21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This bread is soooooooo good! It is moist, full of banana and pb flavour and has such a crunchy crust! Mmmm! We LOVED this and could not stop eating it. Its like a sinful dessert.
I made some changes to make it a little healthier: I used half whole spelt flour, left out the shortening and used all natural pb. Also I felt that the bananas were sweet enough for my taste, so I only used 1/2 tbs of sugar, so that the bread had a nice fruity sweetness.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this delish treat with us, Mel!
Made and reviewed for Potluck Tag Game November 2010.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula November 12, 2010

This was wonderful! I only had 2 large bananas so the peanut butter kinda dominated but that's OK! I also had to cook mine for about 50 minutes. Very, very good! Made for Zaar I Recommend Tag Game 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty July 14, 2011

Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwiches are my DH's all time favorite snack - so I new I couldn't go wrong with the combination. Should have known my peanut butter loving friend HL would have a wonderful recipe like this posted. This bread is moist and absolutely delicious!!! I did add two tablespoons of flax seed meal.... which helped to add to the nutty flavor - and this is wonderful with a little strawberry cream cheese too!!! Thank you GF, I know I'll be making this often when I have bananas to use up!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom January 08, 2011

Oh, Hokies, I just love this bread!! First, I made it gluten free for a good friend's wife, who was recovering from surgery, and it was a real hit there! I used 1 cup Bob's Red Mill All-Purpose Baking Mix and 3/4 cup Rice Flour in place of the regular flour, and made sure my baking powder was gluten free as well. She absolutely loved it! Today I had the opportunity to make it for us, and it was so delicious! I did add 1 tsp cinnamon in with the flour mix, a big handful of walnuts, and sprinkled the top with Starrynews' Spiced Sugar, Spiced Sugar, which added a lovely crunch to the top. What a decadent quick bread this is! Yum, yum, yum! Thanks so much, Hokies, this is for sure a real keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen December 31, 2010

We loved this recipe. I did make a few changes though. I exchanged half of the flour for whole wheat flour and cut back the sugar. I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup of Splenda. I also substituted oil and yogurt for the shortening. My family loved them... Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Finneus Fudge March 17, 2010

We couldn't even wait for this to cool properly before cutting the first slice ~ it smelled heavenly while baking (took a full 45 minutes @350C in an Emile Henry loaf pan) and tastes delicious. Light in texture, I thought the flavours were nicely balanced, and it was not too sweet. I give it full marks in spite of it being rather "calorific"!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rykie August 24, 2009

Yum, yum, yum. This is really good, very peanut-buttery. It rises up nice and tall in the oven. The banana flavor gets a little bit lost, I think, though. Maybe next time I make this (and there will be a next time) I will leave some bigger chunks of banana, or maybe reduce the peanut butter to 2/3 cup. I did make two substitutions -- 1/4 cup canola oil instead of the shortening and 1/2 cup honey instead of the white sugar. I hope my changes didn't affect the outcome too much, and overall we still really, really liked it. I think I will toast pieces of it for breakfast to have with my coffee tomorrow. Thanks, HokiesLady!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too July 21, 2008

This was so tasty.... It reminded me of the peanut butter and banana sandwiches my grandmother used to fix when I was a child..... It was so moist and my whole family loved it.... Thanks so much for sharing..... Picture will be added soon.... Having computer problems..... Edited 6-8-08 Computer problems solved.... Hope you like picture....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gertc96 June 09, 2008

We really enjoyed this banana bread. I thought the flavor of the peanut butter and the bananas were balanced just right. Although it is great as is, or lightly toasted, my favorite way to eat it was to toast it under the broiler and then spread it with a little cream cheese. We also thought the flavor got even better after a couple of days. We will definitely be having this as often as I have bananas to make it with. Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb G April 21, 2012

Very good, but I used extra crunchy peanut butter and it was heavy on the crunchy! Still a great flavor and moist. I had to cook mine 52 minutes to get the middle cooked through. Made for I Recommend Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH July 25, 2011
Peanut Butter & Banana Loaf