which was a great bonus (since we probably would have eaten them anyway)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2012

      Maybe I screwed up--when it says oatmeal, is it prepared oatmeal? -or just oats uncooked ? Because mine were awful, and I think maybe because of this... they were SO dry, my daughter wouldn't eat it...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      Very, very good. If you like peanut butter this recipe is for you. Moist and chewy brownies, yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I made these for my husband to take to work for a fundraiser. They turned out great! The only changes I made~I doubled the icing sugar (I like a thicker frosting) and added some cocoa. I just made myself sick eating all the leftover icing. Great recipe, MaeEast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      Made these last evening. Had a visit from a neighbour and sent some home with her and also took some in for 2 co-workers today. I too added a bit of cocoa to the icing and if the oohs and aahs that I heard from everyone was any indication...well let's see, if I rated it my way it would be 4 times 5 stars equals 20 stars but I'll have to follow the zaar rules and settle for 5!!! Thanks MaeEast for this delicious brownie recipe which I have now placed among my favorites.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      Great treat for peanut butter lovers! Easy to prepare and with a nice texture from the addition of the oatmeal. I didn't make any frosting, but I'll do that next time and then review again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2004

      Pretty good stuff. Really liked the idea of adding oatmeal...fiber!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2003

      I too was a bit skeptical of these when i saw how thick the batter was, but Muffin Goddess was right, these bake up beautifully. Quick & easy with ingredients that are usually on hand,these will satisfy a peanut butter craving!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      Was kind of dry...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      I made these this afternoon, following the recipe to the letter. These were the driest bars I've ever made, nothing at all like a brownie.The frosting was all that saved them. Good enough taste, but what oatmeal is called for in this recipe? Like I said I followed the recipe to a T. These could never ever be called moist, they were dry and crumbly. My oven is right on temp as I use an independent oven thermometer. So I don't know what the problem could be. Any suggestions?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      These were good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't add the frosting. Mine took the full 30 minutes to cook. Tasted like a big peanut butter cookie to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2011

      Soooo easy to make!! Will definitely make them again. The only thing I did different was cut the icing recipe in half!! If you love peanut butter this is the recipe for you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Five BIG stars for the brownies themselves! The only change I made was to add 1/2 t cinnamon, and they're absolutely excellent. I only wish I'd made a double batch so I could eat more of them! However, I didn't care for the frosting - it was too sweet. That's just me; I don't have a huge sweet tooth. When I make these next time, I'll either leave off the frosting or cut the sugar at least in half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Sooooooo good!!!!!!! I love the addition of oatmeal, it makes these chewy good! Love the peanut butter icing too! These are outstanding and will definitely make again and again! Thanks for the recipe, best peanut butter brownies I've had!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      I mean, these are good. Remind me of a good winter time food. Was a bit heavy for a summer dessert. It's very rustic looking and tasting. The brownies are chewy and very thick. The frosting was a bit runny for me. Maybe I used too much soy milk. I made them parve (no dairy/meat for those who keep kosher) by using soy milk and margarine. It would be a great way to end a meat meal in the winter for sure. It was just a bit sweet for me. I would say if you have sweetened peanut butter you could easily loose half the sugar in the brownies. I put cocoa powder into the icing, but maybe a better option would have just been to use a chocolate frosting as I just wasn't crazy about the recipe. I dunno. It was good for me. Very rich. Easy enough to make and have on hand. Keeps like a dream in the fridge. Probably would freeze equally well. I just wasn't JUMPING out of my chair about it...but they are good. And I will likely make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2004

      Made these with my 9 year old niece who is a peanut butter nut. I think there was too much of an oatmeal texture for her liking. One cup for a recipe this size does seem like a lot. I did not have a 9 x 9 pan so I used an 8 x 8 thinking it would need to bake a little longer. It still only took 20 minutes in my oven. I also added some chocolate chips and Reese's pieces per my niece's request. The frosting was good but I think I'd like it better on cake. Also, I only used 4 tbs of milk for the frosting and it ended up being too thin so I needed to add more peanut butter and sugar. I ended up having extra frosting. For me, it only needed about 3 tbs. Overall, the recipe wasn't bad but I wouldn't make it again. Not very popular with my family

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2004

      Usually I am a chocolate peanut butter lover, but these are a delicious change to the ordinary brownie!!! Melanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2004

      This is a very nice brownie. It is easy to make & the instructions are clear. I omitted the frosting, as I am not fond of frosting on brownies, but did add a handful of choclate chips to the batter. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2004

      These were good! Nice and chewy....I did add some cocoa powder to the frosting because I have to have a bit of chocolate with my peanut butter. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2004

      everyone loves them. they are the new thing I have to bring. while staying withmy uncle he made me make them twice in one week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peanut Butter Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (981 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 152.8
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    39%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 7.7 mg
    2%
    Sodium 114.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 13.8 g
    55%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes