11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I do not like peanut butter cookies so I decided to try this bar... I am so glad I did. These are great! I didn't alter the recipe at all and it turned out great for me. The other reviews complained about the glaze being too runny, but mine was perfect! Thanks for a GREAT recipe and alternative to a PB Cookie!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EcclecticChef April 13, 2010

I used 1/3 cup butter and a generous half-cup peanut butter, and whirled my oats though the blender because they were not the quick-cooking type. These bars are delicious and I will definitely make again - the cookie part on its own is yummy but the glaze really makes the recipe. I used a little hot water instead of milk, only about 1 teaspoon of butter, and probably about 2/3 cup powdered sugar, and the glaze set up beautifully. I made these two evenings ago and they are almost gone (though I did take a bunch to a valentine-making party!) I also stirred half the chocolate chips into the dough and sprinkled the rest on top. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wax lion February 09, 2008

very good, like a very thick peanut butter cookie. The glaze is soooo good. After reading some other comments, I decided to double the amount of powdered sugar. That made it "thicken up" on the bars, not wet or runny at all. Thanks for sharing this one!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doxiemom December 16, 2007

Oh wow these are good! I doubled the bar ingredients except for the chocolate chips and still baked them in a 9x13 pan but added an extra 10 minutes to the bake time. I also doubled the glaze and ended up using more powdered sugar to get it to thicken up some. Fabulous recipe with great peanut butter taste. Thanks foxysnana!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Sis October 29, 2007

I made these bars with 1/2 cup peanut butter and 3/4 cup oatmeal left out the chocolate chips and did not glaze them they came out delicious! Can't wait to make them again and next time I will glaze them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BEST COOK IN TOWN September 19, 2007

Made these for a once a week sunday get together for my grown family. The only problem I had was there was a fight over the last one. I even doubled the recipe. I did not put on the glaze didnt think it needed anything else. Very good, thanks will be made again and again. Tina

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina Madden September 10, 2007

Delicious! I was reluctant to make these as I am not much of a peanut butter fan, but my son insisted. I'm glad he did, because these were wonderful. The bars have a chewy "crust" that mixes well with the melted chocolate chips and vanilla glaze. It is an easy recipe. I mixed everything by hand (with a wooden spoon) and had no trouble with lumps etc. I did not have crunchy style peanut butter, so I used creamy peanut butter instead. Next time (and there will be a next time!) I'll make sure to have crunchy peanut butter. One note about the glaze: it seemed like it was too "runny", so I added a few tablespoons of confectioner's sugar. Thanks foxysnana.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just MJ January 16, 2007

I decreased the quick coooking oats to 1/2 cup, used 1/2 cup peanut butter, and used a teaspoon of baking soda. Just wanted to make sure that the bar wasn't dry with too much of the oats in the recipe. We loved them! Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juenessa January 13, 2007

Very good, and unique. A twist on the typical cookie bar. Will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lael Bagnall September 19, 2005

WOW WOW WOW! These were amazing! I thought the glaze came out perfect, but I did sift the powdered sugar before hand. I always do that because it can tend to get clumpy. One thing that I wasn't sure about the glaze. I was expecting it to "set up" over night, but I guess because of the addition of milk it remained a bit wet. It was still absolutely delicious, just a little messier than expected. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juju Bee August 28, 2005
Peanut Butter Bars