Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Peanut Butter & Banana Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Peanut Butter & Banana Loaf

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2010

      This bread is soooooooo good! It is moist, full of banana and pb flavour and has such a crunchy crust! Mmmm! We LOVED this and could not stop eating it. Its like a sinful dessert.
      I made some changes to make it a little healthier: I used half whole spelt flour, left out the shortening and used all natural pb. Also I felt that the bananas were sweet enough for my taste, so I only used 1/2 tbs of sugar, so that the bread had a nice fruity sweetness.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this delish treat with us, Mel!
      Made and reviewed for Potluck Tag Game November 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      This was wonderful! I only had 2 large bananas so the peanut butter kinda dominated but that's OK! I also had to cook mine for about 50 minutes. Very, very good! Made for Zaar I Recommend Tag Game 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwiches are my DH's all time favorite snack - so I new I couldn't go wrong with the combination. Should have known my peanut butter loving friend HL would have a wonderful recipe like this posted. This bread is moist and absolutely delicious!!! I did add two tablespoons of flax seed meal.... which helped to add to the nutty flavor - and this is wonderful with a little strawberry cream cheese too!!! Thank you GF, I know I'll be making this often when I have bananas to use up!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Oh, Hokies, I just love this bread!! First, I made it gluten free for a good friend's wife, who was recovering from surgery, and it was a real hit there! I used 1 cup Bob's Red Mill All-Purpose Baking Mix and 3/4 cup Rice Flour in place of the regular flour, and made sure my baking powder was gluten free as well. She absolutely loved it! Today I had the opportunity to make it for us, and it was so delicious! I did add 1 tsp cinnamon in with the flour mix, a big handful of walnuts, and sprinkled the top with Starrynews' Spiced Sugar, Spiced Sugar, which added a lovely crunch to the top. What a decadent quick bread this is! Yum, yum, yum! Thanks so much, Hokies, this is for sure a real keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      We loved this recipe. I did make a few changes though. I exchanged half of the flour for whole wheat flour and cut back the sugar. I used 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup of Splenda. I also substituted oil and yogurt for the shortening. My family loved them... Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      We couldn't even wait for this to cool properly before cutting the first slice ~ it smelled heavenly while baking (took a full 45 minutes @350C in an Emile Henry loaf pan) and tastes delicious. Light in texture, I thought the flavours were nicely balanced, and it was not too sweet. I give it full marks in spite of it being rather "calorific"!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      Yum, yum, yum. This is really good, very peanut-buttery. It rises up nice and tall in the oven. The banana flavor gets a little bit lost, I think, though. Maybe next time I make this (and there will be a next time) I will leave some bigger chunks of banana, or maybe reduce the peanut butter to 2/3 cup. I did make two substitutions -- 1/4 cup canola oil instead of the shortening and 1/2 cup honey instead of the white sugar. I hope my changes didn't affect the outcome too much, and overall we still really, really liked it. I think I will toast pieces of it for breakfast to have with my coffee tomorrow. Thanks, HokiesLady!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      This was so tasty.... It reminded me of the peanut butter and banana sandwiches my grandmother used to fix when I was a child..... It was so moist and my whole family loved it.... Thanks so much for sharing..... Picture will be added soon.... Having computer problems..... Edited 6-8-08 Computer problems solved.... Hope you like picture....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      We really enjoyed this banana bread. I thought the flavor of the peanut butter and the bananas were balanced just right. Although it is great as is, or lightly toasted, my favorite way to eat it was to toast it under the broiler and then spread it with a little cream cheese. We also thought the flavor got even better after a couple of days. We will definitely be having this as often as I have bananas to make it with. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      Very good, but I used extra crunchy peanut butter and it was heavy on the crunchy! Still a great flavor and moist. I had to cook mine 52 minutes to get the middle cooked through. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      Great way to dress up a banana bread, & the 2 of us DO enjoy peanut butter! Used the extra crunch stuff & were very satisfied with the results! Served up the first half of it with some strawberry cream cheese! Delicious! Many thanks for posting the recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2011

      I'm not a banana bread fan, but my daughter is, and she gives this 5 stars! I admit it is the best tasting banana bread I've tasted. It was dense and moist, just as snack breads should be, IMHO. I'll be making up several mini-loaves for DD and her fiance and their roommies. Thanks! Made for ZWT 7 - Shady Ladies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      I made the recipe as stated but I used creamy peanut butter. I cooked it 15 more minutes. And then I left it in the pan for about 10 minutes. It's so moist and I love the taste with peanut butter and banana. Thanks Melissa :) Made for the Count Dracula and His Hot Bites for ZWT7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      This was excellent. and easy to put together thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      This is the best recipe i have ever tried. The bread is so moist and flavorful ... The whole loaf was gone in a hour after i made it..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Delicious!! The combination of banana and peanut butter work very well in this bread. The texture was light and not heavy like many banana breads. The only thing I did differently was to add 1/2 tsp. of banana extract (I do this anytime I make banana bread) to boost the banana flavor. Also, I baked this in my 4 loaf mini loaf pan for 40 minutes and they turned out perfect. My family loved this bread and gave it 2-thumbs up. Thank you for sharing this fantastic recipe...it is definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      this baked out wonderful with a intense banana flavor, I increased the PB to 1 cup and also the sugar slightly, thanks for sharing Mel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Very good! DH called it an Elvis Loaf. It tastes like a big super soft cookie muffin bread thingy. I had my bananas waiting in the freezer just for something like this. I took note of previous reviewers and set my timer for 35 minutes. The toothpick came out clean at that time. This was perfect with a drizzle of honey. I think I'll make some honey butter to spread on it next time. Very good stuff. Made and Reviewed for 123 Hit Wonders - Thank you, Thank you very much! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      WOW, it tastes like a peanut butter cookie with an underscore of banana! I used a heart healthy (no sat or trans fats) margarine, natural peanut butter (nothing but smashed peanuts), Splenda for the sugar and 1/2 a cup of egg whites. In my oven at 350 F it took 35 mins to bake. I will certainly be making this again, it's simply grand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      DH loved this loaf, peanut butter and banana sure do go well together. This will be one i make again, but I did have one problem. I checked it after 40 minutes and it was done, I am so glad I checked because it was already getting some burning on top. i did use 350f degrees, so I can't imagine that it would ever take one hour to bake. i don't think my oven is "hot" , have never had a problem with anything else. In any case it is a lovely loaf, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Peanut Butter & Banana Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (90 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 293.2
     
    Calories from Fat 133
    45%
    Total Fat 14.8 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 274.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 16.1 g
    64%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites