23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved these! But I should say I made a few critical changes, based on other reviewers comments. First, I was worried they'd be a little dry (I always use wholewheat flour). So I added a little more banana (about 3.5) and an extra tbsp of crunchy peanut butter (crunchy lends a great texture to the finished product). I also had to bake it for an additional 10 minutes until it was lightly browned. Most importantly, I thought they might be a bit flat as I noticed there were two raising agents, but no acid component to react with them. So I added 1tsp of vinegar to the milk. The final result was TO DIE FOR!! I thought maybe peanuts and bananas might be a strange combination, but after the second piece, I couldn't stop eating this! I also loved that the oil component was replaced by peanuts (nutritionally better as I use a no additives version), and there was hardly ANY sugar. I confess that I also sprinkled in a little stevia (about 1/2 tsp). My version turned out to be more like a cake than bars, however it was perfectly moist and it tasted really good!! What a great combination - thanks Goochie137 :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggiequeen February 12, 2007

Nice flavour and certainly easy to prepare. The peanut butter flavour is very subtle so I think next time I will try using a "Crunchy" peanut butter or maybe add a little bit more. The texture is a cross between a snack cake and a banana bread. I tried it with a bit of butter on it and it was yummy. I used regular granulated sugar rather than a sugar substitute and baked it for about 27 minutes. Thx for sharing this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word October 22, 2009

Heavenly! I made these this afternoon intending to freeze them and eat one a day, but they were so good that I ate all of them. I used 1/2 cup of Splenda instead of 2 tablespoons.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blake F January 23, 2007

My son asked for these, and he loved them!! They will definitely be our go-to recipe when we have ripe bananas. I followed the advice of multiple folks and added a couple of touches on my own: I used 1/2 cup of organic peanut butter, and I used 1/3 cup of sugar/Splenda mix. I also added 1 tsp of vinegar to the milk, and I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp of almond extract. It took about 15 extra minutes to bake them, but they came out great. They're across between a cake and a bar texture. Flavors are subtle -- just enough peanut butter and banana flavor, without being too sweet. Thanks for posting the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkNMomma November 17, 2013

These were awesome!! Made as posted and added some flax seeds. They came out moist and delicious with a "donut" type texture and without an over powering banana or peanut butter flavor. Friends and DH loved them...son wouldn't even try them (maybe by putting some chocolate chips in...will keep ya posted). Thank you for sharing! Will be making these again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heartspell September 29, 2013

These were good. My hubby didn't care for them, but that really isn't saying much...he doesn't like anything with artificial sweeteners. I am pleased with them....they didn't end up in the trash...they were edible and worth saving. I seem to graze, so I cut them up into sixteen squares/bars and they were a perfect for a "grab something when U aren't hungry, but want something" snack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pccreative October 01, 2011

My bf & I love PB & banana sandwiches and so I was very excited to try this recipe. I liked it a lot. It was very, very easy to make & baked up perfectly. I baked it for exactly 20 mins & it was perfectly done. The texture was cake like. I am only giving it 4 stars because the flavor was very subtle. I did double the amount of peanut butter and used crunchy natural peanut butter and still thought that it could use more peanut butter. I think with the addition of peanut butter, I should've added some more banana as well. I did like that it was a little sweet and it didn't have that artificial sugar substitute taste that so many diabetic friendly recipes have. Overall it was very good and I will definately make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~NutritionGirly~ November 24, 2010

I didn't make the low-fat version of this. I used whole milk, regular sugar, and crunchy peanut butter. Even so I found it to be kind of bland, without much of a peanut butter taste at all. That said, it's pretty easy to make, and for me was a nice alternative for breakfast in the morning as well as a snack at work, and still felt pretty healthy. The texture is nice too. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riventiana August 27, 2010

I used all the suggestions from Veggiequeen. So yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinGin :-) June 10, 2010

This wasn't so great for us. It was more like a bland banana bread than a bar. We couldn't taste any peanut butter. It could be better with some spice, maybe some walnuts. But it would still be just a banana bread. I also don't think this is super healthy since it has a whole cup of white flour, but maybe whole wheat flour could be used instead. Overall, just not a winner for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jujubegirl October 16, 2009
Peanut Butter Banana Bars (Healthy)