7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are the best ever. I've used the exact recipe for years and they alway get gobbled up when I Take them to parties.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookalot December 10, 2011

I thought these were kind of average, kids loved them though more of a taste for children. I liked the crunch that the Rice Krispies gave them. Made for the AUS/NZ recipe swap #36.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djmastermum April 20, 2010

These were a big hit here. I split the batch, using 1/2 dunked in white chocolate and 1/2 in semi-sweet. We liked the white choclate ones better. Next time I'll try milk chocolate. DH could not stop eating these. Thank you for posting this fun recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview September 06, 2009

*Reviewed for Aussie Forum Recipe Swap July 09* My eldest daughter has happily taken these to a friends place. A whole group of friends are getting ready for the school dance and munching on your Peanut Butter Balls. Anyways...they've rung me and said they are wonderful. All six of them give you a BIG 5 STARS. I'm betting there wont be any come home either. I made half the recipe and got 44 balls. Using gluten-free ingredients these make a wonderful gluten-free celebration treat. I think that next time I make them I will place them on a wire cooling rack (over some paper) for the excess chocolate to drain off. Super easy to make> I melted the chocolate in the microwave. THese also would be a good recipe for kids to make as they are no bake and no cutting required. Photo also being posted. Thanks happynana- I'm sure that we will be using this recipe again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** July 03, 2009

Another sweets addition to my holiday gift bags. The whole family are enjoying them just as much as I did. I did add parafin wax (1/2 bar) to the chocolate to make it smooth and easy to apply to the balls. So yummie to my tummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Its Me Busy Bee December 26, 2008

These were great candies! I used a crunchy natural peanut butter, and 3/4 of the amount of sugar (and they were still very sweet). When you mix it up, it will be crumbly, but does stick together well if you squeeze it in the palm of your hand. I tried making some with the glaze blancpage mentions, and others dipped in melted bittersweet chips. The chocolate so blows away the glaze. The ones I made with the glaze also did not stay crispy the next day, I guess the moisture surrounding them soaked in. Do give yourself some time for coating these, the balls are delicate (maybe even do small batches, so the ones in the frig stay more firm). Plan on about a tablespoon of chocolate chips per (golf ball size) candy, if you want them well coated. For a whole recipe I would have gotten 5-6 dozen, so double that number if you make them melon ball size. These are very yummy treats and do taste a lot like Reese's peanut butter cups. And yes, they are addicting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito June 15, 2008

Ohh these were sooo good. I halved the recipe and got 48, most of them were about the size of a melon ball, as recipe directs, but some of them were a bit bigger than that. I might have gotten 55 or 60 I used Jif Creamy. Instead of butter I used Smart Balance with Flaxseed Oil spread with excellent results. For the chocolate, I used Chocolate Glaze (That Hardens when Cool), also with great results. Sorry no pics, mine turned out really messy, but they taste heavenly. Reminded me a little of a Reeses peanut butter cup, but actually a bit healthier, and I was able to make this fairly safe for my iBS (no dairy or milk involved), but if I can keep myself limited, even the fat won't be too bad. (Haha, these are so addictive I have a hard time not overeating!) I refrigerated these for half an hour after rolling, then rolled/drizzled in the chocolate. In this heat, leaving them on the counter would prob not work, but they kept their crispiness, at least overnight. I think they actually taste better cold. Made for My-3-Chefs June 2008, for my theme "All By Myself". Thank you for sharing happynana; I enjoyed these a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blancpage June 10, 2008
Peanut Butter Balls